We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Polraen Country House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 54 Looe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2012

An excellent family friendly hotel. Our room was very large with very comfortable beds and a modern bathroom. Gill's local knowledge was a great help. The breakfast was also very good.There was a lot of choise.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dirk v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2012

this was our 3rd visit to Polraen. As usual Gill & Martin make you feel very welcome. Our room was very large with very comfortable beds , lovely and clean. Martin's breakfasts fantastic as were his evening meals. we will definately make a 4th visit !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelperson100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

A big thank you for making our stay at Polraen one to remember,nothing was to much trouble, we can't wait to return.The Bus and rail service made it very easy to get into Looe and near by Polperro,and Gill's local knowledge was a great help,ask her how to get to the forgotten coast,and which car park in Looe is free after six! Polraen has a garden to die for,and a Bar to have those night caps and meet other guests and share the days experiences
A great Team.
Garry & Janet from Tamworth Staffs.

Room Tip: The King sized Bed was excellent in room 4. Room 2 views from the window was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Excellent family friendly hotel. we stayed here with our 1 year old for a couple of nights and as soon as we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome. Gill made us coffee and found some toys for our son to play with, however, he found her dog more interesting. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. we would thoroughly recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomac75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Great family run b&b, we were made to feel very welcome.
Breakfast was very good (if a little early for my taste!), room was clean and well furnished.
Well positioned for Looe, Polperro and loads of other great places to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We would like to take this opportunity to write a review on this fine establishment just a stones throw away from the centre of Looe, Cornwall.
We stayed for 2 nights in July 2012. We were met by friendly owners who kindly made us a lovely cup of tea with biscuits and we sat in the lovely garden. Straight away we felt relaxed and started to unwind. We have nothing but praise for everything at the Polraen. This is the place where you can just 'stop and get off the roundabout of life for a while'. It is peaceful, charming and spotlessly clean. The food is prepared fresh and exceeded our expectations on all levels. Looe is a just a few minutes drive away by car or you can use the public transport which is very easy to find with the local buses and the train close by! We utilised their large car park opposite which made life very easy for unloading and loading the car! We personally love this establishment and can not praise it enough. Its tranquil setting was a nice change from actually staying in Looe itself. It was our first visit to the Polraen, however we shall be returning at every opportunity! We recommend this establishment to anyone, you will not be disappointed. Thank you for looking after us and allowing us to de-stress.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lov_Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maymayCornwall_UK, Owner at Polraen Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you for such praise! We're so glad that your stay here was the tonic you needed. It's great to hear that just one stay at Polraen has converted regular visitors to Looe like yourselves to the benefits of staying in our idyllic location here in the Looe Valley. Easy access to Looe without any of the hassle! We look forward to seeing you again. Best Wishes from Gill & Martin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

It's not always easy to find a bed and breakfast that can happily accomodate a family with young children, but Gill and Martin did graciously. I was traveling with my daughter, her husband and their 2 children, 6 and 11. They were able to sleep comfortably in one room, while I had a room to myself. We arrived early in the evening our first day and while we had let them know by email that we would like an evening meal, we were out of email-reach during the day and couldn't confer on the menu. So Martin and Gill created a menu that their children would have liked: roast chicken with Yorkshire pudding and platters of fresh vegetables. It was a big hit with all of us; the food here is really special. The location was lovely too: a garden to run around in and a dog to play with. We hope to come back some day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demi910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maymayCornwall_UK, Owner at Polraen Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. It was lovely to meet you all and so glad to learn that the Roast Chicken menu was a universal hit with all the family members.Best wishes and May the dog says Woof!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Looe hotels
2.1 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
490 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
261 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
908 reviews
1.8 mi away
Trehaven Manor Hotel
1.9 mi away
Cherrywood Lodge
Cherrywood Lodge
#2 of 54 in Looe
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polraen Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polraen Country House Hotel

Address: Sandplace, Looe PL13 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Price Range: £84 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Polraen Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 minutes from Looe, Polraen Country House is an AA 4 star Gold award family run country house hotel B&B in an idyllic Looe valley setting in South East Cornwall. The historic former coaching inn nestling in beautiful gardens, has 5 ensuite double, twin and family rooms decorated to combine historic charm with well equipped modern comforts. Hotel-style facilities include a fully licensed bar, guest lounge and a seasonal Conservatory Tea Room serving lunch and afternoon tea. Polraen has a free car park. The scenic Looe Valley train line and a local bus provide transport to Looe, Polperro, Liskeard and beyond. It's a perfect peaceful alternative to staying in Looe and a relaxing holiday base for exploring Cornwall and Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Polraen Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polraen Country House Hotel Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing