We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very impressed!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Gylly

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
The single bedroom.
The double bedroom.
The sunny garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Falmouth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hayley S
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very impressed!”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

We visited Falmouth for a family wedding and booked the Gylly as it was an excellent price compared to other dog friendly places in Falmouth, it also appealed to us having its own kitchen for self catering.

Our first impression walking in was how clean and bright the place was which we were surprised to find in dog friendly accommodation. It had everything as advertised and everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The size of the Gylly suited us, (2 Adults, a baby and dog) the bedrooms were both a good size, we also had the travel cot up in the main bedroom and plenty of room for storage. It was also handy having a washing machine especially with having the baby with us. It had a lovely little landscaped Garden to the back which has sun most of the day.

We walked to the town which took about 10 minutes, down hill on the way, up hill coming back so take the car if you are going shopping if you’re not too fit!
We took the short drive to the beach, about 3 minutes away, was a shame dogs can’t go on the beaches but we knew that before we went.

Only 2 things we could fault...the upstairs neighbour could sometimes be a bit loud walking up and down stairs and banging the front door and we couldn’t always get parked outside the flat, twice we had to park on a different road and walk round.

We would definitely recommend the Gylly to family and friends and would also return for another visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHayward8...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation a short walk to town”
Reviewed 10 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Stayed at The Gylly for two nights in late October and loved how close it was to town and the hub of restaurants. We were able to walk to the beach and entertain the dog and had a really good time planning where to eat in the evening.

The Gylly had excellent facilities and was very good value for money, will certainly be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Oct 2016
Hi John - many thanks for your lovely review and also thank you for leaving The Gylly so clean and tidy. It was very much appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
petrinaas...
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
“Clean and well located but with dampness and unpleasant smell.”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We rented the apartment from 6. – 13th. of July. This is a clean and well located apartment with a nice outside area. But there is dampness (visible on walls in the rooms) and the apartment smells of mould especially in the living room / kitchen area. The dampness and the smell made us uncomfortable and made our daughter ill. Thus we left the apartment a few days early and checked into a hotel. We were very unhappy with how the owners completely disregarded our complaints and the extra cost we incurred. If you are sensitive to dampness and mould and/or have asthma, this might not be the apartment for you.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2016
Four days into your week-long holiday you emailed me to say that if I did not refund £400 (80% of what you paid) you would ‘take things further’ as your daughter had apparently become so bloated from moisture in the flat that she had had no choice but to book herself into a nearby expensive hotel.

Somewhat astonished, as the apartment has only ever had great reviews, lovely guests and many repeat bookings, I called round. You couldn’t actually show us any evidence of damp, just a slightly musty cupboard, but you repeated your threat that if I didn’t recompense you then you would write a poor review. You were at the time drying a full wash load of damp clothes on an airer in the sitting room. You mentioned that your daughter had also suffered bloating and headaches in your previous accommodation which you had also complained about to the manager.

The Cornish climate is renowned for being mild and damp whereas Iceland's - your home country - is dry. If you had done some research, as perhaps might have been sensible given the particular sensitivity of your family member, you would have noticed that all holiday letting companies ask guests to be aware of this and to leave windows open to avoid a build up of moisture.

I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay and I do hope your daughter’s bloating has now receded.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 30 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Stayed at The Gylly in January to combine a uni interview for our son and also visit our daughter who is already at Falmouth uni. This was an excellent base in Falmouth, all the checking in arrangements were exactly as agreed, the flat is beautifully decorated and well equipped. Exactly what we were looking for and will definitely use again when we visit beautiful Falmouth.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maire B
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well situated, comfortable apartment in Cornwall”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We visited Falmouth for a week in September 2015 and we found The Gylly to be a very good choice for myself and husband and our daughter. There are two good bedrooms and well arranged accommodation - shower room, kitchen/living room. Part of the reason we chose The Gylly was for our dog and the small garden was ideal for him. There was also a small park nearby.
The town of Falmouth is about a 10 minute walk and an easy drive. Most places were easy to access from the apartment and we never had any trouble finding parking spaces (free) near the apartment when we returned in the evenings.
Most of the equipment was excellent. The apartment is compact but well-designed. (My only suggestion would be to provide more suitable cutlery. It was a bit random.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable place to return to after a day out. Garden a bonus.
Liked least: Nothing really.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;