We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This pub has a nice setting and the food is good.”
Review of Pandora Inn

Pandora Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Pandora Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 227 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$29
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, View, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Stunning waterside pub with pontoon seating 150 people stretching out into the creek. Food is served every day starting with morning coffee and cake from 10.30am, our full menu from noon until 21.30 And daily specials served at lunchtime and in the evening. Four real ales, local cider, Cornish lager and extensive wine list with 17 wines available by the glass. Multi award winning pub including Visit England Tourism Pub of the Year 2015 - Bronze, Cornwall Tourism pub of the Year 2012/13,2013/14, 2015/15 - Gold , South West Tourism pub of the year 2012/13 & 2013/14, 2014/15 - Gold.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
233 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“This pub has a nice setting and the food is good.”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We booked a table for Sunday lunch which seems to be necessary for a place in the restaurant even during winter months. The pub looks out over Restronguet Creek and out to the side over Carrick Roads, The staff are friendly and efficient and the food is generally very good. However our starter of bread, olives, hummus and oil and vinegar was disappointing - the hummus had little taste and the oil and balsamic vinegar had too much oil in it. However our fish dishes, both form the specials board, were very enjoyable. I had brill and my friend had plaice, (though my brill was just a little dry as there was hardly any salsa verde with it) Our puddings, chocolate mouse and bread and butter puddings were similarly good. The portions were generous and we were both 'stuffed' at the end of it. We had coffee down in the bar area, as our table for two was not well positioned, my friend's chair was placed on the way to the loo and my chair did not allow me to get out unless I asked the person on the next door table to get up. So I would advise anyone booking up in advance to try and avoid this table and to ask for a table (if there are just two of you, as many of the tables are for bigger parties, next to the windows). You can walk along the creek after lunch and enjoy the peaceful views. We drove to the pub which had plenty of parking at this time of year but in the Summer months it can be difficult to find a place. If I was going in Summer and coming from Falmouth I would be tempted to take a water taxi there and back (£10 each way at the time of writing)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annemarie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travexLondon, Owner at Pandora Inn, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for giving us such detailed feedback - it is always nice to get the detail behind a visit so that we can learn and improve what we do. Please accept our apologies that the hummus was not to your taste but we are delighted that generally you enjoyed the meal and left full!
It is great that you have pointed out that it is best to book a table - we take reservations for the upstairs dining room and by booking it will guarantee a space even when the pub is busy. We are sorry if the spacing between the tables didn't quite work on this visit - we have to juggle things around most days to accommodate the varying configurations of bookings that we have.
The water taxi option in the summer months is hugely popular and a spectacular way to arrive!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    730
    396
    100
    42
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing lunch!!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I love this place!!

Our most recent meal was lunch yesterday and it was absolutely 'to die for'.

I've never had a substandard meal at the Pandora and highly recommend it. There's something for everyone from sandwiches and jacket potatoes to pheasant, wood pigeon or steaks etc., and great quiz nights too!!

The atmosphere is great and always warm and welcoming and it's one of those places that I'd be perfectly happy to visit on my own without feeling intimidated.

And all this in the most idyllic location on the banks of the creek.

Thank you Pandora - see you again soon!! :-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travexLondon, Owner at Pandora Inn, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your positive comments. A meal to die for - wow that is praise indeed. It is nice to read that you find us to be warm and welcoming and a great venue even if on your own. We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just love this Pub!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

So sad to see this pub burned out a couple of years ago, so when we went last week, we couldn't believe how well it has been rebuilt! Amazing job! If I could I would spend all day every day of my holiday in this pub or out on the jetty. Love the place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhatnoBroadside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travexLondon, Owner at Pandora Inn, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review on trip advisor and welcome back! The fire in 2011 was awful for everyone concerned but if you can be lucky in those circumstances I guess we were as the ground floor survived with very little damage other than from the sea water used to put the fire out. All the character of the pub survived and we were able to repair and restore all the fixtures and fittings from the main pub. The upstairs was a different story and everything was lost but the dining room was a rather characterless 1970's conversion and I think most people would agree that the honest rebuild of this level is a vast improvement!
And......... we would be very happy to see you on every day of your holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay
Level Contributor
146 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A must visit Inn in Cornwall”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We planned on lunch here after a walk at Trellisick Gardens. We had not been back to the Pandora since its restoration after the terrible fire. We had a long walk and then headed into the Inn with our dog. Great menu with a very interesting specials board from which I chose the chilli squid which was superb. My wife had a tuna mayo jacket potato which was huge and delicious. Service was excellent. The lovely views across the Creek make the Pandora Inn even more special, well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank littlechef2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travexLondon, Owner at Pandora Inn, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for the positive feedback it contains. It is nice that you have returned after the fire - incredibly we have been reopen for almost two years now and gone from strength to strength in that time. It is also nice to read about the dishes you enjoyed and your choices illustrate very well the breadth of our menu from bar snack type dishes to the more restaurant style of food that our chef's showcase on the daily specials board - with, we hope, something for everyone in between! We hope you will not leave it so long before visiting again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“fantastic location and pub”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Fantastic pub. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly and located in such a pretty part of Cornwall, The building itself had a fantastic ambiance, A real Cornish Jem!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travexLondon, Owner at Pandora Inn, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for reviewing us on trip advisor and for your positive comments. It is great to read that you thought the food was excellent and that you enjoyed the service provided by our friendly team. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pandora Inn also viewed

 
Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Pandora Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing