We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay have had better locally”

The Sardine Factory Restaurant & Cafe
Ranked #10 of 91 Restaurants in Looe
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 17 April 2024

There are some good views of the harbour depending upon where you are seated. The menu is good and reflects local produce.
I had the fish and chips. The haddock was slightly undercooked, the batter is quite heavy and the mushy peas are really not good.
The service is friendly, but we had to keep asking for things. It needs to be more attentive and receptive.
I had to ask for the bill repeatedly.
It has a good ambiance.
VAT is added to the price of food and drinks, which is rather naughty.
So would I go back? Maybe, I’m not sure.
If you want excellent fish and chips or seafood- go to the Coddy Shack or the Three Pilchards at Polerro, they are far better in quality and value

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gaynor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2024 via mobile

Aa pensioners mg wife and I don’t eat out very often but after watching Great British Menu we decided to splash out.
What can I say? From the first course,the amazing Firefly with so many layers of flavour to the scallop starter, which I felt would be overpowered by Indian flavours, I was so wrong!
The lamb? We both commented this was what lamb tasted like years ago
Even the “simple” Affogato was a revelation.
The food and the service were exceptional so why this place doesn’t have a full Michelin star I don’t know.

Date of visit: April 2024
2  Thank gregoryl580
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 April 2024

Having watched Great British Menu we really wanted to visit The Sardine Factory in our home county of Cornwall. Ben, Charlie and the team are running the 4 course menu showcased on the GBM and wow! I'm so pleased we caught this menu option because it was amazing. Firefly (the vegan starter) was so lovely, the sweetness of the beetroot, the balance of the whipped feta, black garlic ketchup and delicate pastry just got better with every bite. The subsequent courses also delivered superb flavours, the delicate spicing and warming curry flavours surrounding a perfectly cooked scallop was excellent, the lamb rump tasted as all lamb should from this point on, the briam of vegetables, the burnt aubergine puree...... all brilliant. Finally the ice cream, the nod to the Cornish cream tea was a great way to end this meal. Every mouthful delivered and gave us so much enjoyment.

The setting is relaxed and a lovely place to be, the team are all really friendly and have a great balance of being attentive and leaving diners to enjoy the meal. Ben also came and spoke with us which was really kind and interesting to discuss the GBM experience.

We toyed with the idea of trying to book for the same menu the following day because we would happily of gone through the same 4 courses again and again. Instead, we will be visiting Love and the Sardine Factory again, we will try and organise our next stay from a fleeting visit to a slightly longer stay so we can also try YAMAS, the sister restaurant just across the river.

Go and visit the team at the Sardine Factory, you will not be disappointed.

Thanks to all the team for a memorable evening, and see you again soon!

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 454matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2024

Booked for lunch here with friends as part of wife's birthday celebrations and it certainly lived up to the expectations that had been set as a result of Ben appearing on Great British Menu and Charlie on Masterchef. Lovely ambience, airy and chilled. We had a mixture of small plates to share tapas style, each and every dish was a delight, really flavoursome and each plate was empty. Service was excellent from the greeting on arrival to ordering and service itself. We will certainly be back with family and friends!!

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank visitor150811
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2024 via mobile

The Sardine Factory serves delicious food. The service is excellent and the views are marvellous! We’ve been here quite a few times since the SF opened and we’ve always had excellent food.

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank Camper60333384461
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Sardine Factory Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Sardine Factory Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.