We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, excellent staff, really relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grove Hotel
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Wethersfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent staff, really relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We have stayed at the Grove before and had a brilliant time. you can understand why people recommend it so highly. On top of a great location, it's the little things that count! Fantastic breakfast, very comfortable beds and the friendly welcome and attention of the staff really cap it off. For example; whilst we were there, a group of guests had been let down by a local taxi firm to get to a really important engagement. So rather than leaving them to it, the owner got out his own car and ferried them to the venue in two trips across Falmouth. Where else would you find service like that?
My advice is don't look elsewhere, just book the Grove, we definitely will again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleTricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    90
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
67
114
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Came down to Falmouth with the family for the Castle to Castle swim. Couldn't have asked for a better room, location or breakfast. The rooms are really nicely decorated, and very clean. The staff were so helpful. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLCUK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

As I live in Falmouth as a student, my parents often come to visit and we all stay in a different hotel each time. I can hand on heart say that this was by far the best hotel visit we've had in Falmouth. The location is excellent (only a 10 minute walk from the beach and 5 from the town), the staff are absolutely lovely (especially the girls who served us at breakfast), the breakfast was gorgeous, the rooms were really stunning and full of character, the parking is right opposite so very convenient, the decor of the hotel is really charming, I literally can't think of a single negative thing to say about our stay. We will definitely be staying here again, without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank climbyclimbyfunfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

The manager and staff could not have been more accommodating. As soon as we arrived we got a free upgrade so that we were in adjoining rooms. The building itself is two very elegant adjoining Georgian townhouses. The rooms were extremely spacious, wondefully 'period', and well appointed. Decor was tasteful, and the beds very comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding. Either a very ample full English, or excellent choice of kippers or haddock, with other options too. The waitresses were extremely attentive and veryu efficient. The price was very competitive, the manger doinghis best to give us a very good deal. The Grove will be our first port of call on our next trip to Falmouth.

Room Tip: We were lucky to get a very competive deal in the four poster room which looks out on to the main ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Couldn't let the lady's version go unchallenged. My wife and I were the unlucky guests in a room next door on the night in question. Three very young children were left alone in there from about 10.00pm. If nothing else the air was being coloured with their shouting, screaming and then banging on the plumbing and swinging on the shower doors. Finally, at about 11.30, one of them started a high decibel continuous shout for its mother, in the bar on the floor below.

The room finally went quiet around 1.00am. We have stayed at The Grove many times, it is a family friendly gem. We have always found all staff welcoming, considerate and friendly. The hotel is run to consistently high standards. We have children but the racket these unsupervised kids created was world beating. To blame the hotel and claim the staff unfriendly is simply wrong and most unfair.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philipblowfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

This hotel looked amazing we booked online in advance for 3 nights.
The location is beautiful and the hotel itself nice, we had the unfortunate run in with a miserable and rude staff male staff member who was at the front desk. We returned to the hotel at 10pm on our first night after a lovely dinner and reunion with our family members who reside in Falmouth. We invited them back to the pub to have a drink and let the kids play in the lounge area. Upon our entry there was no one at the front desk or the lounge we were treated as an inconvenience. After begrudgingly being served a drink the same staff member stated he had received a complaint about the children and couldn't afford to loose any business. We were informed that this was a family friendly environment which it is not. We only had our daughter with us and her 2 cousins where only there to visit and they played quietly with the trains and colouring books. After being spoken to rudely and disrespectfully I had requested a refund and said that we did not want to disrupt other guests and would gladly check into a family friendly accommodation to which I was told there would be no such refund. We ended up paying for the stay and leaving to stay with family instead and returned on the 3rd night of our stay to pack up belongings. During check out the same grumpy man did offer an attempt at an apology and informed us he normally does not work weekends. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone with a family unless you are comfortable walking around on eggshells or being in bed by 10pm.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenniferlynnford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goeffoffski, Owner at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Firstly thank you for saying we have a nice hotel in a beautiful location.

We regret that your stay was spoilt by our reaction to the behaviour of your child and the
children you brought into the hotel.

We responded to the needs and remarks of our other guests and felt we behaved
responsibly in asking the unsupervised children to be moved from your room into the
bar area where you were drinking with friends.

We pride ourselves on our eclectic mix of guests and children are welcomed as an essential
and valued part of the makeup of The Grove Hotel.

If you ever return to the UK we would happily offer you a discount to reflect your
disappointment with your last visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We were given a lovely large room, beautiful décor with a four poster bed which was very comfortable. This is on the ground floor so there are fewer steps, but the rooms above have the better views looking across the estuary.
A lot of choice for breakfast and plenty of it - best to be hungry if you opt for the full English! We also made use of the lounge in the evening as we were two couples so it was ideal to meet in there, have a drink and chat, before venturing out.
The young ladies on duty in the morning were cheerful, friendly and helpful, as was the owner and his son. Lovely people, we thank you for making the weekend so pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smbsmb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 25 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Property: The Grove Hotel
Address: Grove Place, Falmouth TR11 4AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#1 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove Hotel has been renovated to a high standard preserving its historical Georgian charm. Facing the National Maritime Museum and the River Fal estuary with its busy harbour the en-suite rooms have far reaching views. The hotel is perfectly located for exploring Falmouth being only one minute's level walk into town with its varied choice of restaurants, harbour side pubs, shops, ferries, diving centres and sailing clubs. Please note we have no car park. There is street parking and several public car parks in the immediate vicinity FIBRE OPTIC BROADBAND HAS RECENTLY BEEN INSTALLED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Book Direct Rooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Hotel Falmouth
The Grove Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing