We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Talland Bay Hotel(Porthallow)
US$326
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
145
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
145
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomcream teaorchard cottagebabbling brookstream runningmince pieswoodland walkon siteon arrivalrelaxing week awayenclosed gardenfor making our holiday specialpeaceful valleyhand soapsun decklovely touchinfo pack
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Situated in a peaceful location with a little stream running behind the lodge. Very clean with no traces of dogs or their hairs (which is very good considering most people holiday here with their dogs). A nice little cream tea gift on arrival and a couple of dog treats for the pooch. Kid friendly with a games room which has a pool table (40p a game), football (foozball) table, table tennis, darts which are all free to play. The games room is located far enough away from the lodges so no noise pollution occurs from screaming children etc. A very short distance up the hill is swingball, badminton, climbing frame and trampoline. A bit further up from that is the dog paddock where you can let your dogs off the lead for a run around (and where you can get a mobile phone signal). Close to Looe and Polperro. Every trip is an adventure as you have to negotiate narrow lanes wide enough for one car although there are numerous pass points. Our only slight negative was the intermittent wifi signal. We were in the lodge nearest the games room which is furthest from the wifi boxes so at best we had a very weak signal although most of the time we couldn't even get that. Hosts were nice and friendly and can recommend getting some steaks and burgers from the farm 500m up the road for a nice barbie (BBQ's available to borrow from reception). Rooms upstairs as others have noted were quite warm. We will be back again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BencH37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valleybrook_Holidays, Owner at Valleybrook Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us at Valleybrook, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time here and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic week in Gilliflower Villa. Very well equipped, with all mod cons (everything is evironmentaly friendly as well). The cream tea on arrival plus the dog biscuit for our little bichon Bella was such a nice touch. It's in such an idyllic place, with our friendly cows in the field next door but not too far from any of the wonderful places to visit in the surrounding countryside The playroom was a hit with our teenage boys and great for the evening as well as the wealth of DVDs, books and games for loan from reception. My only comment to improve would be maybe fans in the bedrooms, especially upstairs as it got very hot at night and as the weather was so good there wasn't a breeze at night to cool it down.
Would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone. It's a real credit to Keith, Denise and Brian

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valleybrook_Holidays, Owner at Valleybrook Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us at Valleybrook, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time here and appreciate your recommendation.
With regards to the temperature of the upstairs bedrooms, we have now fitted window restraints to all the upstairs twin bedrooms in our Villas, which allow the windows to be partially opened to regulate the temperature, without compromising safety by letting them open too far.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

we feel very lucky to have found such a lovely place to stay that accepted ALL the family including four legged ones, this is just what we needed after a very stressful year it was so nice to see the whole family so relaxed especially seeing my husband smiling and laughing as he suffers with depression so haven't seen that for a while the facilities are amazing for all the family (DVDs, books, board games, game room, playground etc.) and what a lovely touch and a welcome sight on arrival to have cream tea's and even a treat for the dog (two dog biscuits) we would most definitely come back if denise, keith and brian could cope with us as i know the kids can be a bit mischievous at times but loved the rolling competition on the dog pen, we will be singing your praises when we get home to all our friends and family thank you all for such a brilliant time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valleybrook_Holidays, Owner at Valleybrook Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to give a wonderfully positive review following your recent stay with us. I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that you have left feeling so relaxed. We all look forward to welcoming you back before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We have just spent 5 days at Valleybrook staying in the Gilliflower Villa with our 2 girls age 3 and 6 months. Accommodation at Valleybrook offers superb value for money, is situated in a lovely setting and is well located to explore a wide area of Cornwall. On the plus side for people with a young family: very clean, ample storage in bedrooms, well-equipped kitchen, supermarkets deliver, nice play area and lovely wood and meadowland to explore, self contained decking and garden area. Things to bear in mind (not necessarily negatives!): anticipate the upstairs bedrooms get quite warm in the warm weather (it was raining when we stayed!), I'd be hesitant of leaving upstairs bedroom windows open in twin room if children on their own as easy to climb/fall out of (key for window locks was supplied). Hand soap not supplied (although dishwasher tabs, washing up liquid is). Charges for using the washing machine a bit prohibitive (£4+). Overall, a lovely stay and we were made to feel very welcome. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pippa12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valleybrook_Holidays, Owner at Valleybrook Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of Valleybrook, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time here.
Thank you for brining the issue of the temperature of the upstairs bedrooms to our attention. We have now fitted window restraints to all the upstairs twin bedrooms in our Villas, which allow the windows to be partially opened to regulate the temperature, without compromising safety by letting them open too far.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My husband, my mum, my sister-in-law, myself and my 12 month old son stayed at Valleybrook in June 2012. The accommodation was perfect for our needs and spotlessly clean (absolutely no need to worry about pet hairs or odours!).
Denise, Brian and Keith are very friendly and provide some lovely touches, such as the cream tea on arrival and it's great to find somewhere that doesn't charge extra for each little thing (the stair gate, cot and highchair were all free and they even loaned us a box of baby toys for the week as we couldn't take too many with us on the plane).
It was lovely to hear the stream flowing out the back and see the squirrels jumping around and the dogs being taken for walks. The gated decked area was perfect for our little one to practice his walking and the villa itself was very spacious and comfortable.
We will certainly be recommending Valleybrook to all of our friends.

Room Tip: Hocking villa (where we stayed) looks out onto the reception/laundry block, so views across the fields from the upstairs balcony are restricted, but still lovely
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jersey_Bean2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to give a wonderfully positive review following your recent stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews