We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bed & Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 54 Looe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed in the "Lookout Room" for 2 nights (July 2013) This was an absolutely great bed and breakfast. The room was spotless, great views, really comfortable super king size bed, very modern and clean decor and a good size for a B&B. Power shower in the ensuite was really good and you have a parking space.
The owners were brilliant right from start, the breakfast was unbelievabley good. Every diet catered for.
Great location, very central.
Recommend doing the coastal walk from Looe to Polperro (5 miles) with a swim and lunch in Talland Bay, which you will come across 3/4 of the way in.
Strongly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: The "Lookout Room" was brilliant, I never had a chance to see any other rooms. But great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

This place came recommended by a random traveller and we are so glad we took the advice and were lucky enough to find a space for 4 of us. From the time we arrived we were given A1 treatment. Dave and carol went out of their way to ensure all our needs were met plus all the little extras. The rooms were luxurious with special touches that made our stay very memorable. Breakfast was amazing - we even got a slice of freshly baked cake to take with us on our travels. You will be hard pressed to find anything better!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dargs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed for two nights and as other review have stated, this beautiful B & B is a credit to Carol and Dave. From beginning to end our stay was faultless, from the warm welcome, to the tea and cake on arrival to the help with ALL our luggage! The whole place is spotless, decorated and furnished to a very high standard. The bed was so comfortable we wanted to take it home with us! Breakfast was excellent with great choices and lovely fresh local ingredients, Carol's home made cakes are yummy. All the little extra touches in the room are well thought out, many of which you would not find in some hotels. Ideal location with beautiful views, parking at rear which is a must in Looe.
Would highly recommend Schooner point and would love to stay again if we visit Looe again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEW62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Personal welcome with tea and cakes, beautifully decorated home, spotless room, wonderful river view, yummy food, bags carried for us. Good location near everything. Who could ask for more? Carol and Dave are the best! We didn't want to leave. Can't recommend Schooner Point enough.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jphoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

a wonderful few days away,schooner point was a real treat,the views was spectacular,the food was exceptional, our room was absolutely gorgeous.Carol and Dave was very welcoming couldn't ask for better hosts.the homemade cakes was a real treat as was the packed lunches yummy....everything from when we arrived until we left was faultless.We have even treated my parents to a stay in the fabulous b&b...top quality stay .thankyou both .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shamone20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My (now) wife and I chose Schooner Point as the accomodation for our wedding in Looe, we were accompanied by our daughter and four friends, all of whom stayed in this beautiful, excellent guest house.
Like so many of the hotels and B&B's, it clings to the cliffside as it sweeps down to the River Looe, and this position offers views over the river and the town that stay in your memory and your heart for ever.
Each of the rooms offers a different view, which quite literally changes daily and opening the curtains each morning is like turning the page of a book. Each room is of generous proportions, contemporarily decorated, but the genuine charm of the building has been retained, one can almost imgine oneself living a BBC period drama.
An emphasis has been placed upon locally sourced goods and an environmentally sustainable business, the result being robust, well cooked breakfasts made from ingredients raised and produced in some of the best farmland this country has to offer... and it shows! A full English breakfast will see you well into the afternoon before you feel peckish again. We; unfortunately; didn't sample the packed lunches (a great idea to offer), but when reading the menu they sounded delicious, filling, and very good value for money. Given the food we sampled during our stay, I have no doubt the said lunches would prove to be of a superior standard.
I must also add, the cakes offered with breakfast were astounding, so much so we leapt at the chance of taking some away with us!
As I have mentioned, our party travelled to Looe for the wedding of my wife and I. We had planned a very small, informal, intimate occasion, involving only our daughter and very close friends. Quite obviously our accomodation wouldbe a large contributor to the success of the event. I can not highlight enough the lengths Carol and Dave went to, to help make our weekend run smoothly, to make us feel welcome, at ease and at home. There is a genuine warmth about them both, and their friendliness and cheer is natural.
I really cannot speak highly enough of Schooner Point, it will remain in our hearts for ever and we are looking forward to visiting again, hopefully for our anniversary, if Ladbrookes or Camelot do us a favour, maybe before!

Thank you both, from the bottom of our hearts...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeantheBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed here at Christmas and felt guilty not having done a review cos it's a really nice place. Rooms are clean and spacious, nice bowl of chocolates (Roses - yummy!), tele, dvd, wifi and Carol and Dave made a huge effort to welcome and make us feel at home. Breakfast was yummy, just have the full English and blow the calories - don't bother with less (though the fresh fruit salad was nice too)! Looe is a beautiful little village (town?) that straddles the river (Looe I think). The Schooner is great for visiting it -just 3 minutes from the centre. Poor things, there was a landslip on the railway track while we were there so it was very quiet. It certainly fullfilled a wish of mine to revisit Looe for which I had fond memories after a childhood holiday there en famille. We live in France, by the way, and the restaurants there (see my reviews) are way up there with current French restauarant offerings. Don't worry about East or West Looe, by the way, they're so close it doesn't matter.

Room Tip: The view of Looe is worth asking for - can't remember if they all have it but it's worth pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AubergeDesCayrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Looe hotels
0.2 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
474 reviews
2.0 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
885 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hannafore Point Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
2.5 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cherrywood Lodge
Cherrywood Lodge
#1 of 54 in Looe
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast

Address: Polperro Road | 1 Trelawney Terrace, Looe PL13 2AG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Price Range: £68 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a relaxed, comfortable and friendly guest house offering you first class accommodation with an enviable position on the hillside of West Looe with fabulous views. Our rooms are spacious, tastefully furnished and complimented with quality linens and luxury towels. All within a few minutes stroll to the harbour, beach, shops, restaurants and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Point Bed & Breakfast Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing