We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lugo Rock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lugo Rock
Ranked #13 of 81 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Great Kingshill
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

This B&B is very close to the Town centre and also the beach. Its also just 5 mins walk from the station and about the same for Falmouth University, which was the reason for our visit. From the moment we arrived Jane and Philip, our hosts, made us feel very welcome. Our Bedrooms 14 & 15 were a good size and very comfortable. My bathroom was a little small, but had everything you needed. My only complaint here was that the bedrooms were a bit cold. To be fair the weather outside was bitter see the news! There was a great lounge area and the Breakfast room was well set out and inviting. The Breakfast was almost limitless in its range and nothing was too much trouble. Service with a smile! It was so good to see people really taking the time. I would recommend this B&B to any one

Room Tip: Everything, that you might want for a break, is close by. We used the local taxi service, which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    44
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
48
128
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Canarias, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

The breakfasts were fresh and homemade.. The best breakfasts ever! The coffee is absolutely amazing. The attention was incredibly good as well, from the start they have been always very helpful and kind. It was a good find! I came to stay here with my parents because I was going for an open day to visit the University of exeter (Cornwall campus). The location is perfect, the falmouth train station is at a walking distance as well as various bus stations and the town centre. There was a very nice bar "The Shed" nearby in which to have some cocktails as well as a good tomato soup! I would certainly recommend this! :P

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marialepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples,FL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

This B &B is in an excellent location for the beach or towne center. Jane and Philip make you feel at home and try to make your stay enjoyable. The room was very clean, adequate size, and very comfortable beds. The bathroom is a little small bud adequate. The lounge area is the nicest we have experienced, with comfortable furniture, games, and good reading light, plus a view to a lovely back yard. The breakfast is individually prepared and with a nice selection. The scramble eggs were the best I had in a 30 day trip. There is parking on site. We highly recommend this B & B for your home away from home.

Room Tip: We were in a first floor romm and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 87Hatteras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of October. We stayed in a family room in the main house which was a nice size and spotlessly clean. The older rooms are being refurbished over the winter, so in the new year they will all be lovely.
The owners were very friendly and had lots of advice about where to eat and visit. it is a 3 minute walk to a lovely beach and an 8 minute walk to the town.
I would recommend The Lugo Rock and shall be returning in the summer.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sav074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

Good location, clean and a lovely breakfast. We stayed one night and it was ideal for what we needed. the off street parking is also a bonus. Definitely worth a visit if you want good quality accomodation at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhysian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Really nice couple who run it and nothing seems too much trouble, very helpful when asking for advice. Very good breakfast with a good selection. We had a small room but it was priced slightly less than the others, a well decorated room for the age of the house and always cleaned well each day. It has good off street parking and the only thing which needed attention was the plug in the wash basin! And it had a lovely lounge. Would stay again if visiting Falmouth.

Room Tip: A long narrow house with one end facing towards the sea(100yds) the other towards the main road into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thisisanuisance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

A lovely friendly guest house, with a great breakfast, which was better than some bigger hotels we've stayed it in the past. The service was excellent, nothing too much trouble. The owners and stafff were attentive without being ovger bearing. Excellent place to stay for access to the beach and other local amenities.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorset2329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 25 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugo Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugo Rock

Property: Lugo Rock
Address: 59 Melvill Road, Falmouth TR11 4DF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lugo Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lugo Rock Bed and Breakfast is located in Falmouth, Cornwall it is a lovely historic old house set in a stunning location with the Blue Flag Gyllyngvase Beach and Falmouth sea front literally at the end of the road. All of our rooms have private en suites, we have unlimited free Wi-Fi access throughout the entire building and a free car park for all our guests. We have a large guest lounge with sofas, papers, board games and magazines leading out on to our sun deck with tables and chairs. We have many larger deluxe rooms with Kingsize beds and seating areas and also combined double and single rooms as well as standard doubles and deluxe twins. We serve an extensive breakfast everyday and guests have the option to purchase takeaway picnics or packed lunches. The Lugo Rock is a non smoking guest house. We also now have a Television which includes BT Sport in the Guest Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Lugo Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugo Rock Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing