We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant .”
Review of The Red House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Red House
Ranked #15 of 82 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

As much as you can ask for. Very friendly people and greeted with a warm welcome. Excellent room, very clean and up to a high mordern standard . Good breakfast consisting of a cook breakfast and the standard toast etc. The parking is a bit tight outside the building but there is a road outside you can park on. Not a single thing that can be faulted.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank HamishKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

once again we visited KAREN &NICK at the red house and yet again they were so nice and helpfull as always the rooms were kept spotless and the food was as good as ever the toast hot, and i love KARENS scrambled eggs again we had a lovely break thanks.

Room Tip: all rooms are good .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kingowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Just back from a lovely trip to Falmouth. This is our 3rd visit to the area, but 1st time staying at the The Red House B&B. I can honestly say it was a delight to stay there. Our room was immacculate, clean and the decor superb. Lovely touchs, of fluffy dressing gowns, iron/ironing board, wine glasses, and chocolates on the huge super kingsized bed... I slept like a log on all 5 nights we stayed. Breakfast was hot, and a nice choice; with specials on 2 of the days. The room was always warn and toastie.... less than 5 minutes walk to the harbour area, full of restuarants to eat at. The Red House owners have a set a high standard in their B&B, like a high class hotel....
I hope its not too long to visit again...

Room Tip: room 5. Large spacious room, with en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathryn47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Red House. What a great place to stay - Nick and Karen were wonderful hosts. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and freshly cooked. Karen's home-made jams and marmalades were a delight. The whole place was spotlessly clean and very welcoming. Definitely a place to return to.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liverbird2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I searched long and hard for a b&b in Falmouth and even in November there wasn't much available. University open days to blame apparently. However the Red House certainly proved a good choice, it's handy for town and beach and at this time of you can walk the dog on the beach which was a bonus. The hotel is dog friendly although ours stayed elsewhere with relatives.

The welcome was excellent and the breakfast first class, the accommodation very warm and comfortable. The only thing preventing me giving 5 stars for this review is the timing of the Sunday breakfast. 9.00am finish on Sundays is just too early! Make it 10.00am, please!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Coming to Cornwall for the first time, we chose Falmouth as our base for exploring sites and gardens around the Fal River. The ideal location of Falmouth for this purpose was mirrored by the ideal positioning of The Red House itself, sitting right between the beaches and the city centre, near the railway station (Falmouth Town) and with an airy and crisp atmosphere. Staff was welcoming and helpful, the rooms spacious and clean, and the breakfast left very little to want. We were delighted to try out Karen's homemade jams and preserves - many of them with a twist to the traditional taste. Another nice thing to discover is their scheme for alternating breakfast tables every day - you won't be stuck in old habits at The Red House!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Herolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The red house has a very good location close to beaches and town. Breakfast is good too with a wide selection available. Staff very friendly.
We stayed as a party of four in two rooms (4&5) room 5 was clean and comfortable. Our room however (dog friendly) although priced the same as room 5 PLUS £10/night for our dogs left a lot to be desired. With an all pervading smell of damp (Even our clothes smelt of it on returning home), tired decor, grubby carpet and an outdated bathroom in which the sink taps struggled to supply any water and the shower tray to empty making it necessary to stop mid shower to allow it to drain. Fresh towels are obtained by leaving used ones in the shower which we did on Thursday morning only to find on our return that they had been hung back on the towel rail !
Room servicing seemed to be of a lower standard than room 5 too.
A review has also been sent to the Redhouse websight but as they need to be approved by the owner I don't expect to see it on there as only good reviews seem to appear.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thornnamdlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,213 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#10 of 24 in Falmouth
1,195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chelsea House
Chelsea House
#2 of 82 in Falmouth
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Braemar Guest House
Braemar Guest House
#14 of 82 in Falmouth
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
#12 of 24 in Falmouth
1,375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camelot Guest House
Camelot Guest House
#6 of 82 in Falmouth
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red House

Address: 24 Melvill Road, Falmouth TR11 4AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range: £63 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join us for a restful and relaxing break at our family run guest house here in the heart of Falmouth. The Red House is an elegant and distinctive Victorian house which overlooks the picturesque harbour and the River Fal. This beautiful William Morris designed Victorian house was originally built for and owned by Lord Kimberley around 1870. This family home has been lovingly transformed into a bed and breakfast and is ideally positioned to capture the full beauty of Falmouth and the surrounds. Situated about 150 meters from the sea front (Gyllyngvase and Castle beaches) and about 7 minutes walk into the town and harbour. Near to Princess Pavilion with its beautiful gardens with free entertainment in the summer, The Maritime Museum, Pendennis Castle and Falmouth Town train station is also nearby. This is family a run guesthouse offering a quality bed and breakfast to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, special diets can be catered for i.e... Wheat, gluten free, vegetarian, vegan or raw vegan (please advise in advance). There is onsite parking for 6 cars with free street parking also available all nearby. Free Wi - Fi is available in all rooms or use of a computer with printer in the breakfast room. There are three rooms on the ground floor for ease (not having to use the stairs) and a further 6 rooms on the first floor. A galleried landing on the first floor with stunning views across the bay to Flushing making an ideal photo opportunity or to sit and gaze at the boats going by, it is also a tranquil place to sit write post cards or just read. Pet friendly: We accept pets in certain rooms please telephone prior to booking to check a room is available. There is a charge of £5.00 per night; unfortunately we cannot accept pets in the breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Red House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red House Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing