We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect.”
Review of Prospect House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prospect House
Ranked #36 of 80 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect.”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We came across this Bed and Breakfast by accident, but what a lucky find. This place is what all B & B's should be like. It is a beautiful old nicely decorated house, well equipped room with large comfy bed. Large ensuite. Breakfast was unbelievable and nicely cooked. Host Carolyn could not do anything more or us. Wished we could have stayed longer as the gardens were lovely and would have provided a lovely pace to rest from our busy holiday. Good location and easy access to all the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deanna224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
7
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Prospect House is handily placed for every point of interest in Cornwall. We stayed there in mid April and were easily able to explore many of the hidden beaches and coves that Cornwall has to offer. The owner, Carolyn, has extensive knowledge of just about every inch of Cornwall and is very keen that you should get as much as you want from your visit.
The house itself is wonderfully oldy worldly, and has that relaxed opulent atmosphere from another age. It's just wonderful.
I won't go on too much as it can seem a bit over the top but if you visit Cornwall and want to stay a few days, then try and book in here.

Room Tip: Ask for Waterwitch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yachtbayview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I have stayed in virtually every room in this delightful Georgian house during the last year, alone, with my partner and with my mother. Every room is individually decorated in a tasteful historic style. The situation is very convenient for Penryn centre and buses into Falmouth centre which is only a brisk half hour's walk away along the estuary. Carolyn's breakfasts are fresh and healthy with a wide choice of hot and cold options. There is parking at the house by arrangement which is especially useful in Penryn with its narrow ancient streets and little public parking. We would unreservedly recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool or fitness centre but there is no reset button for the ratings! All the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahcc101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed here for three nights to visit family and can thoroughly recommend Prospect house. The house is beautiful and the rooms decorated in a traditional style, the beds are very comfortable and we didn't notice any traffic noise.

A particular highlight was the breakfast, no corners were cut - delicious sausages and eggs in particular.

Carolyn was friendly and interested and made us feel very welcome. We're hoping to come back soon.

One thing I would say is that the B&B is more in Penryn than Falmouth, which suited us fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amphalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Beautiful house, beautifully decorated! Carolyn was warm, friendly and welcome and made us feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble and she went well above and beyond what was expected. I would definitely recommend this Guest House and would certainly visit again. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily_Louise89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Love love love it here! We have been for our wedding anniversary two years in a row in March 2010 and 2011 and due to illness postponed this year and visited in July 2012 instead. As always its clean, tidy, quiet, beautiful and welcoming. Carolyn is lovely and finds the perfect balance between chatting and being interested and letting you get on with your stay. She is also very willing and on hand to share ideas of what you'd like to do and has a plentiful supply of books on walks/attractions which she has been happy to lend to us for our stay. Rooms are always clean as are bathrooms (we have always requested an en suite). Beds are very comfy with lots of cusions and a very cosy duvet. Rooms all have flat screen tvs with all the usual freeview channels.

There is a small kitchen area for guests to use, stocked with all the usual teas/coffees/hot chocs etc. and a small fridge with milk.

Breakfast...is amazing! Fruit, fruit juice, yogurts (nice ones too!) toast & jams and a cooked breakfast. Its really, very good! This is enough to keep us going until dinner time!

Prospect house is close to Falmouth, Truro, and surrounding areas and we always get out and explore the local area and do a few walks- although this year this was somewhat hindered by being 7 months pregnant and not so light on my feet!

Overall we love this place, and providing Carolyn will have us when we come with a baby too- we'll definately keep coming back!! It's always a pleasure to stay and we do look forward to it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Mids
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Having driven from shropshire i was certainly in need of some respite and i must say that the external appearance of the grade 2 listed building was very appealing, my stay was only short but none the less i quickly felt relaxed in my surroundings.
my room was very comfortable, spacious and clean, and i certainly slept very well.
My breakfast (full english) was very tasty and served in one of the delightful rooms of Prospect House.
I was very pleased to use the off road private parking and Carolyn very kindly lent me a bucket so i could wash my car as i was attending an owners club meeting the following day.

Carolyns informal and friendly aproach was very warming, i would certainly recommend this delightful B&B.

NOTE- Having been back home for a week or so Carolyn sent me a newspaper review / cutting of the car event i attended acompanied by a lovely card, kind gestures like this do make the difference and i felt quite touched.

Room Tip: my room was directly at the head off the stairs and titled waterwitch, i found this room to be quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robcc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Thirsty Scholar
The Thirsty Scholar
#3 of 6 in Penryn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
3.5 mi away
Twycross House B&B
Twycross House B&B
#2 of 6 in Penryn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Rathgowry
The Rathgowry
#8 of 80 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bay View B&B
Bay View B&B
#37 of 80 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#28 of 80 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fig Tree House
Fig Tree House
#1 of 6 in Penryn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospect House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect House

Property: Prospect House
Address: 1 Church Road | Penryn, Falmouth TR11 5NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Prospect House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Prospect House Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing