We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Break”
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grove Hotel
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes
1 review
“A Perfect Break”
Reviewed 8 June 2011

For those like myself stuck in cultural desert like Milton Keynes, the chance of visiting the wonderful and historic town of Falmouth is a very welcome break. To be able to enjoy the unspoilt landscape, numerous independent shops, harbour and many other attractions provided a welcome antidote to "modern" Britain.

But what made the break was to be able to stay in such a wonderful small hotel like The Grove. Well appointed, tastefully furnished and with attention to detail, the hotel provides everything the visitot needs. The bedroom and ensuite was very clean, spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was first rate served by delightful waitresses whose efficiency and pleasant manner compplemented the excellent and generous fayre.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone contemplating a visit to Falmouthy, who requires a modest hotel, decently priced and that is extremely well run. I shall certainly visit it again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevoMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    92
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
71
113
26
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Perfect if you're looking for a small charming hotel in central Falmouth.
We had a great room, breakfast was excellent, the staff is really nice and service minded.
I read the reviewes here on Tripadvisor before i visited in june 2011 and it still was better than I expected.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjfarnstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Cared for as if we were the only guests...yet the hotel was almost full ! Wonderful service, attention to detail in rooms...with toiletry and beverage provisions of a standard usually found in higher starred establishments....Rooms have basic decor but a good standard of cleanliness and the bed is the most comfortable we 've ever slept in !

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magslong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a nice bank hoilday break with my partner & her 4yr old boy, we had a very warm welcome which was nice as some places can be off when you have kids, the room was fantastic, very clean & stylish, we had breakfast each morning & the staff were just fantastic too, constantly topping up our coffee & teas. the food was great & they had many choices on what to have,
On a rainy day we decided to have a game of cards in the bar area (which is lovely) with a family member that we had visited for the day, We thought it was very nice of geoff to show our 4yr old around & explained why he was doing the jobs he was doing for the best part of two hours, We had a very nice relaxing time without having to entertain a child.
i would recomend this hotel to anyone, very clean,staff where great & had a lovly feel to it.

Many thanks to all

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 15 (3 bed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckyr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We have stayed five times in the last year. Staff are friendly, rooms are clean, well furnished and comfortable. Breakfasts with freshly cooked local food is always a delight. Attention to detail is everywhere from decor and furnishings to food and housekeeping. This hotel is a gem. We recommend without reservations.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipblowfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wethersfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed at the Grove for a week with our two children (12 & 7 years). We couldn't have hoped for more. The hotel is in a superb postion and very convenient for the town, wonderful beaches, discovering country Cornwall, the maritime museum, and Rick Stein's and other fine eateries. The hotel is clean and well run with a lovely dining room at the front for a great breakfast . The rooms are great, spacious and comfortable and the owners have been really clever in creating great family rooms with cabin beds for the kids (ours thought this was exciting and special and had a great time).
The hotel and the staff have character and will go that extra mile to make the stay special.
We have already booked to go back again and couldn't recommend the Grove more highly.

Room Tip: Book early, these gems don't stay undiscovered
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleTricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

my second stay at the grove hotel and as before it was very relaxing with a nice room ,comfortable bed,ultra clean bathroom/ shower area and excellant view and a hugh breakfast served by a lovely young lady with a smile that could start anyones day off well

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asaldana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Property: The Grove Hotel
Address: Grove Place, Falmouth TR11 4AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Falmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove Hotel has been renovated to a high standard preserving its historical Georgian charm. Facing the National Maritime Museum and the River Fal estuary with its busy harbour the en-suite rooms have far reaching views. The hotel is perfectly located for exploring Falmouth being only one minute's level walk into town with its varied choice of restaurants, harbour side pubs, shops, ferries, diving centres and sailing clubs. Please note we have no car park. There is street parking and several public car parks in the immediate vicinity FIBRE OPTIC BROADBAND HAS RECENTLY BEEN INSTALLED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Hotel Falmouth
The Grove Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing