We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second trip was even better than the first!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meneglaze Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 53 Looe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Second trip was even better than the first!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Fantastic !!!!!
We can not get enough of this lovely B&B, we went for the first time last September, and loved it !!
We have just arrived home after ten wonderful nights with Caroline & Peter, they made us so welcome from day one. There standard is so high, everything is immaculate, the breakfast is so delicious cooked by Caroline, lovely mushrooms ! Roll on next year , we will be back !
We love the location, beautiful sandy beech. Found the most amazing fish & chips at Kelly's restaurant, ice cream was good too ! Eve and Bob

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    30
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
275
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were very fortunate to have chosen to stay at the Meneglaze guesthouse. The location is excellent as it is within comfortable walking distance into the picturesque town of Looe. The service was also highly commendable - most helpful and considerate - both Caroline and her husband deserve praise for their great efforts in looking after the guests - the place is clean and well maintained. Even though our room is small and the bathroom is very tiny, we didn't have a problem with it as it is very functional. We thoroughly enjoyed the full Cornish hot breakfast - including the hog's pudding - very tasty. If you do go to Looe, be sure to stay at the excellent Meneglaze Guesthouse.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscerningFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Caroline's love for her property, Looe and life in general knows no bounds, what a lovely, happy person. That is not to take anything away from Peter who kindly offered to let us park our car, despite arriving into Looe at only 10AM.

The location is excellent, only a few moments walk and the breakfast is by far the best (and most plentiful) i have eaten in the whole of cornwall.

The room had fresh milk, thoughtfully placed inside the fridge in the room. We also had a jar of home made cookies!

This is the only B&B i have ever seen (anywhere) that allows you to bring your own food - such as the world famous fish & chips - back to the hotel and use the cutlery & condiments while eating it in their dinning room, what a lovely thought.

I have removed 1 star, but think it should be more like half to three-quarters of a star only if i could do this, due to the size of the bathroom (we had room 4 on the top floor). ITS TINY and you can nearly get 2 hands in the sink at the same time as well as having to squeeze past the sink to get to the loo.

On the whole a great find and yes we would certainly go back if visiting Looe again and wanted to stay in the town....ps Go to the glide pub at the end of their road and say hello to Charlie the chocolate Labrador ;-))

Room Tip: If size of bathroom is important - ask for other than Room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123happyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I travelled to Looe for a three night stay at Meneglaze. I had read all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor so decided this was definitely the place for us. We were greeted by Caroline and, despite being earlier than expected, the rooms were ready and a pot of tea and home made biscuits were served to us outside in the sunshine. Our room was bright, beautifully decorated and had all the 'extra' touches. 'Proper' cups and saucers, a good choice of teas/coffee etc. Home made biccies, a jug of fresh milk in our mini- fridge daily, and even a dish of sweets (replenished daily). The bedding was dazzling in its whiteness and the bed so comfy. The shower room was a bit on the small side, but as my husband and I are a bit on the large side....maybe average size!!! Our breakfasts were delicious, served by Peter, with great patience and good humour. They are a wonderful couple and my daughter and husband have already booked in for August....I cant see it being our last visit there either...cannot recommend them highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

If you are looking for a B&B with immaculate linen and bedrooms, plus an excellent breakfast then look no further. But you will also benefit from the ideal location within walking distance of Looe. But what will outshine all this is the warm welcome given by Peter and Caroline who must do the job because they love it!

Room Tip: We had a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A very well run B&B by Peter & Caroline, room was a bit small but nice and clean with an en-suite,

Breakfast was very good and service to match.

Located about a 5 minute walk from the centre of Looe but in a nice quite loctation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrueTravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We arrived by train - the B&B is a conveniently short walk from Looe Station (and East Looe itself). We received a very warm welcome from Caroline and a tray of tea/coffee/biscuits. The room was impeccably clean. A tray containing tea/coffee making gear (and homemade biscuits) was provided together with a Britta jug full of water in the fridge. The bathroom boasted a fine array of herbal soaps/gels. The bed was clean and comfortable. Breakfast (served by Peter and cooked by Caroline) was superb. What's not to like?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moley1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Looe hotels
0.4 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
459 reviews
2.3 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
864 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hannafore Point Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cherrywood Lodge
Cherrywood Lodge
#2 of 53 in Looe
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meneglaze Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meneglaze Bed & Breakfast

Property: Meneglaze Bed & Breakfast
Address: Shutta, Looe PL14 4RS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Meneglaze Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Meneglaze Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meneglaze Bed & Breakfast Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing