We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
149
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomcream teaorchard cottagestream runningmince pieswoodland walkbabbling brookon siterelaxing week awayon arrivalhand soapenclosed gardenfriendly holidayclean cosypeaceful locationown devicescocker spaniel
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My husband, my mum, my sister-in-law, myself and my 12 month old son stayed at Valleybrook in June 2012. The accommodation was perfect for our needs and spotlessly clean (absolutely no need to worry about pet hairs or odours!).
Denise, Brian and Keith are very friendly and provide some lovely touches, such as the cream tea on arrival and it's great to find somewhere that doesn't charge extra for each little thing (the stair gate, cot and highchair were all free and they even loaned us a box of baby toys for the week as we couldn't take too many with us on the plane).
It was lovely to hear the stream flowing out the back and see the squirrels jumping around and the dogs being taken for walks. The gated decked area was perfect for our little one to practice his walking and the villa itself was very spacious and comfortable.
We will certainly be recommending Valleybrook to all of our friends.

Room Tip: Hocking villa (where we stayed) looks out onto the reception/laundry block, so views across the fields from the upstairs balcony are restricted, but still lovely
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jersey_Bean2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to give a wonderfully positive review following your recent stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We have just come back from a weeks holiday at Valleybrook & what can I say, it had everything you required and more, all mod-cons available, very impressed with the supply of necessities, i.e. milk, dishwasher tablets, cleaner, cloths, etc. There were 10 adults, 2 children and 2 dogs in total and Valleybrook catered for all our needs. We hired out two lodges which catered for 6 people in each. The lodges are very spacious with a large decking area, some nights all 12 of us were in the same lodge socialising, but still had plenty of space (sorry to the neighbours if we were a bit loud). It is so peaceful that we didn't surface most days till late morning as there wasn't anything to disturb your sleep, I was woken up once in the morning by a cow in the opposite field. The only two negative points were, you couldn't get any reception on your mobile unless you walked a very very steep hill, okay for fit people and we couldn't get any wifi in Chasewater lodge. These are obviously not necessary if you are wanting a nice quiet holiday away from it all, but when there is a large group of you and you need to get hold of someone or shop online it did become a bit of a nuasance. The nearest local (expensive) shop was about 2.5 miles away.
I would like to personally say a big thank you to Brian, Denise and especially Keith for sorting out the 50th birthday cake for me.
I would 100% recommend Valleybrook to all my friends and family if they are looking for a quiet, dog friendly holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Laza74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Valleybrook and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday.
We were surprised to hear that you couldn’t access wifi from Chacewater Villa as our system is designed to give wifi access in all our accommodations, we will investigate this immediately and rectify any problems we may find.
As for the limited mobile phone coverage at Valleybrook, we find that this is a bit of a Marmite issue with our guests (they either Love it or Hate it). For those guests where it is essential to stay in contact with their friends/relatives while in their accommodation, there is the option of having a telephone (with its own dedicated number) installed.
We are glad the birthday celebrations were a great success and are delighted that you are recommending us to your friends and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The overall cleanliness of our Lodge was outstanding and the little touches like supplying Washing up liquid, bags for recycling Iron Ironing board and hairdyer just made our stay that little bit easier, The cream tea on arrival with the addition of a doggy treat for Charlie our Westie made us feel really welcome, the location was lovely and quiet but not too far away from all the major places to visit whilst in Cornwall, sitting on the porch eating breakfast of a morning and being visited by 2 cheeky squirrels was quite charming, and the hosts Brian and Denise and Keith were lovely, I would highly recommend this accomodation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suec186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us at Valleybrook, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time here and appreciate your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

My husband and I and "milly"the dog, had a most enjoyable stay in Bramley cottage.
The owners were so friendly and helpful.
The cottage was spotless !!! and the cream tea on arrival was a lovely touch .
Sleeping at night was bliss,( only the occasional vehicle passing by ) and the hooting of the owls
was the only thing we heard !
It seemed like we were deep in the countryside but, we were only about 4 miles away from Looe and Polperro .
We will be returning as it was the most relaxing stay away from all the hustle and bustle of every day life we have had !

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheila b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Valleybrook, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Just returned from a fantastic week spent at valleybrook, Brian, Denise and Keith couldn't welcome us enough on arrival, this is our third year and we're already planning our next years trip.! I would recommend Valleybrook holidays to anyone who has pets and wants a peaceful retreat that feels like a home from home, they really have thought of everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Can't wait for next years holiday, it;s a lovely part of the world for a holiday and plenty to get out to see.

Room Tip: Go for the 2 bedroom villa if you have mobility issues as this accomodation is all on one level.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeanne0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valleybrook_Holidays, Owner at Valleybrook Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for the lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here and look forward to welcoming you back to Valleybrook next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews