We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in lovely village”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gold Martin Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #43 of 82 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Gold Martin in Mawnan Smith is a delightful spotless property run by two extremely plesant people who go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. We spent two nights there and were very happy with our choice. Breakfast (everything you could want was there) was served overlooking their very plesant garden. The weather was not wonderful but we got out and did things and ate dinner at the local pub which was a few hundred meters down the road and enjoyed the local beer. Claire is an artist and her wonderful flower pictures adorn the walls. Parking is available and free. A great find. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chriscokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed for 1 night in the twin room with lovely bathroom attached. The owners very helpful and friendly and the breakfast, with a good selection of home-made jams and marmalade, was excellent.

Loved all the artwork on display and use of the cosy lounge.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredahum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

A very pleasant b & b, a warm & welcome retreat from the rain. The owners very helpful picking us up at Helford & very knowledgeable about the area. A lovely peaceful one night stay.

Room Tip: One double has en-suite the other double & single shared an adequate bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane225566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed for nights at this beautiful old house in a colourful cornish garden, with very tastefully decorated rooms -they were also well equipped and spotlessly clean. The owners are artists and very friendly indeed. They run their little B&B with taste, style and charm. Breakfast is served in a sunny conservatory. Beyond the normal "English" breakfast and a choice from a good range of cereals, Muesli et c., , they offer a special menu of alternative cooked breakfasts which are very good.
There is a very nice pub within walking distance.
The (free) WiFi worked perfectly well.
This is a place to which we would definitely like to return to.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jargalant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed at Gold Martin for 2 nights while we visited friends who were holidaying in the area.The hosts Clare & Allen couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful during our stay.We had a double room and a single for our teenage son - both of which were spotlessly clean and comfortable.Breakfast was superb , especially the poached eggs!! I would definitely recommend this B & B , and while you are there check out the fantastic cards and paintings produced by Clare which are offered for sale.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMTBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

If you need a well-run, friendly and comfortable stop-over, with an excellent breakfast, then we recommend the Gold Martin.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul_g_haywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

Whilst touring Cornwall at the end of August we arrived in Mawnan Smith.The local pub recommended Gold Martin. They knew some guests attending a wedding had been asked to leave due to unacceptable behaviour and they might therefore have a vacancy. We only intended to stay one night but remained for three in this superb B&B; the best of our holiday. The rooms are lovely, spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished. The hosts treated us like family.They sent us to all the local beauty spots in this stunning area and recommended great places to eat ; The Red Lion pub, The Cove and Guiseppes. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast at Gold Martin is memorable for the choices other than the usual full english that we were rather fed up with being offered every where else we stayed. The ham, tomato and melted brie topped with a poached egg all served on homemade cheese and bacon bread is to die for! Closely followed by the savoury croissants. Homemade jams and marmalade completed a perfect start to the day. A B&B not to be missed and situated in one of the most beautiful parts of Cornwall that we'd not visited before. We hope to come back and explore some more.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allanjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
2.9 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
214 reviews
1.4 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
724 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
#11 of 24 in Falmouth
1,374 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#5 of 6 in Penryn
48 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Thirsty Scholar
The Thirsty Scholar
#3 of 6 in Penryn
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Martin Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Martin Bed & Breakfast

Address: Goldmartin Carlidnack Road | Mawnan Smith, Falmouth TR11 5HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Gold Martin Bed & Breakfast Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing