We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honey Buzzard Barn”
Review of Honey Buzzard Barn

Honey Buzzard Barn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Honey Buzzard Barn
Ranked #62 of 82 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had a fantastic time at Honey Buzzard Barn.
The barn was well presented and clean.
The local pub in Mabe, The New Inn, fed us well all week with great food and a friendly welcome.
Falmouth and the surrounding area is a lovely place to visit.
You can smoke in the property if you ask.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Celia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nestled off a quiet country lane once you arrive at HBB all you hear are seagulls and silence.A ten minute drive and you are in the picturesque harbour town of Falmouth, buzzing with its bars, restaurants and shops. You do really need a car so you can travel to the many little hamlets and bays not too far away (Not giving away our discoveries though !). We had a great four days which were so relaxing it seemed we were away much longer. Visit Port Isaac where they film Doc Martin, take the ferry from Falmouth Harbour to St Mawes, travel a little further afield and visit the Eden Project (allow yourself a good few hours for these trips as so much to see). Also lots of opportunities in the nearby vicinity for short walks or long leisurely rambles. Eating out? lots of good restaurants a short drive away but also lots of hidden beachside inns serving excellent food including locally caught fish - seek and you will find and be amazed.
HBB itself is equipped with all mod cons but retains a sense of its history of a working barn -.stone walls, beams etc. Light, airy and very clean.If you don't want to go out in the evening and the weather is warm and balmy just sit outside and enjoy the views, the planting and sculptures (by Leigh himself we discovered) . Leigh and Jan (your hosts) are always on hand so no worries if you had a problem (we didn't); They have a wealth of information about Cornwall and can tell you all the best places to visit. We were lucky and had mostly good weather but HBB was home from home if weather had been too bad to venture out.
Very highly recommended

Room Tip: not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank lorigill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We had a fantastic time at the Honey Buzzard Barn,everything what we wish,
clean,peaceful,and so much possiblities for a nice walk.
It was a 5star treat,and we can every one recommend,
fantastic accommodation, so lovely, Jan and Leigh so helpful. From the Netherlands

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bozena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Nice little place in a former barn. There are many windows in the appartement and if the sun comes out, which unfortunately was not so often the case, you can have your breakfeast in a wonderful light. The place is three miles from Falmouth on the countryside. It is a good starting place for tours to all over West-Cornwall. the Falmouth beaches are nothing to get excited about, but are clean and the water is transparent and warmer then I thought (I should say it is July). Surprisingly I found a course for running nearby. Around the two reservoirs are small, somtime narrow footpaths which are quite okay for running.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank GregorKarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This is the perfect place to stay - well equipped in the kitchen, the bathroom is clean, the double bedroom is large and comfortable, the twin room is ideal for 2 persons and both rooms have plenty of storage for clothes. The living area has high ceilings with wooden beams and stone walls with lots of imaginative lighting, which we liked. The location is great too, just 10 mins to Falmouth, which is really beautiful with lots to do and great restaurants :-) We thoroughly recommend this property for its peaceful location and the owners have used their sculptures and artwork to compliment. We recommend very highly, go see for yourselves :-)

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank wendules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We had a lovely stay at honey buzzard barn, very homely and in a very peaceful location. The kids were very happy and safe and we had everything we needed to have a pleasant and comfortable holiday. We would have liked a little outdoor space but regardless the accommodation was great.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahHShiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Excellent rental; big enough for 3 adults, 1 teenager and a labrador. The hallway was a great bonus for wet stuff and drying dog before entering the main area. Couple of lovely sunny days where we sat in the courtyard with a cuppa and couple of wet miserable days where we stayed away at relatives most of the day. Views were fantastic from the public footpath behind the barn which led to open fields - great for dogs & kids! Great base for walkers & easy location for Falmouth or main roads to Helston/Truro. WIFI & Freeview a bit slow & signal gets lost occassionally but this could be down to the wet windy weather and remote location. Overall it was a great quiet relaxing location & one that I'd return to and happily recommend if you want to be away from the towns & beaches & explore Cornwall.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandbagsrags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
3.7 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
213 reviews
3.7 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
719 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
#11 of 24 in Falmouth
1,362 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#5 of 6 in Penryn
48 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honey Buzzard Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honey Buzzard Barn

Address: Trenoweth, Falmouth TR10 9JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Honey Buzzard Barn Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing