We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Welcome and Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bridgeside Guest House
Ranked #14 of 54 Looe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was a surprising find on the spur of the moment, we decided to extend a stay in Cornwall and looked at Looe. The previous online reviews raved about the welcome and the breakfasts so we decided to book. We were not disappointed. Sammy, as he did with other guests, called us after we booked online to change our room to a view of the harbour. On arrival, Sammy couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful. We were served with complimentary drinks by Sammy and after settling into our room, we enjoyed a friendly chat, drink and guide to Looe. Our room was at the top of the building, there are several flights of stairs internally as well as those from the high street to the entrance of the B&B so guests may want to consider this when booking, although climbing the stairs was worth it as the room had an amazing view. The only downside was that the street was a bit noisy late at night, I sleep with the window open so this did disturb my sleep but this noise was significantly reduced with the window shut. The breakfast was good, plenty of options and the service was good. Sammy is an excellent host, extremely friendly and we had a fantastic time sitting on the patio chatting to the other guests - we were fortunate to have amazing weather and the B&B has a great patio with views over the street and harbour which made our stay very relaxing. The B&B has a bar and the prices are good, so we had wiled away a few hours sitting in the sun on the patio with a drink! The B&B doesn't have it's own parking but there are a number of car parks available very near by so you can drop your bags off and then park-up. Would recommend a stay here, very friendly and great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 147DawnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

What a pretty place Looe is,BUT be warned, if your car is large, park in the car parks and walk everywhere. It was hair raising following the GPS to the hotel which said there was parking but you do have to pay for it and it is not at the front door. Apart from that, which is hardly their fault, Bridgeside Guest House was pretty nice, clean, and had a lovely view from the front balcony. I did find the bed lacking an element of comfort and the water went a bit hot and cold on me in the shower, had to share a bathroom where someone had dropped a fair bit of sand on the floor which stayed there for a while but no issue really. Nice breakfasts, the staff are lovely and I thought it was overall good value. Nice. Thank you Sammy and team.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed just the one night on our way to Brixham and found the Bridgeside and found it very comfortable and extremely friendly and well appointed, To top it off the breakfast was top notch, will defiantly go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Booked this guest house for my parents for one night on the 5th April 14. They haven't even left looe yet, and they've already phoned to say how Great the place is. "The owner is so friendly and welcoming! And the hospitality and cleanliness was out of this world". They also catered for my celiac mother! Which we didn't expect from a small guest house. They enjoyed it that much there looking to return again very soon! I booked it for them as it was cheap £66 (right in the centre of looe with a great view) & cheerful and it was only a bed as i would of thought they would be out most of the time! But they said it was perfect! So they would definitely stay again!! thankyou!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessicadavis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

we have just returned from the bridgeside guest house in looe, we have stayed in lots of guest houses in looe and this is by far the best one we have stayed in the rooms are spotlessly clean the breakfast are freshly cooked and plenty of it we found Sammy the perfect host nothing was too much trouble for him the offer of tea or coffee every time we come in from our walks in our opinion this is a five star guest house we will return again and I would recommend to family and friends well done Sammy see you soon tony and june

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank june l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Spent 1 evening at the Bridgeside Guest House without having booked prior to arrival couldnt have chosen a better place to stay. Sammy was brilliant very helpful and extremely friendly would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brooksie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed at The Bridgeside for Valentines evening, a fantastic location and a great feel to the accommodation. Lovely people, nothing too much trouble . We stayed in Room 2 which was really spacious and nicely decorated. Great views across the bridge and water. A lovely touch from the owner Sammy, a bottle of red left in our room, we thought that was such a kind gesture. So would definitely recommend this guesthouse as we had a great stay and a wonderful breakfast . You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Room 2 was super
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Looe hotels
0.1 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hannafore Point Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Mainstone Guest House
0.1 mi away
Dolphin House
Dolphin House
#16 of 54 in Looe
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cherrywood Lodge
Cherrywood Lodge
#1 of 54 in Looe
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgeside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgeside Guest House

Address: Bridgeside Fore Street | East looe. Cornwall, Looe PL13 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Price Range: £62 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridgeside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run 8 bedroomed Victorian house situated in the heart of East Looe, occupying one of the best positions in town with fantastic views across the harbour and the famous bridge which links East and West Looe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Bridgeside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgeside Guest House Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing