We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of The Red House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Red House
Ranked #16 of 82 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Well... what a lovely house!!!
Karen and Nick were brilliant on the phones at any time of day, and even though we didn't get face to face contact with Karen, we had the pleasure of seeing Nick in the mornings for breakfast.
The breakfast was fantastic, and they catered well for my other half - taking the mushrooms and tomatoes off and replacing with a sausage one morning, but being unable to do anything about it the next day... that seemed a little odd!
The communal areas we didn't use, but were nicely furnished and spacious.
Small chocolates on the bed for us, and hot chocolate, tea and biscuits in the room! Lovely touch!!! (Kettle 'on' button was broken but still usable!)
They also provide robes, which we didn't use, and offer a later (slightly more restricted) breakfast with details in the room. We were also using the free wi-fi, although we only managed to connect to it the second day - it couldn't find us the first night!

Overall, comfortable stay! Would stay again for sure.
Not too pricey considering the wedding party mainly stayed in the St Michaels Hotel & Spa which totalled over £300 for 2 nights!

The only thing we found to be a bit off-putting was the shouting about our order that we heard in the kitchen (after we had requested for the replacement mentioned above for the breakfast) and this made us feel very uncomfortable for causing an argument, there was also no explanation from the server until she placed the breakfasts down in front of us, with the mushrooms on. It may have been nice to offer an extra egg if they couldn't offer extra meat... and some parts of the room may need a paint touch up.
These are the only reasons for 4/5.

Thank you for the pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We had a corner room (number 7 I think) which was upstairs. We could hear next door for a small amou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

I had the pleasure of a nights stay at The Red House whilst visiting friends, and can honestly say that it was a fantastic experience. Spotlessly clean and welcoming. The breakfast was superb, meaty cornish sausages and thick slices of locally sourced bacon, an absolute treat. Followed by toast with one of Karens myriad of homemade jams and marmalades (can recommend the lemon and tequila!) We travelled with our dog, as they are welcomed at the Red House, to the extent that there are doggy towels provided in the entrance porch. Nick and Karen could not do enough for their guests, and I only wished that we could have stayed longer, however, we will be back!

Room Tip: The rooms with a view of the harbour are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

What a great place! Everything you need is here, the welcome is warm, the rooms great, the whole place is spotlessly clean, the breakfasts tasty. We were in Falmouth for a family wedding and found this place having done some searching and review reading. The wedding reception was at the Pavillions which was just across the road, so it really couldn't have been better. Wished we could have stayed longer......We will return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fleur98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

My choir was singing in Truro and the Minack over the bank holiday weekend, so my partner and I needed somewhere to stay. After a bit of research on here, I decided that so many good reviews don't lie and The Red House B&B was the place for us. From the moment of booking until we checked out this morning, Nick and Karen were perfect. Answering emails about breakfast times (8-9am) and room sizes, all the way to recommending places to go and Nick being our personal weather forecaster (he knows what he's talking about; listen!!).

I had a call from Karen about a week before arriving saying that some building works had overrun, so would we mind staying in a double room for the first night, before being moved to the booked super king-size room for our remaining 4 nights. Wasn't a problem at all (obviously!), it's nice to be given some warning!

When we arrived, Karen gave us such a warm welcome before showing us round and going to our first bedroom. It was beautifully clean, coordinated and just a lovely room with ample space. She showed us everything we needed and left us to settle in. The next morning, at breakfast, we met Nick who took our orders and ensured that everything was as it should be. The cooked breakfasts were divine and beautifully cooked to order. If you didn't want a cooked breakfast, there was a good selection of cereal, fruit and yoghurts.

The B&B is only a 5 minute walk out of the town centre and about the same to the beaches on the other side; perfect location!

That night we arrived back and were shown to our new room, where our luggage had already been moved to. WHAT a room! Stunning decor, a fantastic size, so clean and crisp - I wish my bedroom at home was as nice! Both rooms had incredibly comfortable beds, nice showers and a great addition of the super king was the heated towel radiator in the bathroom, to make sure you're nice and cosy after your shower. It also had a vanity desk perfect for any girl needing to get ready (be sure to use the plug socket behind the mirror for a hairdryer - I didn't spot it straight away). Everything was perfect; I even loved the touch on/off lamps!

Over breakfast, Nick would catch up with us and check our plans for the day. If he tells you it will be cloudy and to go to St Ives (for example) for the sun, then listen to him! We'd had enough of driving for the weekend and remained in cloudy Falmouth....but it was gloriously sunny and warm in St Ives!

Thank you Nick and Karen, the warmest and most welcoming hosts ever; as other reviewers have said, you made us feel like friends more than guests. You made our stay really special and we sincerely hope to be back next time we find ourselves Cornwall-bound.

Room Tip: Room 5 (the super king-size) is stunning!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KirstyHeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Here's a lump of gold. We were at The Red House for 7 days and were sorry to have to leave.

Hosts Nick and Karen are simply the best. Nothing is too much trouble and the breakfasts with Karen's whisky marmalade on your toast after a real quality English has to be experiencd.

The welcome is the warmest. The decor is highly tasteful and the rooms equally comfortable.

It has to be high on our "Return" list, and we have made friends as well,

Doreen and Colin, Leicestershire

Room Tip: Write to Nick and karen before you go and they'll do their utmost to accomodate your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sparkenhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Our family stayed at The Red House for one night and wished we could have stayed longer. Very rarely do you ever come across a B&B where you walk in and immediately feel completely at home and at ease with the hosts but you do here! Karen, Nick and Nicole made us feel so welcome - we felt like friends rather than guests! The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable and the breakfast in the morning scrumptious - loads of choice and very relaxed. We will definitely recommend The Red House to other friends and return ourselves.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HAD69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

my family and i have just had five days in FALMOUTH staying with KAREN & NICK AT THE RED HOUSE. i think its just as important to find somewhere to stay where the food is excellent your rooms are clean and large enough the feel very comfortable the beds equally comfortable and most of all you feel welcome. THE RED HOUSE MEETS ALL OF THIS. NOW JUST ENJOY YOUR STAY.

Room Tip: all rooms are good clean etc some look to the bay some look towards pendennis castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kingowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,212 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#10 of 24 in Falmouth
1,193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chelsea House
Chelsea House
#2 of 82 in Falmouth
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Braemar Guest House
Braemar Guest House
#14 of 82 in Falmouth
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
#11 of 24 in Falmouth
1,375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camelot Guest House
Camelot Guest House
#5 of 82 in Falmouth
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red House

Address: 24 Melvill Road, Falmouth TR11 4AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range: £59 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us for a restful and relaxing break at our family run guest house here in the heart of Falmouth. The Red House is an elegant and distinctive Victorian house which overlooks the picturesque harbour and the River Fal. This beautiful William Morris designed Victorian house was originally built for and owned by Lord Kimberley around 1870. This family home has been lovingly transformed into a bed and breakfast and is ideally positioned to capture the full beauty of Falmouth and the surrounds. Situated about 150 meters from the sea front (Gyllyngvase and Castle beaches) and about 7 minutes walk into the town and harbour. Near to Princess Pavilion with its beautiful gardens with free entertainment in the summer, The Maritime Museum, Pendennis Castle and Falmouth Town train station is also nearby. This is family a run guesthouse offering a quality bed and breakfast to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, special diets can be catered for i.e... Wheat, gluten free, vegetarian, vegan or raw vegan (please advise in advance). There is onsite parking for 6 cars with free street parking also available all nearby. Free Wi - Fi is available in all rooms or use of a computer with printer in the breakfast room. There are three rooms on the ground floor for ease (not having to use the stairs) and a further 6 rooms on the first floor. A galleried landing on the first floor with stunning views across the bay to Flushing making an ideal photo opportunity or to sit and gaze at the boats going by, it is also a tranquil place to sit write post cards or just read. Pet friendly: We accept pets in certain rooms please telephone prior to booking to check a room is available. There is a charge of £5.00 per night; unfortunately we cannot accept pets in the breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Red House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red House Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing