We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorne Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawthorne Dene Hotel
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Falmouth
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

A lovely twin ground floor room with a super shower and views of the sea. We did not receive a great welcome after a 6 hour drive and saying that we would arrive between 7 and 8. A fair selection of breakfast items including gluten free bread! However portions smallish and not piping hot.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jac385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    30
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
32
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a four day break. The hotel is quaint and charming, Edwardian décor and each room is named after a teddy bear. I had room 10 (Godwin's room), which is right at the top of the building with a sea-view. Room was bright and comfortable, with a chaise longue. Ideal when sat with a cuppa overlooking the stunning view. Shower is compact, but perfectly adequate. There are 3 flights of stairs going up to the room, but this presented no problem for me. Breakfast was lovely, served in the charming dining room, with a choice of a full English breakfast or continental. Lounge is very quaint and relaxing. The only downside was perhaps the lack of cleaning of the rooms; towards the end of my stay I noticed that the towels and shower mat were left where I had left them, but not really a issue .My room was on the main road so there is some traffic noise but not at night. Hotel is situated about 10 minutes walk from the beach and about 15 minutes walk from the town and it is a bit of a hill, so taxis were used, but it is walkable. I really enjoyed my stay here, and would recommend it for a peaceful and relaxing break.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of the hotel have stunning sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol- a poor substitute for Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Exquisitely maintained hotel - beautiful Edwardian decor, sublime colour scheme and serenity to die for. However, room was small with one small window and the shower uncontrollable. Breakfast was quite small but there were lots of options available. I was disappointed to see fruit juices from Lidl ( at £85 per night, I'd have expected better quality) and the staff were very accommodating. Loved the teddy theme but my main complaint would be how the cleaning trailed off in standard towards the end of the week - a wine glass was left in room for 3 days and towels/ bathmats neither changed or even moved for last couple of days. The peacefulness and tranquil vibe of the hotel was priceless, no noise at night and zero light pollution. would definitely recommend for those who want a quiet chill in what can be a busy seaside resort.

Room Tip: The room at the top was delightful, fantastic views and bigger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slinkylipz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I booked a four night stay here as we have visited Falmouth many times but only ever for a day and wanted the chance to explore what it has to offer.
We were made to feel welcome on arrival and shown to Harvey's room (10) on the top floor which afforded great views across the bay and had the bonus of a Velux window at the rear which was very useful as temperatures were approaching 30 degrees for the duration of our stay. The shower and toilet facilities were compact but adequate for our needs. Bed was very comfortable and room was kept spotless. Breakfast was lovely with a good choice of fruit, yoghurt,cereals and a sensible sized full breakfast offered along with options if you don't fancy the full "Monty".
The Hotel is located approximately 15 minutes walk from the town centre but allow 20 to get back as it is uphill. There is also a stop for the shuttle bus nearby which at £2 for an all day ticket is another option. We used this as I have recently had a knee replacement and although I did manage the walk down to the town one day, I don't think it would have done me any good to walk back up. The lovely Gillyvase beach is only about 10 minutes walk away.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider staying in this lovely Hotel again.

Room Tip: We liked room 10 but there are 3 flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

I spent one night here, in a small but more than adequate room. Lovely shower, comfy bed, sea view, excellent value for money. A friendly and welcoming B&B with a hearty breakfast even when you're quite picky with food. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julia201101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

My mother and I stayed at Hawthorne Dene for 1 night as we had to attend a funeral.
We stayed in Mortimer's room which was Twin Bedded, the view was lovely as we could sit on the window seat and lookout towards the sea.

The ensuite was great my only criticism was that there was nowhere to put your washbag especially when there is two of you.

The breakfast was excellent we both had scrambled eggs and they were some of the best I have ever had.

I would certainly stay here again as we were made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

We have stayed at the Hawthorne Dene many times over the years, with and without offspring, and have always been satisfied and well catered for. The couple who own and run the hotel offer a warm welcome and a positive response to any needs, and have put their own stamp on this property that has a unique appeal for us. All rooms are clean and the beds are especially comfortable, with those at the front of the house offering wonderful sea views across the bay. The Hawthorne Dene is well situated for the short walk to both Falmouth town centre, and beaches.

Room Tip: For sea views ask for a front of house bedroom (downside is passing road traffic).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merchants Manor
Merchants Manor
#14 of 25 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 25 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Dene Hotel

Property: Hawthorne Dene Hotel
Address: 12 Pennance Road, Falmouth TR11 4EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorne Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run, the Hawthorne Dene is "a smal Edwardian hotel of character and distinction". 4 star,silver award,RAC rosette dinning award family run, cosy log fire,superb food,wine and dinning.All rooms de luxe en suite.Stunning panoramic views of Falmouth bay and close to town and beaches. 10 bedrooms all with individual de luxe quality beds and full facilities. Non-smoking.Ample off road parking. Soil Association members and environmental organic establishment."we look forward to welcoming you" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Hawthorne Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Dene Falmouth
Hawthorne Dene Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing