We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely, cosy cottage - a home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
The breath taking Cornish coastal path: North and South coasts are easily accessible from Ancarva
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The breath taking Cornish coastal path: North and South coasts are easily accessible from Ancarva
Cornish curb appeal and an evening sun patio to boot Comfortable quality lounge furniture, cosy wood burner, Samsung flatscreen, SMART BluRay/Wi-Fi
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
The breath taking Cornish coastal path: North and South coasts are easily accessible from Ancarva
Cornish curb appeal and an evening sun patio to boot
Comfortable quality lounge furniture, cosy wood burner, Samsung flatscreen, SMART BluRay/Wi-Fi
Ancarva sits amidst pretty original cottages in the village centre of Perranwell.
Cosy up to the crackling wood burner on quality furniture (2016)and watch a BluRay /DVD
Soft leather 2 str snuggler, handmade furnishings and Laura Ashley accessories make for relaxation
Comfortable dual aspect open floor plan
Bright country kitchen
Two quality comfortable Next armchairs and a soft leather  2 seat snuggler
Comfortable dining for four with front aspect of village
Kitchen window - serene view of Cornish Village life
A delicious Cornish Cream tea awaits all our guests
We provide plenty of seasoned / kiln dried hard wood for the burner.
Cornish Blue tableware.
A selection  of Cornwall walking and guide books along with unlimited WiFi help plan your days
Modern bathroom with shower over bath.
Quality White Company hand soap and cream come as standard in the bathroom
Thick fluffy towels provided for all guests
Vanity unit with storage under and heated towel rail
Beautiful double with luxury mattress & LA furniture. Rear aspect with views over cottage gardens.
SMART Flatscreen  TV/DVD with WiFi access in master bedroom
Comp toiletries with Winter breaks
Comp dressing gowns and slippers with winter breaks
All beds have quality high thread linens
Ask about our Romantic or Honeymoon package
Bedroom 2: full single with Lux mattress and Laura Ashley furniture
Cabin bed for children (5-15 yr olds)
Gateway to 'Secret Garden'
'Secret Garden' - Idyllic peaceful, private terrace next to gentle stream.
Village pub, The Royal Oak serves excellent food and real ale and is only 2 mins walk away.
Pretty wisteria pub beer garden 2 minutes away - ideal for an alfresco lunch / dinner
Hire a classic Morgan sports car from the local garage and cruise the Cornish coast?
You can see why they call Falmouth bay the 'Cornish Med'
View towards Gyllingvase beach Falmouth - 10/15 mins drive away.
Beautiful Helford passage- 15-20 mins drive
Restronguet Point on the river Fal and close to the famous 17th century Pandora Inn (10 mins away)
Falmouth Quayside - a wonderful spot for an evening drink or meal.
Ferry Boat Inn bay, Helford river has idyllic riverside walks and beautiful scenery (15 mins drive)
Beach at Maenporth near Falmouth taken from the coastal path
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Falmouth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David H
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely, cosy cottage - a home from home”
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A truly fabulous cottage. We couldn't have asked for more. The owners had thought of every possible comfort and had added such beautiful touches making it so homely and welcoming.. In addition we arrived to find scones, jam and cream plus milk in the fridge. We were greeted by the owner on our arrival who so obviously wanted to make us feel at home straight away. Nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort
Liked least: Nothing apart from the weather!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2016
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, - your feedback is really important to us in ensuring we continue to offer guests the best Cornish cottage experience possible. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we'd love to welcome you back to Ancarva in the future. Jacqui & Simon, Owners Ancarva.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcole350
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful dream cottage!”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Mum and I arrived at Ancarva on a sunny Friday afternoon. We were blown away by Jacqui's welcome of a delicious cream tea that was laid out for us on the kitchen table and also by the beautiful decor of the cottage, which frankly looks like something just out of the Laura Ashley catalogue or something from Country Homes and Interiors magazine! We absolutely adored the cottage, it was immaculate, not just clean but very homely and chic. It made a great base for us, mid way between Falmouth and Truro and we visited a lot of gardens around Falmouth: Trelissick, Glendurgan and Lamorran in St Mawes. We also went on some boat trips, to Falmouth Maritime Museum and the little historical village of Flushing. All in all we had a wonderful week but the beautiful surroundings of the cottage really made it for us. It was a wonderful place to go home to each evening!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2016
Thank you for such a praising review, your feedback really is appreciated and we're so pleased you enjoyed your week in Ancarva. It sounds like you achieved lots of exploring which we know is aided by Ancarva's location and proximity to so many attractions. Once again thank you for choosing Ancarva and we'd love to see you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AncaManea
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Luxurious cottage”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Starting with the first online contact for booking this cottage, Simon and Jacqui went above and beyond to ensure our experience it's worthwhile! On our arrival we were lost for words for the kindness of the hosts: with Simon waiting for us for hours as we were delayed by the traffic then the amazing cream tea waiting for us! Simon patiently showed us around and then left us to enjoy the most unique experience! The cottage is an indulgence in luxury, from Laura Ashley furniture to high street plates and knives, luxurious towels and bedding, everywhere you look you feel pampered. The cottage it's decorated to an incredible high standard creating the most relaxing experience for the people lucky enough to book this place. And then there is a secret fairytale garden where we enjoyed many wonderful hours. For the BBQ lovers there is a BBQ free to use with all the cooking tools supplied. There are even outdoor games you can use while waiting patiently for the BBQ to cook your burgers. We had so much fun playing lawn croquet and boules. And indoors there are plenty of board games, DVDs and books supplied to keep you entertained and not to mention the precious wifi!
The cottage is located in a wonderful village, which has a train station, so if you're tired of driving you could take the train or the bus from the bus stop located 100 feet away from the cottage. There is also a village store and a pub in a minute walk from the accommodation, both of which are fantastic with amazing and friendly people!
We fell in love with this place and we are looking forward to our return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
What a great review - thank you. It means a great deal to us that your experience of Ancarva was so rewarding and thank you again for taking the time to submit such a detailed review. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our little piece of Cornish heaven!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferris280...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The acommodation is second to none and always friendly Welcome would highly recommend!”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was our second stay and there will be many more,
You really can say that this is home from home,
On arrival there is the special Cream tea that always goes down well,
And also special secret Garden with stream!
The owners Simon & Jacqui make you most welcome on arrival.
i would highly recommend this cottage and location.
Dean

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: There is nothing to not like!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Great to hear Ancarva once again exceeded your expectations. Further upgrades are planned for next year so we look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnsmaso...
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely cottage ideally located for exploring Cornwall”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at Ancarva in 2011 and were keen to return so the refurbishment that Jacqui and Simon have done was a bonus to us. The furnishings and decoration are excellent and we were grateful for the cream tea, which we managed to eke out for three sittings! As well as Jacqui and Simon, the local store and the Royal Oak were very welcoming and friendly. We love walking in Cornwall and have found Ancarva to be ideally situated. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No dislikes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Thank you for the considerate review Jiohn. We are pleased you feel the renovations we have made since purchasing Ancarva in 2014 enhanced your latest visit. We look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annepage4...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is the cream of Cornwall”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Ancarva is a beautifully presented gem of a cosy cottage, in a wonderful part of the country. Jacqui and Simon have restored it with great taste and provide everything you could possibly need, as well as some things which you don't - but it's nice to be pampered now and then! We loved the secret garden, and the friendly local pub and handy post office/shop.The location is ideal for exploring a lovely area and to come home to such comfort at the end of the day is the icing on the cake. Perfection. If only all holiday rentals were like this!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling that the cottage is owned by people who really care about it.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your considerate review of our cottage Ancarva. We always appreciate feedback as we know it takes time and effort. You seem to have really appreciated what we believe are Ancarva's 'X Factors'. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel_S...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ancarva is the perfect Cornish retreat”
Reviewed 1 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I would like to extend my heartfelt thanks to Simon and Jacqueline for graciously hosting us at Ancarva this June. Perranwell is a delightful part of Cornwall, the cottage could not have been more charming and clearly Simon and Jacqueline have gone to great lengths to ensure that Ancarva is the perfect Cornish retreat. Since my friend and I opted to explore Cornwall by rail, we were delighted that Perranwell is served by a reliable rail service and is linked to The Saint Ives Bay Line, which affords the most breathtakingly beautiful coastal views and more than lives up to its reputation for being the most scenic in Britain. It was an utter joy to explore the surrounding Cornish towns and beaches by train and our rail journeys to the glorious St Ives were truly heavenly. We invariably started each day at Ancarva enjoying tea, birdsong and the beautiful sound of the stream in their tranquil and much-loved cottage garden. And, it was a joy to return in the evening and prepare supper in their charming cottage kitchen, after spending the day at the beautiful beach at Carbis Bay or sailing in Falmouth. Therefore, I cannot recommend Ancarva highly enough. Simon and Jacqueline are genuinely lovely people and exceptional hosts and they made us feel like honoured guests during our stay at their idyllic Cornish cottage. Simon graciously collected us from the railway station upon our arrival and Jacqueline very kindly dropped us off at the end of our stay. We are deeply grateful to them for ensuring that we had the most wonderful experience of Cornwall this summer. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cornish towns and beaches
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the precious time to submit such a detailed review. In particular thank you for highlighting what an advantage having the rail branch line in the village is. You have proved this really does offer a cheap and convenient way to explore without the hassle of traffic and parking fee's. We look forward to your return to Ancarva in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing