We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts, lovely guesthouse.”
Review of Ivanhoe Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ivanhoe Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 82 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Southampton, United Kingdom
174
Reviewed 4 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2013

Our family group of 10, spanning three generations, stayed here for two nights to attend a family wedding at the Falmouth Hotel, which is close by. Not only was the accommodation perfect for our requirements, but the standard of the facilities, the breakfasts and the overall welcome were superb. Everything is fresh and crisp and spotlessly clean; the excellent breakfasts are cooked to order with every variation you could want (plus a choice of home made jams); there's an attractively furnished sitting room for residents; and best of all, Donna and Gill are so friendly and helpful, we couldn't have asked for more. Nothing was too much trouble, whether it was supplying champagne glasses for our pre-dinner bottle of bubbly, or taking group photos for us.

It's only a short walk from the sea and the town centre, and there's easy parking on the street just outside.

Many of the wedding guests stayed at the Falmouth Hotel, but we had the better deal. Look no further, this is the place to stay in Falmouth!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magpiestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

My boyfriend and I had a great 3 night stay at Ivanhoe, Donna and Gill are so welcoming and friendly, making you feel right at home in their lovely B&B.The whole place was very clean and fresh, as soon as you walked in you could tell they take great care over their home. We had a large double, family sized room with ensuite which was lovely and we found the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was by far the best breakfast we've experienced at a B&B, such a variety and all excellent. We can especially recommend the pancakes, kedgeree and creamy mushrooms. Gill also makes amazing jam and marmalade and you can chose from the wide variety available to have on your toast. They also gave recommendations for places to eat and visit and we tried a few of these during our stay, all of which were really good. Ivanhoe is only a short walk to the centre of Falmouth so it's in a great location. Donna and Gill really went out of their way to make our stay so comfortable, even doing us an early breakfast on the day we had an activity planned at 9am. Cannot recommend this place highly enough, we will definitely be back if we come to Falmouth again, if you're looking for a B&B in Falmouth this is the place to stay. Thanks again Donna and Gill!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This is certainly a great place to stay, excellent in so many ways. I will be recommending this to teaching colleagues and their families when I return to school after the summer break.
It is excellent value for money - if anything its under priced.
The welcome you receive when you arrive is very warming. Jill and Donna's hospitality is second to none. The guest house is spotlessly clean throughout, and it is adorned by lovely works of art that Jill has created. Jill and Donna are a great team who clearly like all their guests to have an enjoyable and restful stay. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for them and they cater and tailor to each individual staying in their home. Great location. Excellent and extensive breakfast available. A delight and pleasure to have been here - and I will return!

Room Tip: Anywhere in this building is good. Even single room is great - despite not having an en suite this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenteast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We'd originally planned on staying in St Ives, but remembering what a wonderful time we'd had at this B&B a couple of years ago decided the distance wouldn't be a problem and we weren't disappointed. Both Donna and Gill are very warm, genuine people - which tends to be a rarity in these cynical grab all you can times - so a refreshing change. The rooms were very clean; the breakfasts included a vegetarian selection and the beach was literally five minutes away.

They must have been our lucky charm, because the weather was forecast for rain, and we saw barely a cloud in the sky. So a good holiday all round. Thank you both.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

A return visit this year after been made to feel so welcome and well fed the first time we visited.Donna and Gill are wonderful and cannot do enough for you.Gill's breakfasts are the best ever with so much choice.Spotless and comfortable.We will always stay here whilst visiting Falmouth.Our family also visit,and we went on their recomendation...We felt on our second visit we returned as friends...x Paul and Catherine

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewhytells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed here for three nights with my boyfriend. Really nice, friendly B&B. Close to town and beach so very good location. The breakfast was very good with loads of choice. The double en-suite room we had was great - clean, light & had everything you would need (not to mention the bed was really super comfy). Had a great time x

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
#17 of 24 in Falmouth
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#7 of 24 in Falmouth
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camelot Guest House
Camelot Guest House
#5 of 82 in Falmouth
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chelsea House
Chelsea House
#2 of 82 in Falmouth
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Telford Guest House
Telford Guest House
#7 of 82 in Falmouth
211 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sandy Duck
The Sandy Duck
#4 of 82 in Falmouth
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivanhoe Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivanhoe Guesthouse

Address: 7 Melvill Road, Falmouth TR11 4AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ivanhoe Guesthouse Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing