We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality and service could not be beaten.”
Review of Ivanhoe Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ivanhoe Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 82 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We were staying for two nights whilst working at the beer festival. Our hosts could not have been friendlier, helpful and more hospitable. Were so grateful of the lounge to sit comfortably and read before a heavy shift. Wonderful breakfasts with great chioces, tastes and quantities, nothing was too much trouble. Book!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick0demus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2011

I stayed four nights in one of the two single rooms during the October Oyster Festival. The singles share a shower room/toilet but there is also a separate toilet available. Room 2 was perfectly adequate for a single, but some elements such as the tv and furniture could be considered a little dated. The room had a sink, fridge and kettle and was spotlessly clean and tidy. The bed was a little on the hard side, but I slept well. The room looked out on to a small courtyard so there was no external noise at night. I appreciated the quality tea/ coffee and fresh milk and there were some other nice touches. The rest of the house is bright and airy, with a large lounge also available to guests. The walls and nooks house an eclectic mix of oddments and beautiful home produced paintings that add to the cheeriness.

I thought the cooked breakfast was excellent, supplemented with a wide selection of tasty home made jams. The road is quiet and on road parking is usually not a problem. It's a 10min stroll in to town in one direction or similar to local beaches in another. Donna and Gill are the perfect hosts and made me feel right at home. I wouldn't give a second thought to staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 5 are single. Room 2 has the shower room adjoining
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sabbisauage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We have already been there twice and hopefully not for the last time. Donna and Gill always gives you a perfect beginning of a nice day with their marvellous "breakies". The Ivanhoe is a perfect starting point for a lot of nice gardens, walks and other attractions in the surrounding. The atmosphere in the house is extremly friendly and we always met nice people.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Comfortable room, good value for money, £70 double ensuite. Gill and Donna couldn't do enough to help, they were extremely friendly and helpful. You must eat in the Hunky Dory restaurant - best meal of our whole holiday

Room Tip: double room ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walker039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We would recommend this guest house, but if you book the smallest double room (no. 1) be aware that the en suite facilities are very cramped, however this room is cheaper than the rest to compensate. Everywhere was very clean and comfortable and Gill's paintings and jams and preserves were very impressive. It is situated between the town and the beaches - 5 mins to beach and 10-15 mins to the town, but very quiet at night and with comfortable bed and good quality bedlinen.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CornishcreamFalmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

This is a delightful B&B with spotless, comfortable rooms and excellent choice of breakfasts. Donna & Gill are very friendly hosts and extremely helpful. The B&B is adorned with Gills paintings which are very good. (We purchased one).
There is plentiful parking on the Melville Road and the restaurants of Falmouth are a ten minute walk away. We would recommend this B&B to anyone wanting a base from which they can visit the various attractions of South West Cornwall or just a leisurely stroll around Falmouth and the local beaches.

Room Tip: Book Early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gargoyles64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Ivanhoe, we spent the weekend there for friends wedding and it was lovely with a very warm welcome. Very clean, bright room with everything you need for a weekend away. The breakfast was delicious and always served piping hot. perfect location too. We would defiantly come back to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucy_sloane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#7 of 24 in Falmouth
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chelsea House
Chelsea House
#2 of 82 in Falmouth
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camelot Guest House
Camelot Guest House
#6 of 82 in Falmouth
416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Telford Guest House
Telford Guest House
#7 of 82 in Falmouth
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivanhoe Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivanhoe Guesthouse

Address: 7 Melvill Road, Falmouth TR11 4AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ivanhoe Guesthouse Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing