We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2ND Time Back And Just As Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tencreek Holiday Park
Ranked #8 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Looe
TAUNTON
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“2ND Time Back And Just As Impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We came back to tencreek for our 2nd visit on their new years break,the weather was mild and our caravan very warm we stayed in a suncrest.a big thank you to yo and the yellowcoats for keeping us entertained once again through our short break.I noticed on here that someone says its a discrace from the outside,its not great but once in we felt very looked after.we have booked our 3rd visit in july Cant Wait

Room Tip: avoid sunsavers and pet vans
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALFIE99TAUNTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    221
    134
    61
    73
See reviews for
484
166
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

I am very surprised at the negative reviews for this holiday park. If they are true, and the photos suggest they are, then Dolphin holidays need to be sorting these tatty old vans out. Clearly there is a huge difference between the type of vans on this park.Having said that, we had a lovely stay in a clean comfortable caravan. It was stated to be a 2010 caravan and was perfectly ok. It was clean but I did think that some basic items were missing e.g. Toaster, wine glasses and oven tray. We managed ok without though. The site is in a great spot with good sea views. Indoor pool basic but warm and clean enough, changing room could do with a refurb. Club wasn't our cup of tea really, lots of noise from children or loud music, didn't seem to cater for older guests. But hey, its a family park. Staff were all pleasant & helpful if asked. This park is considerably cheaper than some and it looks like you need to book their top range caravans to get a decent one. But at around £120 for a week in October you can't go wrong if you book one of the better ones. I would never book a dog friendly caravan but those who do should expect it to be clean. All in all We would stay again but only in 2010/11 caravans.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Juliet33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Please do not book to stay here it was the last site left for sun holiday so should of realised!! We booked a pet caravan and expected it to be abit pongy but the stench was to overpowering to stay there. There was mould, carpet stains, dog hair and I was bitten with nasty bites on my lower back just from sat on the sofa so I would advise not to stay here. We went home within two hours of arriving and we have YET to receive any payment back or compensation even emails are going unanswered which is so appalling I will certainly be spreading the word about this site it should be closed down!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Welloio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

We arrived at the park late evening. We booked a pet friendly mobile. We were absolutely horrified at what we found! Ok so we were not expecting A1 here due to it being "pet allocated" but we were sickened to find mould on the sofas chairs and carpets. I have never seen such a disgrace. After finding reception was closed we headed to the bar to speak to the bar manager (who provided our key in the first place). He stated that all "pet allocated" accommodation were of similar disgrace!

We travelled 200 miles and we turned around and travelled another 200 miles home...yes it was that bad. I have tried to retrieve my payment back only to be fed excuse upon excuse. This has left me furious. I am not a venomous or bitter person. I am a 31 year old dog lover who's holiday has been wrecked. Please think again before booking. To prove my intentions I have posted pictures here of our mould covered furnishings.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol,
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Our caravan was lovely, clean, tidy and heating in every room which worked very efficiently. We went in the half term when the re was some horrendous rain and winds, but even so we stayed warm in our caravan. The entertainment team worked extremely hard and are a credit to the park. The indoor pool was fine. The staff were all very welcoming and helpful. It is not quite Haven standard but it is also less than half the price so what can you expect?

Room Tip: Sunbeam caravans are all new in 2010/11
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A_JBristol_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIXHAM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Having stayed at Tencreek for a week or two most years since 2005, we have never had any major complaints. If you look at the number of reviews on this website it must be a miniscule proportion of holidaymakers that are unlucky enough to have a bad holiday.
Caravans: Around 150 statics, many older but every year since we have been coming old ones are taken off and newer ones put on. We have stayed in the cheapest to the best and obviously the newer ones are better, warmer, drier and tidier. I agree with other reviewers that all caravans should be clean whatever grade they are. They must get some extreme wear and tear so maybe laminate flooring would be better than carpets which for some reason are often beige!! Holidaymakers also need to take responsibility for their own space - I mean for example, filthy surfaces sticky handles, dirty mugs etc.,as pointed out by some reviewers, surely these should not be left in that state anyway? Dirty carpets? My kids take their muddy shoes off when coming in the caravan just as they would at home. But clearly some holidaymakers treat their accommodation badly and are then likely to moan when they get less than perfect caravans the next time.
It is worth paying more for better quality caravans but peak season these can be £700 or so which is not cheap.
However, A lady in the launderette told me that the biggest moaners are 'Sun holidaymakers' on a £15 break and expecting to be given a top of the range caravan.
If your caravan is dirty ask for the head of housekeeping to come and see it, they are supposed to check each van after cleaning, so the buck stops with them.

Park: Lovely setting, beautiful sea views, clean and tidy. could do with something more attractive as you enter, as others have said, flower tubs, hanging baskets etc would soften an extremely industrial effect.
Facilities: Mediocre indoor pool, clubhouse a bit 70's but staff and kids club team are great..
Area:Looe and Polperro are gorgeous, coastal path walks, lots to do in the area and plenty of places to eat.
Overall, we like tencreek, and my standards of cleanliness are very high, shabby and worn I can acccept if thats what I pay for but dirty no, and I have never had cause to find our caravan dirty.

Room Tip: try and choose a mid to top range for newer and better caravans
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JANE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Some of the positive reviews on here are truly hilarious, I can't believe that we all stayed at the same place as this is one of the worst caravan parks we have ever been to. I particularly enjoyed the reviewer who said that the cleaning staff spend up to an hour and a half on each caravan! I would love to know what the staff were doing in our caravan for that long because they were not cleaning it. Contrary to earlier reviews the site does look like an industrial estate and is a bit of a dump especially around the reception area.
On arrival the lady in reception told my husband that the carpets were a bit muddy so they had been scrubbed before we arrived but there had not been time for a deep clean as they wouldn't have dried in time. This is a complete lie as you could tell that the carpets have never been cleaned and were still very dirty. Obviously they get regular complaints about the carpets so she tells you the little 'story' about mud so you don't go charging straight back to her to moan!
Nice sea view from the van and that is the only good thing about this park .Our caravan was horrible, the aforementioned very dirty carpet all the way through with mould growing on the beds. None of the work services and the table had been cleaned. I cleaned them myself with a lovely bottle of disinfectant and the kitchen towel was black with dirt and grime - yuk! Floor was sticky in the kitchen, the bathroom floor was vile and yes I had to clean in there too. The window in the kids bedroom leaked so they got wet in the night when it rained yet again. The tv made an awful loud whiny noise that drove us all quite mad. Door handles on the cupboards in the kitchen were sticky and grimy. The heating was useless, all huddling around the gas fire every evening trying to get warm and not succeeding. It was very damp so we couldn't get our towels dry. This van was supposed to be pet free and yet was still disgusting. Thank goodness we took our own bedding - just imagine what nasty grimy sheets we would have got!!
People on here have been saying that you get what you pay for. Well surely every caravan should actually be properly cleaned more than once a year, get the carpets deep cleaned and have no mould regardless of how much you pay. I can't think why anyone would return to this hovel of a holiday park unless you like cold, disgusting, mouldy caravans. I guess that anyone who had a good holiday here in a nice caravan is very very lucky.
We left 2 days early as we were fed up and couldn't wait to get back home! Cornwall is lovely however, we loved Polperro, Looe and the Eden Project. All worth going to as long as you stay in a nice warm cottage and not in manky cold caravans!

Room Tip: There is no way of choosing anything good about this place except to say go and stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Looe
2.2 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#2 of 2 in Polperro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.9 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.3 mi away
Trelawne Manor Holiday Park
1.5 mi away
Killigarth Manor Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tencreek Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tencreek Holiday Park

Property: Tencreek Holiday Park
Address: Polperro Road, Looe PL13 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Looe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tencreek Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful views over the sea and surrounding countryside, Tencreek Holiday Park is situated in what is believed to be one of the finest settings in the West Country. Lying close to the South Cornwall coast, in a rural but not isolated position, Tencreek Holiday Park is open all year and ideal for exploring Cornwall and South Devon.Tencreek is the closest holiday park to Looe Beach and Talland Bay and lies in Daphne du Maurier country; beyond are Bodmin Moor, Dartmoor, traditional Cornish towns, pretty beaches and picturesque ports such as Polperro and Fowey. From Tencreek you can explore so many interesting places and discover that there’s so much to see and do, and we're open All Year! We have a range of modern caravans to sleep 6 or 8, or you can bring your own touring caravan, motor home or tent to Tencreek. Whatever you choose, a great holiday awaits!Facilities includeIndoor swimming pool * Multi-Sports Pitch * Adventure Playground * Amusement Arcade * Indoor sports(darts, pool, skittles, table tennis) * Live Entertainment in the clubhouse * Kids Club * Food shop and off-license* Cafe/take-away * Modern Laundry Facilities* Free WiFi* AccommodationIndividually marked pitches for tents, caravans and motorhomesHardstandings with Electric, Water and Drainage Hook-upSeasonal Pitches availableNewly built centrally heated Heated Toilets and Shower facilities 6 and 8 berth fully equipped modern caravans for hire ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and CampingAndCo so you can book your Tencreek Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tencreek Holiday Park Hotel Looe
Tencreek Holiday Park Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing