We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”
Review of Lugo Rock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lugo Rock
Ranked #15 of 82 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Spent 1 night in a ground floor twin room with my daughter. The room was a good size with an en suite shower. There was free wi fi a flat screen tele and tea/coffee making facilities. The owner really couldn't do enough for us and was very friendly and welcoming. The beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was a much or as little as you want. We were asked how many sausages we would like so I don't understand the previous comment of only one of everything. The sausages were delicious. It is also just a 5 min walk to the university and a 10 min walk down to the quayside and National Maritime Museum square where there are numerous restaurants and the main shopping street begins. We were there for her Uni interview but will use it again for any future visit to Falmouth.

Room Tip: Our front ground floor twin room had a bay window which gave us more space. The road outside was qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandgirl1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed for 1 night with son who had Uni interview following day.
Good points:
The owner was very helpful as we were late in arriving so we accessed our key from safe box.
The room was well decorated, clean with lovely sheets,comfortable beds.
Equipped with tea and coffee making facilities.
Very good location for where we wanted to be in the morning and the area had a nice feel to it.
Car-park on site.
Poor points:
Our room was ground floor by front door so we heard as people entered and left the building.
The shower room was cold and not decorated to the same standard as the room. The towel rail wasn't working, the basin was tiny, in the evening it was only cold water to wash in and in the morning the shower ran out of luke-warm water then ran to cold!
TV didn't seem to work, then discovered that the aerial was unplugged, once reconnected it worked but only discovered this in the morning.
Could not locate the information folder which was supposed to be in the room.
We hadn't filled out the book re breakfast request and felt a bit 'told off' for not doing so by morning staff even though they were taking orders from guests who had filled out the book!
Hair dryer in room didn't seem to work, turned out I should have been pressing button covered by blue tape! Was given another one from a different room which did work.

Overall opinion, good but probably wouldn't return

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank MsCityTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

we stayed one night at the lugo rock as my daughter had a interview at the university, as we had to travel 4.5 hours to get there i had informed the owners prior to this, so it was arranged that we would let ourselves in with the keys left in the key safe, the room was to very high standard & we were very pleased, beautifully decorated,very clean & very welcoming. breakfast was from 8 to 9am, we had left our breakfast choice when we arrived in the breakfast book & it was confirmed when we came down to breakfast, it was a lovely breakfast, we will definatly stay again, the owners came & introduced themselves as they didnt see us when we arrived. we enjoyed our stay very much.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank claire t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Note; situated up a steep, 10 minute from walk, from the town and a two minute walk steeply down to the sea beach, you certainly benefit from the sea breeze.

Note; my "standard" room was small; 9' x 11' approx.

Note; the breakfast was fine. There was one egg, one piece of bacon, one piece of toast, one half tomato, and one portion of mushrooms plus one portion of beans.

Note; you are asked to write down your breakfast choices in a book the evening before, but you are asked to repeat them all the next morning anyway.

Note; credit card payments are charged an extra 2.5%.

Note; you can hear the muffled banging around of your neighbour in the next room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AzulH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

stayed at the lugo rock this weekend. very warm welcome,lovely king size bed,and a very nice bathroom,we found the location ideal,2minutes walk from the beach and 10 minutes walk from the quay and town.we also enjoyed a lovely breakfast in the morning,a lovely place to stay highly reccomended

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Lugo Rock are highly recommended as a great place for bed and breakfast or a holiday in Falmouth, Cornwall. It is handy for the best beaches in Europe, pure white sands, the coastal footpath, close to Lands End, Sennon Cove, Polperro, Perranporth and the Eden project. Blue seas and blue skies why holiday abroad! Best bed and breakfast in the area. Paul Davies MBM

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulDavieshistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The Lugo Rock never disappoints, having stayed with Phil and Jane several years running the welcome is always warm and the stay comfortable and enjoyable. The rooms are always very clean and the breakfasts tasty and generous with plenty of choice.

Highly recommended, if you're looking for accommodation in Falmouth you can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sussexb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#7 of 24 in Falmouth
433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaview Inn
Seaview Inn
#17 of 82 in Falmouth
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
#11 of 24 in Falmouth
1,374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Poltair
Poltair
#21 of 82 in Falmouth
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sandy Duck
The Sandy Duck
#6 of 82 in Falmouth
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugo Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugo Rock

Address: 59 Melvill Road, Falmouth TR11 4DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range: £55 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lugo Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lugo Rock Bed and Breakfast is located in Falmouth, Cornwall it is a lovely historic old house set in a stunning location with the Blue Flag Gyllyngvase Beach and Falmouth sea front literally at the end of the road. All of our rooms have private en suites, we have unlimited free Wi-Fi access throughout the entire building and a free car park for all our guests. We have a large guest lounge with sofas, papers, board games and magazines leading out on to our sun deck with tables and chairs. We have many larger deluxe rooms with Kingsize beds and seating areas and also combined double and single rooms as well as standard doubles and deluxe twins. We serve an extensive breakfast everyday and guests have the option to purchase takeaway picnics or packed lunches. The Lugo Rock is a non smoking guest house. We also now have a Television which includes BT Sport in the Guest Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Lugo Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugo Rock Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing