We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
River walk through Kilminorth Woods to Looe
Kitchen refurbished 2018
River a few steps from cottage perfect for Canoeing/Kayaking
Eden Project
Looe Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Looe, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
SteveWate...
Waterlooville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Fantastic, beautiful, stunning, perfect, lovely, great.......these are just some of the superlatives used by earlier reviewers. I can only echo what has previously been said. We had a wonderful time starting with the very welcome scones, clotted cream & jam, provided by Maureen, who personally introduced herself on day 1 to reassure us that if we need anything she was only a short drive away. The cottage is very well equipped with everything you need for a self catering holiday. Just some of the local day trips to consider are.....the river walk to Looe, Polperro (if you're fit & healthy use the South West Coast Path), The Eden Project, The Monkey Sanctuary, Fowey. There's obviously so much more to do & visit in this lovely area of England. Would we come back to Alice's Cottage?.....definately!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2017
Thank you for your wonderful review, so pleased you had a great stay at Alice's Cottage. Look forward to welcoming you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richley11...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic, quiet location, with great kayaking on the doorstep.”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Set in the woods the cottage is perfect for those looking for a quiet retreat in Cornwall. It is beautifully presented throughout, with attention to detail making for a very comfortable stay. A generous starter pack included wonderful scones and clotted cream, which were greatly appreciated. We took our kayaks and were able to safely launch from very close to the cottage, out to the Looe estuary and along to the stunning Talland bay. A great location for walking, running and mountain biking through the local woods to the coastal path and surrounding countryside. Would love to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2017
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very pleased you enjoyed all the benefits Alice's Cottage has to offer, it seems to have a charm of it's own. Your review has also encouraged us to try kayaking this year. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Apr 2017
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Alice's Cottage and appreciated the idyllic location. Thank you for your kind review and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
82courtfi...
tetbury
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing home”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for a long weekend with all sorts of weather. The cottage is set in a remote valley near West Looe river where there is lovely walk into Looe. Wonderful wildlife sounds can be heard. If you prefer something quite and peaceful then this cottage is for you.
Relax in front of the cosy log burner, logs included after a long day's walk, we even got to Polperro on the South West Coast path which you join onto at Looe.
Looe has many independent shops and some lovely pubs and restaurants.
There are many quality furnishings and furniture with gorgeous fluffy bath towels and an extremely comfortable mattress. Beautiful pictures, soft furnishings, cushions. There is even fine bone china crockery.
A welcome pack of a Cream Tea was provided which was supplied by the ever friendly housekeeper, Maureen. Certainly a good asset to the business.
Almost everything is included, tea bags, coffee, sugar, washing up liquid etc etc and all sorts of kitchen gadgets even a cafetiere. There is so much comfort to this cottage that made us feel as though we were at home.

We can't wait until we visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2017
Thank you for your very kind review. We are always very happy when guests have a wondeful stay and appreciate everything Alice's Cottage has to offer. It was a pleasure arranging your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Dawn, Keith and Maureen xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donna d
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful, cosy, everything you need!”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a week at Alice Cottage, stayed for Christmas. Set in a beautiful valley, walks on the doorstep. A great walk into Looe, which has numerous shops and cafés. Location was perfect, cottage was chocolate box. Quality fixtures and fittings - including lovely bedding and even fine bone china crockery. Left a welcome pack of cheese, chocolates, biscuits and milk in the fridge, which was greatly appreciated.

A little piece of heaven. Very dog friendly area, have never seen so many people walking their dogs. If you want a private, relaxing break this is the place to stay.

Thank you to Keith & Dawn and Maureen for all their help and hospitality. We will definitely visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Thank you for your kind review, we are so pleased you had such a good time at Alice's Cottage. Look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bartmannr...
Augsburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2017
Thank you for the kind review we appreciate feedback from our guests. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future.
Wir hoffen jedoch, dass sie bei Ihrer Reiseplanung weiterhilft. So froh, dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt genossen haben. Wir hoffen jedoch, dass sie bei Ihrer Reiseplanung weiterhilft. Hopefully the translation is correct.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing