We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pendra Loweth

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pendra Loweth
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Love little cottages set in a tranquil environment set back from the main hubbub of Falmouth. Every cottage we have stayed in has been maintained to the same high standard. It's nice to have. The option of all the facilities at Pendra Lowethsuch as the tennis courts, gym, sauna area and children's play area rather than going into town. The kids love it, the adults love it. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    23
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
50
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We have been regular visitors to Pendra Loweth for many years and once again its setting, cottages, facilities and peaceful ambience were second to none.

But....it appears that there has been a change of management at the clubhouse bar & restaurant including managing the cottages? This is a backward step - the food is now atrocious (unlike the great cooking of last year), the cleanliness of the dining tables is poor (sticky tables!) and the manager in charge seemed intent on avoiding responsibility for anything & everything asked of him.

We still recommend Pendra Loweth but advise eating in or travelling further afield.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank cwalltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl_Shaddick, Online Co-ordinator at Pendra Loweth, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear cwalltraveller,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at Pendra Loweth. Cornish Cottage Holidays, a local letting agent with over 40 years’ experience in letting holiday cottages now manage the bookings of around 50 privately owned properties at Pendra Loweth. In order to offer a full service to our owners and guests, we also provide a housekeeping service. In previous years, you may well have booked directly with John and his team at Pendra Loweth Management – for various reasons, Pendra Loweth Management, whilst still managing the infrastructure, landscaping and maintenance of the village, no longer directly administer bookings for the owners of cottages at Pendra Loweth. We also, as you mention, now have taken over the lease on the Village Arms and we opened from Easter 2012.

I am very disappointed that your experience of the Village Arms was negative. Our intention is to have a clean, family friendly venue, with great food, good drink - a social hub for Pendra Loweth for both guests staying at one of the 50 Cornish Cottage Holidays’ managed houses alongside guests and owners of all the properties at the Village of Gardens, Pendra Loweth. We are working hard to achieve this.

If you book a holiday cottage at Pendra Loweth with Cornish Cottage Holidays, as with all the properties that we look after, if you have any questions or issues with your property, please let us know whilst you are down on holiday so that we can put things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aston, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Having just come back from the Village of Gardens in the Maen Valley at Falmouth, also known as Pendra Loweth, I thought I would just pen some lines whilst we downloaded the pictures we have taken all week around Cornwall.
Having been mainly a hotel or guest house type of holidaymaker, this was the first time we had done anything self catering and we were also going to use it as a bit of a touring base whilst we visited the area and family living in Falmout.
On arrival, we followed the route down Roscarrack Rd and entrered the site that way, when the slightly easier way, other than the steep concrete ramp is if you drive just past Roscarrack Rd and enter the site a little further down the main road.
The Reception is just at the bottom of the ramp on the right along with the Village arms, restaurant area, gym and spa pool.
When we got there we were a little early and we were allowed to go down to 105, Herons Reach and drop off our suitcases and baggage as the property was being cleaned and got ready.
We then went for a run around to the local beach and when we came back the property was ready and we were handed our key and welcome envelope
Once down at the property, what a nice surprise to see there was a welcome pack on the kitchen side with teabags, coffee, milk, biscuits and some other useful items.
The property at 105, Herons Reach is right by the stream that runs through the centre of the development and also has a decking verandah to the rear overlooking the stream.
It is a very well presented and furnished 3 bedroomed property with the main bedroom being en-suite and also a toilet and wash basin downstairs.
On the decking was a brand new BBQ complete with gas bottle and all ready to go, but we just didnt get chance to use it.
The venue is ideal to use as a base for touring the local area be it on foot, on pushbike or by car.

In a week using the car, we were able to travel all the way down to The Minack open air theatre and Porthcurno Beach, round to Sennen Beach, to St Ives, Mullion Cove,the Segaway riding centre by the Goonhilly Downs satellite dishes, travel across onto The Roseland via the King Henry Ferry and also visit Truro.

So if you dont mind a drive, you can cover some area from the premises as a base.

The venue has meal deal offers on at the Village Arms and the childrens play area is directly outside across from the reception in a safe enclosed area.

There is an all weather football court with a basketball net within in the complex, ask for directions at the reception and the tennis courts are down at the bottom of the complex by the bottom car park.

Tennis rackets and tennis balls are available if you ask at reception.

All in all whilst we have been here this week, the place according to staff has been full and whilst the cars parked in all their allocated bays indicated that it was busy, there was very little noise and it was so quite and peaceful, great to relax and just chill out if you dont want to be driving too much and just want to travel short distances locally.

Falmouth is only a short drive via Swanpool beach and Maenporth Beach is only a short drive or walk down the road from the venue.

The property came with towels, a large range of kitchen utensils, dishwasher, flat screen tv with freeview, cd radio, dvd player, internet wireless hub and a very warm premises.

Would definetly consider Pendra Loweth if we go to Cornwall again.

Thanks to all the staff for a great week

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tazman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl_Shaddick, On; at Pendra Loweth, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Fantastic, I am so glad that your holiday at Herons Reach was a good one. This is our first year of managing the lettings at the Village of Gardens, Pendra Loweth and it’s great to read such positive comments from guests. I shall pass on your kind words to the staff at Pendra Loweth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORNWALL UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

This was our 3rd visit to Falmouth we stayed at a privately run cottage Chynans No 1 the owners market the cottage themselves so you may want to google Chynans for youself Spotlessly clean and well fitted out bungalow very large sitting/dinning room + conservatory the double bed as a lovely memory foam mattress always a good night sleep after a long day two large flat screens and lots of Dvds.
The owners live in Falmouth and always greeted us on our arrival a real + Pendra loweth is a lovely holiday village very different from what you might expect.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pilmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Pendra is perfect for a family holiday or if you want to get away from it all out of season. It's in easy walking distance of two fabulous beaches, Maenporth and Swanpool. You can leave the car parked up for the week. Everything is in walking distance. The cottages are spacious and comfortable ( I've stayed in four different ones now) and the grounds are delightful ( winning the David Bellamy conservation award year after year ). Both Maenporth and Swanpool beaches have fabulous restaurants and beach cafes The best thing about Pendra is that it has everything you want without the tiresome commercialisation found on many holiday sites. It is quiet, peaceful and secluded without being isolated. The staff are friendly. Nothing is too much bother. Definitely there again this year....and the next.

Room Tip: You have a choice of cottages with gardens of ones with private deck overlooking the stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank psfcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We had such a lovely time and the 5 of us were extremely sad to leave !
Lovely cottage with everything we needed - Dishwasher, Washing Machine, Flatscreen TV with Freeview, DVD player and CD/Radio. Plenty of crockery, cutlery, cooking utensils and pots and pans.
The beds were comfy with nice M & S Linen and the cottage was warm (although sometimes a little too warm for us !!!!).
We took the children for a walk around the site every night to give them some time to burn off dinner and the stars, the owls hooting and the sound of the stream that runs through the village was just lovely. As it was October we didn't get to sit out on our patio but when we came in the summer (a few years ago now !) we were able to have breakfast out there which was great.
Gylly beach was definitely without a shadow of a doubt our favourite - absolutely beautiful scenery for a walk above the beach or some brilliant family fun on the beach paddling in our wellies and looking for shells. Falmouth is great - with some gorgeous pasty shops and also a few familiar high street shops (a small M & S, Superdrug, Pizza Express, WH Smiths) and there is a large ASDA, a smaller Sainsbury's and a couple of Tesco express'.

We cannot wait for our next trip back there !

Room Tip: Definitely look on the website at all the options and look at the map to see whether you will have o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsJenniferB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stayed in one of the privately owned cottages on site for 3 days early October. (Number 28) Arrived around 8pm and reception was closed. The confirmation letter we receieved said we could check in any time up until 10pm. We arrived to the site after an 8 hour drive to find that they had no knowledge of us! Was very distressing as all we wanted to do was sleep! After around 30 minutes of waiting the manager came down and handed the keys over, we asked for directions to the cottage (as there are over 100 on site) but the bar maid didnt know and didnt have a map...they ummed and arrrhed until one of the other guests said he was in a 20something cottage so logically I should be near to him, he took me outside and gave me directions thankfully as there is no street lighting so would be very hard to find without a clue! The cottage itself was fab! Clean with everything you would need, it was so quiet in the mornings all you heard were birds and horses clip clopping past! The site itself is literally a 5 minute drive from falouth centre. I would try and arrive in day light as I found falmouth quite difficult to drive in at night as a lot of the roads do not have lighting and my sat nav (a new tom tom) didnt recognise the postcode of the site.
Overall I would stay again but would always do shopping elsewhere or eat out as bar facilites and shop limited. I took swimming costume looking forward to the "pool" but my husband and I actually had quite a giggle at the size of the pool!! No more than a large bath!!!! Lots of wildlife around such as earwigs and other odd insects but for somewhere so quiet and beautiful its expected.

Room Tip: Number 28 lovely. Clean, near to main entrance to stop you getting lost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrsrose2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
1.3 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 25 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
2.8 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#13 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Penmere Manor Hotel
Penmere Manor Hotel
#16 of 25 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pendra Loweth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendra Loweth

Property: Pendra Loweth
Address: Maen Valley, Falmouth TR11 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Falmouth
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Pendra Loweth Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing