We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No contact!”
Review of Lugo Rock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lugo Rock
Ranked #12 of 80 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“No contact!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel may be lovely as others have said. But, and its a big 'but' we purchased a Groupon voucher for a two day stay. Emailed the hotel 7 days ago to enquire about availability; no response. Left a message on their telephone answering machine 5 days ago; no response. No response to second e-mail and hotel's web-based enquiry form. No response to second answer machine message two days ago. Finally spoke today (phone call from me) only to be told that the hotel was no longer accepting Groupon vouchers. Apologies from the person on the phone for non response, but customer service??

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    46
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
49
139
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Langport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Nice Location close to the Gyllyngvase beach in Falmouth. The husband and wife owners were friendly....but husband seemed 'stressed' when we arrived and complained of feeling ill...which was a bit off-putting ! We never saw him after that ......
Room & Ensuite were comfortable and a nice size. Breakfast was plentiful & good and waitress very friendly.
Few little niggles......
Had to arrive only between certain times which we did !
Breakfast choices had to be made the night before ( but I might want to change my mind in the morning ! ) .
TV didn't work when we first arrived so had to go & find the owner to sort ( felt this could have been checked prior to our arrival ? )
Note in reception, not to ring bell after 8pm unless in an emergency ! ( so what if we had a problem later ? )
WiFi was limited to 3 hours a day which was probable enough..... but I don't like clock watching.
Shower was only luke warm on both mornings.
Credit card payments were subject to 2.5% charge
Overall it's a nice B & B but we have stayed in better for the same price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tuathalain3255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed for one night for Uni visit. Room for 3 people, very roomy and comfortable. Very clean. Good shower. Owner very helpful with lots of information about local restaurants. Ordered breakfast as requested and next morning waitress was very efficient. Ordered slightly differently to original request and it was no trouble. Kept checking to see if we needed more tea, toast etc. lovely breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My wife and I were impressed by this guest house from our 1st visit, 3 years ago, when we were in a family room with my son who was visiting the local university. The owner and his wife were welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. Since then we have stayed a number of times in different rooms and we have never failed to be impressed by the standard of the accommodation and of the way we were treated.

We have just spent another 2 nights in this guest house and will make this our first choice if we visit Falmouth again. The breakfasts are substantial and there is a great choice, and you are encouraged to eat as much or as little as you wish, which is of good standard.

There is adequate car parking and this guest house is within easy reach of the town and the local beach, and also if required local transport.

The accommodation has recently undergone a quite substantial re-vamp in a number of rooms, and changes are planned for the future to make this guest house even more comfortable than it currently is.

We would definately recommend the Lugo Rock to anyone planning on visiting Falmouth.

Room Tip: Whatever rooms we have stayed in have always been comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Spent 1 night in a ground floor twin room with my daughter. The room was a good size with an en suite shower. There was free wi fi a flat screen tele and tea/coffee making facilities. The owner really couldn't do enough for us and was very friendly and welcoming. The beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was a much or as little as you want. We were asked how many sausages we would like so I don't understand the previous comment of only one of everything. The sausages were delicious. It is also just a 5 min walk to the university and a 10 min walk down to the quayside and National Maritime Museum square where there are numerous restaurants and the main shopping street begins. We were there for her Uni interview but will use it again for any future visit to Falmouth.

Room Tip: Our front ground floor twin room had a bay window which gave us more space. The road outside was qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandgirl1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night with son who had Uni interview following day.
Good points:
The owner was very helpful as we were late in arriving so we accessed our key from safe box.
The room was well decorated, clean with lovely sheets,comfortable beds.
Equipped with tea and coffee making facilities.
Very good location for where we wanted to be in the morning and the area had a nice feel to it.
Car-park on site.
Poor points:
Our room was ground floor by front door so we heard as people entered and left the building.
The shower room was cold and not decorated to the same standard as the room. The towel rail wasn't working, the basin was tiny, in the evening it was only cold water to wash in and in the morning the shower ran out of luke-warm water then ran to cold!
TV didn't seem to work, then discovered that the aerial was unplugged, once reconnected it worked but only discovered this in the morning.
Could not locate the information folder which was supposed to be in the room.
We hadn't filled out the book re breakfast request and felt a bit 'told off' for not doing so by morning staff even though they were taking orders from guests who had filled out the book!
Hair dryer in room didn't seem to work, turned out I should have been pressing button covered by blue tape! Was given another one from a different room which did work.

Overall opinion, good but probably wouldn't return

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MsCityTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thatcham,berkshire
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014

we stayed one night at the lugo rock as my daughter had a interview at the university, as we had to travel 4.5 hours to get there i had informed the owners prior to this, so it was arranged that we would let ourselves in with the keys left in the key safe, the room was to very high standard & we were very pleased, beautifully decorated,very clean & very welcoming. breakfast was from 8 to 9am, we had left our breakfast choice when we arrived in the breakfast book & it was confirmed when we came down to breakfast, it was a lovely breakfast, we will definatly stay again, the owners came & introduced themselves as they didnt see us when we arrived. we enjoyed our stay very much.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank claire t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.1 mi away
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugo Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugo Rock

Property: Lugo Rock
Address: 59 Melvill Road, Falmouth TR11 4DF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lugo Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lugo Rock Bed and Breakfast is located in Falmouth, Cornwall it is a lovely historic old house set in a stunning location with the Blue Flag Gyllyngvase Beach and Falmouth sea front literally at the end of the road. All of our rooms have private en suites, we have unlimited free Wi-Fi access throughout the entire building and a free car park for all our guests. We have a large guest lounge with sofas, papers, board games and magazines leading out on to our sun deck with tables and chairs. We have many larger deluxe rooms with Kingsize beds and seating areas and also combined double and single rooms as well as standard doubles and deluxe twins. We serve an extensive breakfast everyday and guests have the option to purchase takeaway picnics or packed lunches. The Lugo Rock is a non smoking guest house. We also now have a Television which includes BT Sport in the Guest Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lugo Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugo Rock Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing