We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous place to relax.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorne Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawthorne Dene Hotel
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Falmouth
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fabulous place to relax.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

This Hotel was fantastic. Immaculately clean and decorated throughout, with friendly personal service from the moment we arrived to the moment we left.
Decor is a refreshing change from the current contemporary trend with loads of photos on the walls and a lounge full of old books to browse through whilst relaxing on the comfy chairs.
Breakfast tasted great and there was even a special bowl plate and cutlery laid out for our 2 year old daughter.
We often stay in Falmouth and will return to this gem of a hotel which is within walking distance of both the beach and the town.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_chelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    30
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
32
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2009

We had a very warm welcome on arrival, nothing was too much trouble, mealtimes are flexible & the food outstanding.
The hotel was very clean & tidy with some interesting features, especially the open fire !
Rooms are well decorated & furnished with beautiful antique furniture.
We would definately stay here again & have no hesitation in recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FLOYD45_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salisbury
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2009

A very warm and welcome place. Really good location - a short walk to the beach and restaurants. The family owned hotel is extremly well kept and our room had an amazing view of the sea! You must sample the food here too and they were quite flexible with the menu and eating times. Good value considering the location and the service provided. No probs parking at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staceySalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2009

We travelled to this hotel in August 08 from Norwich and were immediately impressed with the warm welcome we had. The hotel is in a great central location and is in walking distance to the beaches, town centre, golf course and restaurants.
Would definately recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kit83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2009

have told everyone I know to try out this hotel if they are in falmouth.
The service is perfect. The meals are suited if you are on your own , or with a family.

Very good value for money. Very clean , with lovely views overlooking the sea.
What more can be said....... Ill be back next year

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank falmouth35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east midlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2009

The hotel is a family run business with excellent facilities in the rooms. Very clean and tidy each room has a theme. It is a short walk into Falmouth and too the Beach. The food at the hotel is very good and the service during the meals is speedy and well presented. We both have been back every year for the last three years. We love it in Falmouth and it is always a pleasure to stay here. We would recommend this hotel too everyone. We hope you enjoy your stay as much as we do.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albertjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2009

As a person who travels throughout the year staying in many hotels, I can thoroughly recommend staying in The Hawthorne Dene. I found it to have a warm and friendly atmosphere and exceptionally clean and tidy. I would also like to say that the food/menu was way above normal standards. I will definately be returning this coming year.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merchants Manor
Merchants Manor
#14 of 25 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 25 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#6 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Dene Hotel

Property: Hawthorne Dene Hotel
Address: 12 Pennance Road, Falmouth TR11 4EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorne Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run, the Hawthorne Dene is "a smal Edwardian hotel of character and distinction". 4 star,silver award,RAC rosette dinning award family run, cosy log fire,superb food,wine and dinning.All rooms de luxe en suite.Stunning panoramic views of Falmouth bay and close to town and beaches. 10 bedrooms all with individual de luxe quality beds and full facilities. Non-smoking.Ample off road parking. Soil Association members and environmental organic establishment."we look forward to welcoming you" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Hawthorne Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Dene Falmouth
Hawthorne Dene Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing