We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family restaurant”
Review of Archies

Archies
Ranked #67 of 83 Restaurants in Looe
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reading
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good family restaurant”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is one of the best restaurants in Looe if there is a group of all ages with different wants for dinner. What it lacks in finesse it makes up with in choice on the menu as there is something for everyone. If you want fine dining look elsewhere but for a family feast this is the place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FargoReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    101
    68
    70
    146
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One word - BAD”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The food was terrible. Tasted like something out of a freezer and over cooked. I could have purchased a better pizza from a frozen department of a shop. It would have been quicker and probably more edible.

The staff were slow and very rude, and it was not a pleasant atmosphere to be in.
I do NOT recommend this place for anyone.
There were several other diners that also voiced dissatisfication on the night.
Don't waste your money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Lauren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Personally wouldn't bother”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Two cod & chips and a crab sandwich. Greasy fish and chips. All seemed to be frozen which seems odd as the fish quay is right behind. Tea cups dirty. Service is diabolically slow.

Crab sandwich served on cheapest sliced white budget bread and watery. Walk on by if I were you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TurboKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Last night in looe - we wanted to leave early but no where was open as it was about half 5. Stumbled upon this little restaurant, the cottage pie was gorgeous and the staff are friendly :) definitely come back if I come to looe again!

Helpful?
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Poor service and food”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I went on a Thursday night, the service was very slow and the food very overcooked. It was busy which is why we went but overall we didn't have a good experience. We had to keep asking to be served and for attention.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle_LON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Archies also viewed

 

Been to Archies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing