We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch accommodation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Polraen Country House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 54 Looe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We loved our two-night stay in this beautiful B&B/Guest house. Gill and Martin are excellent hosts as well as helpful and friendly. Receiving us with a welcoming pot of tea and providing us with excellent breakfasts in their lovely conservatory which looks out on their gorgeous gardens. Our room was spacious and very comfortable and it was great returning from a long day and being able to relax in their comfy bar or study. It's in a great location for visiting the southern coast and minutes from Looe where we had an an amazing dinner in a restaurant recommended by Gill. We are pleased to recommend staying here to other travellers. Thanks for everything Gill and Martin! Marilyn and Jacques - Montreal

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maymayCornwall_UK, Owner at Polraen Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments. We trust your lost property made its way back home after your return. Look forward to seeing you on this side of the pond again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

Fantastic, chilled out location. Excellent hosts and if you're a biker a perfect place to stay and use as a base to explore the south west coastline. Thank you Martin and Gill- look forward to seeing you again soon.
Lizzie and Colin from Hertfordshire.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Destinyangelone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maymayCornwall_UK, Owner at Polraen Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thanks for your review. We probably don't publicise well enough how suitable we are for visitors touring by motorbike. So for the record and to share with those interested in this particular review, at Polraen, we have an onsite car park with room for up to 20 vehicles so there is plenty of space for motorbikes but of most interest is that we can easily store up to 3 large bikes in our private courtyard with courtyard gates that are locked overnight. As we are in the valley at the junction of the A387 to Looe/Liskeard and the B3254, there is easy access in abouit 8 minutes via the A387 to join the A38 heading east to Plymouth or West to explore the rest of Cornwall. In the past, we've hosted a Harley Davidson chapter from Germany who've booked the whole hotel for a private tour. So, bikers welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of May. Very warm welcome - a pot of tea is so refreshing after a long, wet journey. Spacious, well appointed and comfortable room. Totally splendid breakfast - beats any opposition 'hands down'. Superb location just 5 minutes from Looe. We used the railway just three minutes walk away - great fun - not only to go to Looe but also to go to Truro. Bus service also very good and stops at the door. We will return.
Roger and Jo

Room Tip: All the ones that we saw were equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maymayCornwall_UK, Owner at Polraen Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thanks for your kind comments - especially about Martin's breakfasts. And for sharing your feedback about the ease of using the public transport links from Polraen both into Looe and to get out and about exploring Cornwall using the cheap day returns for a day without the car and without the stress of driving and parking! We look forward to welcoming you to Polraen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Im so glad we actually chose to stay at this place as it was just perfect for us,nestled away in the senic quiet countryside of Looe but only a 5 minute train or bus journey away from Looe town centre so we had the best of both worlds,The building itself was lovely and old on the outside but modern with everything you needed on the inside,There is a big conservatory for you to eat your breakfast and main meals there if you wish to do so and a nice friendly bar there with a good range of different drinks there for you to enjoy!! The family that own and run the guest house are so welcoming and that includes May the black Labrador!! I would definitely recommend this place to people and hopefully in the near future we will be back!!

Kate and Matt

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scuzz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maymayCornwall_UK, Owner at Polraen Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thanks for your kind comments. We're really glad you had such a great time. We love it when people discover what a lovely location Polraen is in and we surpass their expectations. A woof from May, our black lab, and hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Thank you Jill and Martin for making our short break so comfortable and memorable! We will definately be back later in the year. Having never been to Cornwall before they provided us with plenty of ideas and destinations to visit. Quick to pour you a beer and find out about your day, we could not have felt more relaxed. Anyone who wants to to see a truly beautifull part of Cornwall should definately stay at Polraen!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maymayCornwall_UK, Owner at Polraen Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Great to hear you had such a lovely time in Cornwall. And it's thanks to folks like you that we've earned a Certificate of Excellence for 2013 from tripadvisor so we appreciate the time taken to share a review. We look forward to welcoming you back - there's so much more to do and so many places to visit! Hope to see you both later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We recently had our wedding reception here and our 100 guests that shared our day with us thoroughly enjoyed the food, drinks service and accommodation. The owners Gill and Martin couldn't have been more helpful and flexible in meeting our needs and budget for our reception. We couldn't fault the hospitality shown to us and our guests throughout the day!

The food served was delicious and enjoyed by all with fantastic service. Accommodation was to a very high standard and we all found it to be very comfortable and quiet!

We will definitely be regular visitors in the future for evening meals and highly recommend the Polraen as a lovely family run hotel in a beautiful setting with fantastic food and accommodation and very family friendly!

Thank you for a lovely day!

Mark and Kirsty Cudlipp

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcudlipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maymayCornwall_UK, Owner at Polraen Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

So glad that we did you proud on your wedding day! It was a beautiful day, a wonderful occasion and we're looking forward to seeing 'you newly weds' back in the bar as we're now open Wed-Sat from 6.30pm serving evening food - lovely local Cornish produce with blackboard specials and home made dishes - the way you like it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I recently stayed here for the weekend with my family for my brothers wedding, I was very pleased with the hotel as Jill and Martin were very adaptable and hospitable. We had all rooms booked to the wedding party and was able to use the hotel very much like home, I have a 4yr old son that was able to run freely and was kept occupied by toys and tele provided in the lounge area while we were all getting ready for the event. The gardens were also fab for roaming around in, the wedding was a great success with food being delicious and the room then turning into a dancing area in the evening which I took advantage of :) being a small hotel worked well and would advise anyone with kids that this is a great place to stay as was very safe to let my son go to bed in the evening knowing he wasn't far away to check on.
Great place for an occasion / stay just outside of looe as you can even walk 5 min up the road to get the train into looe which is what my mum did with the kids on the morning off the wedding!
I look forward to the next time I visit :)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmJCudlipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Looe hotels
3.4 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
901 reviews
2.1 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
483 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
275 reviews
1.8 mi away
Trehaven Manor Hotel
1.9 mi away
Cherrywood Lodge
Cherrywood Lodge
#2 of 54 in Looe
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polraen Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polraen Country House Hotel

Address: Sandplace, Looe PL13 1PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Price Range: £85 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Polraen Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 minutes from Looe, Polraen Country House is an AA 4 star Gold award family run country house hotel B&B in an idyllic Looe valley setting in South East Cornwall. The historic former coaching inn nestling in beautiful gardens, has 5 ensuite double, twin and family rooms decorated to combine historic charm with well equipped modern comforts. Hotel-style facilities include a fully licensed bar, guest lounge and a seasonal Conservatory Tea Room serving lunch and afternoon tea. Polraen has a free car park. The scenic Looe Valley train line and a local bus provide transport to Looe, Polperro, Liskeard and beyond. It's a perfect peaceful alternative to staying in Looe and a relaxing holiday base for exploring Cornwall and Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Polraen Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polraen Country House Hotel Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing