We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meneglaze B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Meneglaze B&B
Ranked #4 of 60 Looe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Staying at the Meneglaze at the moment, this our fourth time staying here with, Caroline and Dave. This place is a jewel, we love it. We have stayed in many B &Bs over the years and can safely say this is the best! If you like clean, well appointed rooms, a great location, fantastic breakfast & the most friendly owners with a great welcome, this is the place for you... Caroline & Peter are just lovely. 10 out of 10. If your coming down to Looe we would highly recommend the Meneglaze. Mick & Jo Shrewsbury.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    22
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
235
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Fantastic !!!!!
We can not get enough of this lovely B&B, we went for the first time last September, and loved it !!
We have just arrived home after ten wonderful nights with Caroline & Peter, they made us so welcome from day one. There standard is so high, everything is immaculate, the breakfast is so delicious cooked by Caroline, lovely mushrooms ! Roll on next year , we will be back !
We love the location, beautiful sandy beech. Found the most amazing fish & chips at Kelly's restaurant, ice cream was good too ! Eve and Bob

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were very fortunate to have chosen to stay at the Meneglaze guesthouse. The location is excellent as it is within comfortable walking distance into the picturesque town of Looe. The service was also highly commendable - most helpful and considerate - both Caroline and her husband deserve praise for their great efforts in looking after the guests - the place is clean and well maintained. Even though our room is small and the bathroom is very tiny, we didn't have a problem with it as it is very functional. We thoroughly enjoyed the full Cornish hot breakfast - including the hog's pudding - very tasty. If you do go to Looe, be sure to stay at the excellent Meneglaze Guesthouse.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscerningFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Caroline's love for her property, Looe and life in general knows no bounds, what a lovely, happy person. That is not to take anything away from Peter who kindly offered to let us park our car, despite arriving into Looe at only 10AM.

The location is excellent, only a few moments walk and the breakfast is by far the best (and most plentiful) i have eaten in the whole of cornwall.

The room had fresh milk, thoughtfully placed inside the fridge in the room. We also had a jar of home made cookies!

This is the only B&B i have ever seen (anywhere) that allows you to bring your own food - such as the world famous fish & chips - back to the hotel and use the cutlery & condiments while eating it in their dinning room, what a lovely thought.

I have removed 1 star, but think it should be more like half to three-quarters of a star only if i could do this, due to the size of the bathroom (we had room 4 on the top floor). ITS TINY and you can nearly get 2 hands in the sink at the same time as well as having to squeeze past the sink to get to the loo.

On the whole a great find and yes we would certainly go back if visiting Looe again and wanted to stay in the town....ps Go to the glide pub at the end of their road and say hello to Charlie the chocolate Labrador ;-))

Room Tip: If size of bathroom is important - ask for other than Room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123happyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I travelled to Looe for a three night stay at Meneglaze. I had read all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor so decided this was definitely the place for us. We were greeted by Caroline and, despite being earlier than expected, the rooms were ready and a pot of tea and home made biscuits were served to us outside in the sunshine. Our room was bright, beautifully decorated and had all the 'extra' touches. 'Proper' cups and saucers, a good choice of teas/coffee etc. Home made biccies, a jug of fresh milk in our mini- fridge daily, and even a dish of sweets (replenished daily). The bedding was dazzling in its whiteness and the bed so comfy. The shower room was a bit on the small side, but as my husband and I are a bit on the large side....maybe average size!!! Our breakfasts were delicious, served by Peter, with great patience and good humour. They are a wonderful couple and my daughter and husband have already booked in for August....I cant see it being our last visit there either...cannot recommend them highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

If you are looking for a B&B with immaculate linen and bedrooms, plus an excellent breakfast then look no further. But you will also benefit from the ideal location within walking distance of Looe. But what will outshine all this is the warm welcome given by Peter and Caroline who must do the job because they love it!

Room Tip: We had a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

A very well run B&B by Peter & Caroline, room was a bit small but nice and clean with an en-suite,

Breakfast was very good and service to match.

Located about a 5 minute walk from the centre of Looe but in a nice quite loctation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrueTravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Looe hotels
2.3 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.6 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cherrywood Lodge
Cherrywood Lodge
#1 of 60 in Looe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little Mainstone Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meneglaze B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meneglaze B&B

Property: Meneglaze B&B
Address: Shutta, Looe PL14 4RS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Meneglaze B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Meneglaze B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meneglaze B&B Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing