We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£144
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Breakfast included
Priceline
£144
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
£144
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
241
31
3
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
241
31
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oldest pub great pub poster bed jail ale sea shanties locals and visitors steeped in history pub grub visiting looe west side stayed nights great room sunday lunch warm welcome amazing hosts tea coffee well worth a visit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2023 via mobile

Friendly place. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Great location near to the quay. Very helpful when dealing with a food intolerance. We stayed for two nights and would have happily stayed longer. Highly recommended

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jacqui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 September 2023

We had a wonderful break at this lovely old inn. It has an interesting history and is full of atmosphere and character. The staff are all delightfully friendly and welcoming and we particularly liked Chloe who welcomed us each morning at Breakfast with a smile and efficient friendly service.
There are only four rooms at this inn. Ours was on the first floor and we loved it! It was clean and had everything we needed. There was a separate back entrance for hotel guests so that we could come and go as we pleased when the pub part wasn’t open which we found really useful.
You are given breakfast order sheets when you arrive and you tick what you want and hand the slip in before 6pm the night before. This means you know exactly what you are getting and that there is no wasted food. Next to Full English breakfast,for example you write the number required but can add notes such as any items you don’t want and also how you like your egg cooked. It is a really good system.
The inn is very near West Looe quay which has a lovely view of the harbour. It is also where the buses stop. The stop is ‘West Looe Fire Station.’ We used the buses every day and had some lovely days out. We went to Lostwithiel,Liskeard,Polperro Polruan and Fowey but there were other options too. We enjoyed exploring East Looe with its gift shops,pasty shops and craft displays. The museum is fascinating and the banjo pier and East beach are really worth a visit.
We did the excursion to Looe Island with two hours ashore there which was great. In the evenings at the Jolly Sailor we enjoyed a folk night and they have sea shanty singing on Thursdays. There is always a quiz on Monday night.All in all it was a great holiday we didn’t want to leave and will certainly be back.

Room tip: The evening meals are lovely but it is a popular venue which becomes crowded so book a table especially on folk/ shanty nights.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lisa008
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2023

Had the best pub curry i have ever had today at the jolly sailor in looe, nothing was to much trouble for Gary who on request added some more spice to heat up the curry for me. If you like a hotter home cooked curry give it a try. When ordering ask for a special curry. Thanks again Garry.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Pioneer06182761733
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 September 2023 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Jolly Sailor for a couple of nights at the end of August and could not fault it. Great pub with a really vibrant and warm atmosphere, fantastic room and excellent food. Breakfast, in particular, was delicious - the scrambled eggs were amazing! The pizzas were pretty darn good too! The owners and staff were all lovely and the location is perfect.

Room tip: Do the walk to Polperro - it's beautiful.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank timmJ2571MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 September 2023

The location of the Jolly sailor is perfect , 30 seconds you are on the river bank and the bus stop for Polperro and 10 mins easy walk into the town centre. For just £1 per person a water taxi will take you over if your feeling lazy. We managed to bag a free parking space opposite the pub so that was a bonus. Zoe and Garry the perfect hosts and made us super welcome and nothing was to much trouble. We stayed in room 2 with our 16 year old son and he had a double pull out bed that was very comfortable with a view out to the river and we had a big double bed that was very comfy indeed. It was a big spacious Bedroom! Very clean and bright with a large shower etc . Amazing breakfast that you select the day before and very tasty. The pub is full of character and olde worldy charm from 1512 which we loved. Zoe helped us find bus times for Polperro and shared a few ghost stories with us. If plannimg to book the Jolly Sailor best rates are available if you call or book on the website. We saved £70 booking direct over the cost of bookings.com. We arived as strangers and left as friends and we will be back for sure. Thank You Zoe and Garry for your hospitality and local knowledge.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank frederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews