We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay!”
Review of Chellowdene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chellowdene
Ranked #19 of 80 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We travelled down to Falmouth for our 1st year anniversary and had high hopes for a place to stay. We were not disappointed, Chellowdene is situated in the perfect place for access to the beach and the view from our balcony room was beautiful.
As a couple we both work in the hospitality industry and know how important it is to maintain high standards, this place was second to none the cleanliness was faultless and the breakfasts were consistent and well cooked. We would recommend Chellowdene to anyone visiting Falmouth.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tanner125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    37
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
98
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Troy and Julie were incredibly friendly and more than happy to help. The room and bathroom were spotless and the cooked breakfast was delicious! Would definitely stay here again if I was back in the area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This is the second year running we have been to chellowdene and it was perfect yet again. Great views, hospitality from Julie and Troy, and the perfect breakfast. We are looking forward to next year already.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

A real gem is Chellowdene. Troy and Julie are superb hosts and the room we had was spotless, comfortable and seemed new, which together with a fantastic balcony view of Gyllyngvase beach and bay was perfect. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gozziebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel is perfect for a quiet weekend holiday in Falmouth. I went with my boyfriend for 2 nights and it really was a great place to stay! The owners of the hotel were very welcoming and allowed us to check in earlier on the day of arrival. They were very friendly and chatty with us on our stay and advised us on great places to eat in and around Falmouth itself. The room we stayed in was a ground floor double room with an en-suite and it was just the right size for the two of us. It was such a nice, clean and welcoming room and the bed was extremely comfortable. Whilst we were staying in Falmouth we visited the local beach, and toured the town centre, which were both within walking distance of the hotel. We even took a trip out the Helston on the Saturday which was great because I got to see the surrounding areas and what they were like. I would definitely consider staying at this hotel again as my boyfriend is in the Navy so he is based in Cornwall so it was very handy for me to stay here. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who was looking at travelling to this part of the country, either for a short or long stay as the owners were very accommodating and the rooms were very presentable and homely. Definitely a hotel to look at when thinking about going to Falmouth :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The Chellowdene is a beautiful place to stay and idilic for a couple who: wants to go to the beach (which is less then a minute away); explore the town and coastal paths along with an amazing supply of restuarants within a very short distance.

The staff were all so lovely and I felt absolutely spoiled having breakfast made for me everyday! Oh and everything was very VERY clean!

Room Tip: All rooms have access to their own private bathrooms if not an ensuite. Even though we didn't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed here during the Easter Weekend, I found this place on Booking.Com where I got a discount for booking. When I arrived the couple who booked us in where very friendly and showed us to our room. I had booked a twin room with private bathroom. The bedroom had two single beds, reasonable cupboard space, and a tv. The beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom was done up to a very high standard. The bath was really nice and relaxing. The B&B is in the perfect location, right by the beach, my room had a view of Gylly beach. I didn’t have the breakfast, so I can’t comment on what it’s like. We had an issue with payment, I assumed I paid the £195 for three with Booking.Com, the presented the total and I put in my card details, turns out they had only charged me for the one night, but the couple who run the B&B were great about it, Booking.Com should make it clearer on the website what is left to pay.

The rooms were spotlessly clean, the rooms were warm, I would really recommend this place if you are looking to stay in Falmouth.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#9 of 24 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.1 mi away
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Red House
The Red House
#14 of 80 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chellowdene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chellowdene

Property: Chellowdene
Address: Chellowdene Gyllyngvase Hill, Falmouth TR11 4DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chellowdene 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chellowdene is a friendly family run guest house, 50yds from blue flag gyllyngvase beach and a 10 min walk to the town and harbour ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chellowdene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chellowdene Falmouth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing