We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast, very comfortable bed”
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grove Hotel
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We were in a room overlooking the harbour, we had no problem with noise (though did visit end of September so may have been quieter) and the room was lovely. Fantastic bed and the bathroom was well appointed.
Our friends live in Falmouth so we didn't spend a huge amount of time there, the breakfast was great to have (though only made it two mornings due to a couple of late nights!). Nothing too much trouble for the owners and the two girls who served the breakfast were lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckyS12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

Everything great. Perfect place to stay. Lovely breakfast and let us stay past the checking out time stated. Young friendly staff, great location. Pretty building. Sea view was much better than expected. Bed linen lovely and beds great.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dulvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The owners have done wonders with this hotel. Have stayed here twice now and both rooms have been on the front with a view over the harbour. The last time we were on the ground floor which I thought would be noisy but the curtains were so heavy all noise was drowned out and nearly overslept for breakfast! Well appointed rooms with comfy bed, loads of local information in the rooms and excellent bathrooms. Owners and staff very friendly and welcoming and good breakfast with plenty of choices. The hotel is in a wonderful position with easy access to all attractions, shops, pubs, bars and restaurants. Well worth a visit. We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed here for few nights and the owners and very friendly. I was in a bigger room without view and change to a slightly smaller room with a seaview as I have booked with separated bookings..

Good internet connection, nice breakfast served every morning. Room is a little small due to the huge bed frame. I would come back and stay here again.

Great location as it is near to the shopping area and train station.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crabscoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This was an emergency one-night stay for me, when my transport failed to materialise. Great location, warm welcome, very helpful and friendly owner, spotlessly clean comfortable room, very comfortable bed (great night's sleep) loads of local info, first class breakfast, lovely staff - nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My first visit to Cornwall was unfortunately in early spring, but still gave me a great experience.

Location:
The hotel is located not far from the main harbour street running through Falmouth. A 5 to 10 min walk will get you to the mainareas of town and the local pubs and restaurants. The hotel offers dedicated parking areas, and should these be full there is great parking options in the immediate vicinity to the hotel.

The hotel:
At first arrival the impression of the hotel itself is that of a great bed and breakfast, but getting inside and feeling the great service and the cosy rooms really changed that impression.
The entire first floor of the hotel is dedictaed to the lobby, common room and the breakfast hall. Sitting here in the daytime and evenings together with other guests was really a warm welcoming experience. The staff always welcoming and interesting to have a chat with.

The Rooms:
Due to a sudden extending of my stay I was able to experience different rooms.
I find all rooms very cosy and welcoming. Beds were good and gave me good sleep every night.
The one thing I find that pulls down my rating was the windows and how the rattling and old type affected the temperature in the room. I felt a constand cold draft from the windows in all the rooms I stayed in, and the rattling was becoming irritating when the wind gained strength.
Overall however, I had a great impression of the rooms. Main thing that I feel outweigh the window issue was the fact that this is one of the frist hotels I have stayed at offers real thick bedding, not some thin blankets. As a Norwegian, that just feels welcoming.

Overall impression:
I had a great stay at this hotel and the staff has a great service attitude that really made the stay pleasant and overall felt welcoming. I would gladly come back, but preferably at a warmer time of year.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the harbour have a view. Ground floor room is very large and feels more like a good ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odd Jarle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Fantastic hotel in a wonderful location, with lots of nice bars and restaurants nearby.
The good sized rooms and helpful staff even made up for the fact I got horrendously lost on the way to Falmouth and in trying to find somewhere to park.
Breakfast was great, rooms were comfy and well sized. Lots of guide books to use for reference.
Staff very helpful, highly recommend.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,212 reviews
1.1 mi away
Penmere Manor Hotel
Penmere Manor Hotel
#16 of 24 in Falmouth
313 reviews
2.1 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#14 of 24 in Falmouth
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
0.3 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#10 of 24 in Falmouth
1,195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Address: Grove Place, Falmouth TR11 4AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Falmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: £82 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove Hotel has been renovated to a high standard preserving its historical Georgian charm. Facing the National Maritime Museum and the River Fal estuary with its busy harbour the en-suite rooms have far reaching views. The hotel is perfectly located for exploring Falmouth being only one minute's level walk into town with its varied choice of restaurants, harbour side pubs, shops, ferries, diving centres and sailing clubs. Please note we have no car park. There is street parking and several public car parks in the immediate vicinity FIBRE OPTIC BROADBAND HAS RECENTLY BEEN INSTALLED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Hotel Falmouth
The Grove Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing