We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Jolly Sailor Inn
Ranked #21 of 54 Looe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Our walking tour company(contours) booked us in here, odd choice since we had booked upgraded accommodation. Quaint pub, nice place to visit for a pint. No evening meals served. Our room was very basic but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. A bit noisy from the road outside and people visiting the local shop. Also noise from adjacent rooms, walls are thin. Breakfast was OK, the first place on our two week trip where we got tinned tomatoes! If you are on a budget it is fine.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have just come back from two nights at the Jolly Sailor. We stayed in Room 2 which was a good-sized room with an en-suite shower room. The bed was very comfy. Absolutely no complaints about anything in the room - tea, coffee and biscuits - great. Everything very clean. The fact that the radiator could be turned on whenever you needed it was very good and the hot shower was perfect for a cold drizzly day when you've got soaked in the rain!... The breakfast was great too - tea, coffee, full english, toast, cereals and yoghurts and all the staff were very friendly, as were the many locals and their dogs ! We did manage to park around the back of the pub on the first night but, it is Looe, you can't really expect to park anywhere close to where you're staying so the fact that we left the car in the Millpool carpark the rest of the time is not a problem at all. Just for information - for those with mobility problems, there were two flights of stairs from the pub to Rooms 1 and 2 and another set of stairs up to the other room; also metal stairs going from the back of the pub up to rooms 1&2 which you could use instead of going through the pub.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BagpussBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Wow, what can we say. Only went for one night, ended up staying for two and could have stayed forever! Stuart and Juliet are amazing hosts, really friendly and accommodating and the staff are fantastic. The room was perfect and amazing value. We had the best ever stay. This pub is excellent with friendly locals and real atmosphere. Make this place your home next time you're in Looe. We can't wait to come back. Love Phil & Caroline xx

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TeddyBear2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Visited a few times last week during our stay, great cosy pub with lots of charm.
friendly locals pub with many characters and cute dogs, to keep you entertained.
Great service, good beer and friendly regulars, can't wait to have a few night caps in here on our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Cafcmodlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stopped overnight in the only room available,right at top (10?). A big room ,warm and comfortable with a fourposter; just like being on honeymoon again! A little dated but very clean and it was nice to find bottled water in the room. No food served in evening but a jolly good full english breakfast. Access difficult as building was totally covered in scaffolding which was due to come down in a few days. Luckily another guest on a fishing trip was able to skilfully park my car at the rear otherwise stairs could have been a problem. Really helpful,friendly staff

Room Tip: get a lower room if you can to avoid taking luggage upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnnie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

What a treat we stayed for four nights in room 3, what a beautiful room.
The breakfast was without a doubt the best I have ever had in a B&B
you could select from a range of cereals, yogurts, fresh orange juice, a
full English breakfast with as much toast you can eat. I found the staff very friendly
with nothing to much trouble, we will be returning next year to celebrate our silver
wedding!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daisy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

The Jolly Sailor is a wonderful quaint old English pub. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The locals are very welcoming and the room was lovely and comfortable and all round excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juliet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Looe hotels
0.1 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
489 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour Moon Inn
Harbour Moon Inn
#27 of 31 in Looe
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little Mainstone Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jolly Sailor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jolly Sailor Inn

Address: Princes Square | West Looe, Looe PL13 2EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Price Range: £49 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Jolly Sailor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jolly Sailor Hotel Looe
The Jolly Sailor Inn Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing