We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different from anything we have ever stayed in before - in quite a good way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hawthorne Dene Hotel
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Somerset
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Different from anything we have ever stayed in before - in quite a good way!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

I was so relieved when the owner of this hotel took a booking for 2 double rooms just for one night, as we had tickets to go on a 3 hour cruise on a tall ship to celebrate my husbands birthday. The hotel is like stepping back in time, and the owner has taken so much trouble sourcing pictures and furniture to create a really old fashioned look. Imagine great grandmothers!! It is clean and comfortable, and at breakfast there was a birthday candle in my husbands sausage (which gave us all a laugh).
We had a really good weekend, went on an old fashioned ship, stayed in an old fashioned hotel, after all we are all starting to get on a bit!
Give it a try, it certainly is different.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    30
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
32
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

stayed at hawthorne dene as my husband and i both had interviews in the local area. when we arrived we received apologies from jonna about the scaffold towers at the front of the building (new windows were being fitted) we were taken to benedicts room a gorgeous double with a really comfy bed, breakfast was lovely and there was a good choice. we liked it so much we are going to return during the summer

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nosnibor-srm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

I stayed here late September for a friends wedding. The rooms are comfortable & clean. I stayed in single ensuite room, that was spacious and had lovely views of the ocean. The B&B has many old photos from Falmouth's history dating back many century's. Seems to have a friendly feel, although morning breakfast staff aren’t very approachable and don't smile. They serve a typical english breakfast, nothing flash. There's parking on site and 10-15 mintue walk into town.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbAussieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2009

We were disappointed with our stay at the Hawthorne Dene.
The room was small, cramped and the "sea view" was a glimpse from the corner of the window. The welcome was unfriendly and the service poor. We waited over 20 minutes for our breakfast even though it was not peak time and the dining room was not full.
The location was also disappointing; a good 20 minute up-hill walk from town.
Our stay was not good value and over-priced.
We would not recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieGoia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kronshagen bei Kiel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

Nice location. We had "Mortimer's Room" with sea view which was nice and cosy. Nice people. Good breakfast.
Falmouth is a great place to stay and all attractions are in walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrokro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

This Hotel was fantastic. Immaculately clean and decorated throughout, with friendly personal service from the moment we arrived to the moment we left.
Decor is a refreshing change from the current contemporary trend with loads of photos on the walls and a lounge full of old books to browse through whilst relaxing on the comfy chairs.
Breakfast tasted great and there was even a special bowl plate and cutlery laid out for our 2 year old daughter.
We often stay in Falmouth and will return to this gem of a hotel which is within walking distance of both the beach and the town.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_chelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2009

We had a very warm welcome on arrival, nothing was too much trouble, mealtimes are flexible & the food outstanding.
The hotel was very clean & tidy with some interesting features, especially the open fire !
Rooms are well decorated & furnished with beautiful antique furniture.
We would definately stay here again & have no hesitation in recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLOYD45_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.1 mi away
Trelawne Hotel
Trelawne Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
#18 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merchants Manor
Merchants Manor
#14 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Dene Hotel

Property: Hawthorne Dene Hotel
Address: 12 Pennance Road, Falmouth TR11 4EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorne Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run, the Hawthorne Dene is "a smal Edwardian hotel of character and distinction". 4 star,silver award,RAC rosette dinning award family run, cosy log fire,superb food,wine and dinning.All rooms de luxe en suite.Stunning panoramic views of Falmouth bay and close to town and beaches. 10 bedrooms all with individual de luxe quality beds and full facilities. Non-smoking.Ample off road parking. Soil Association members and environmental organic establishment."we look forward to welcoming you" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorne Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Dene Falmouth
Hawthorne Dene Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing