We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just love this Pub!”
Review of Pandora Inn

Pandora Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Pandora Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 233 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$29
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Stunning waterside pub with pontoon seating 150 people stretching out into the creek. Food is served every day starting with morning coffee and cake from 10.30am, our full menu from noon until 21.30 And daily specials served at lunchtime and in the evening. Four real ales, local cider, Cornish lager and extensive wine list with 17 wines available by the glass. Multi award winning pub including Visit England Tourism Pub of the Year 2015 - Bronze, Cornwall Tourism pub of the Year 2012/13,2013/14, 2015/15 - Gold , South West Tourism pub of the year 2012/13 & 2013/14, 2014/15 - Gold.
Reviewed 19 November 2013

So sad to see this pub burned out a couple of years ago, so when we went last week, we couldn't believe how well it has been rebuilt! Amazing job! If I could I would spend all day every day of my holiday in this pub or out on the jetty. Love the place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WhatnoBroadside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travexLondon, Owner at Pandora Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this review on trip advisor and welcome back! The fire in 2011 was awful for everyone concerned but if you can be lucky in those circumstances I guess we were as the ground floor survived with very little damage other than from the sea water used to put the fire out. All the character of the pub survived and we were able to repair and restore all the fixtures and fittings from the main pub. The upstairs was a different story and everything was lost but the dining room was a rather characterless 1970's conversion and I think most people would agree that the honest rebuild of this level is a vast improvement!
And......... we would be very happy to see you on every day of your holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,135 - 1,139 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

We planned on lunch here after a walk at Trellisick Gardens. We had not been back to the Pandora since its restoration after the terrible fire. We had a long walk and then headed into the Inn with our dog. Great menu with a very interesting specials board from which I chose the chilli squid which was superb. My wife had a tuna mayo jacket potato which was huge and delicious. Service was excellent. The lovely views across the Creek make the Pandora Inn even more special, well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank littlechef2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travexLondon, Owner at Pandora Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for the positive feedback it contains. It is nice that you have returned after the fire - incredibly we have been reopen for almost two years now and gone from strength to strength in that time. It is also nice to read about the dishes you enjoyed and your choices illustrate very well the breadth of our menu from bar snack type dishes to the more restaurant style of food that our chef's showcase on the daily specials board - with, we hope, something for everyone in between! We hope you will not leave it so long before visiting again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Fantastic pub. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly and located in such a pretty part of Cornwall, The building itself had a fantastic ambiance, A real Cornish Jem!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travexLondon, Owner at Pandora Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for reviewing us on trip advisor and for your positive comments. It is great to read that you thought the food was excellent and that you enjoyed the service provided by our friendly team. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We spent a long weekend in Cornwall and one night in Falmouth. I checked on tripadvisor for a place where to have dinner and found the excellent reviews on Pandora Inn .. well..thank you tripadvisor: it was a magic evening! Very dark and rainy outside, we went in and a found a very welcoming atmosphere..the place itself is magic..like stepping back in time..we sat by the fireplace and had a wonderful dinner...( I'd strongly recommend the mussels and the marzipan ice cream). The staff was also very friendly. Really recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bri00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travexLondon, Owner at Pandora Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for adding your very positive feedback to the many other lovely comments on this review site! The Pandora is a very special place and cherished as such. We have tried to preserve the special character of the ancient interior and it is really nice of you to pick up on that. In the winter months we heat the main body of the ground floor with our three open fires, we aren't allowed to add central heating in this part of the building, so it really adds to the atmosphere. Mussels are a permanent favourite on our menu, coming from the river outside and our team of chefs are making good use of the new ice cream machine and are being quite inventive with the homemade flavours!
We hope to see you again when next in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Had an early evening meal here last night. Whole experience was most enjoyable and much better than last here about 9 months ago. Very welcoming, friendly young bar staff and waitresses. An excellent specials menu, although mostly sea food on this occasion, but there were plenty of meat and vegetable dishes on the main menu. Car parking is a bit restricted.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Vivian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travexLondon, Owner at Pandora Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and it is great to read that you enjoyed the visit. As a pub that sits right on the edge of the river we do feature seafood on our specials board but as you say our core menu, which is served all day, has a good range of dishes which hopefully caters for all tastes and budgets.
Our car park isn't huge but is rarely a problem at this time of year - but the parking restrictions on the lane leading to us have finished for the winter so things are much easier on that front! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pandora Inn also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Pandora Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing