We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bridgeside Guest House Looe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bridgeside Guest House
Ranked #14 of 54 Looe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Very dissapointing,we had booked for 5 nights ,but Im afraid 1 night was too much,Samy the owner was a lovely friendly guy and we had room 7 , which had a lovely view over the estuary ,BUT the downsides were , the room was tiny,the so called wi fi would only connect if you sat on the floor by the door,and as for the on suite ,tatty was the word, shower was old and where the wall tiles join the base there was a line of black mould around, the fixtures and fittings looked like they had been picked up at a jumble sale, also the cooked breakfast was very poor ,couldnt eat the mushrooms because of a strange taste , I think they were old,and the tea was like dishwater,needless to say we wont be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MGSteve56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

First impression.. dead hanging baskets & plants outside...coming in to peak season not a good impression
Room dark...just a wall as a view...sleep disturbed by balcony above (people moving chairs & talking)..shower in room..small space...shower curtain too heavy for supporting rail when wet,,..floor got soaking...breakfast was ok...maybe need to look at having better quality bacon...a bit disappointing after reading reviews.... on a positive note the host was very friendly

Room Tip: don't have room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Booked a two night stay in a double en-suite via toprooms.com, expecting a front facing room that matched the photo alongside the description on that particular site.

Arrived to find we had been allocated room 3 to the rear of the house on the 1st floor, but told that if we were disappointed with room 3 we could stay the first night in a front facing double room on the floor above.

Not liking the idea of switching rooms the next day I took a look at both rooms. There was a significant difference... maybe I was simply disappointed not to have a lovely view over Looe, or perhaps the brilliant sunshine both outside and flooding into the front facing room above made room 3 appear darker than it was, but the room certainly seemed dim and uninviting.

To be fair to the owner, she did appear to appreciate our disappointment and secured us a lovely front facing double en-suite room at Dolphin House just a few doors away for the same price we had expected to pay for our online booking i.e. £150.00 for the two nights.

Although we paid a deposit of £75.00 to toprooms, the Bridgeside refunded us with £50.00 in cash, retaining £25.00 to cover their own online costs.

My honest advice would be for prospective guests to study the Bridgeside's own website, and avoid the use of any online agents. Not only are the rooms fully described, they are cheaper and the prices are a better reflection of the establishment itself. Had I thought to search and check the Bridgeside's own website I would have avoided the disappointment and embarrassment I encountered on arrival.

I will describe our actual stay at Dolphin House in a separate review here on Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: Study the Bridgeside's own website for a more accurate description of each room, and book direct...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank I C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Excellent, friendly greeting, Dave and Sammy could not have been more welcoming. Very relaxed, very good overall service, with a great breakfast service. Really great overall value as a good location in town, near the bridge and overlooking the river also. Had the room at the front, top floor to the left, nice sitting and watching the people and boats go by.

Room Tip: Ask for river view, ther are several.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here for two nights. The guesthouse is in a great location, just a minutes walk to shops, restaurants and the beach.

We were greeted on arrival by friendly staff who offered to help with luggage and recommended some lovely places to eat. We were a bit confused by the parking situation, but the staff quickly gave us directions to the closest long stay car parks, only a 2 minute walk away.

The room was fab, a good size and very clean and breakfast in the morning was great.

All together we had a great stay and can't think of a bad thing to say about Bridgeside Guesthouse!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lu199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was delighted with this little find. Friendly & accommodating, they let us put our bikes in the hallway so they were secure. Our room was fantastic - overlooking the river, really good size room with lots of natural light. And the people were so friendly. All in all, excellent. If I come back to Looe (which I'd love to, it's a lovely place) then I will definitely stay here again. Excellent coffee, too. Many thanks!

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the front overlooking the river. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good hosts with a large clean bedroom and adequate ensuite.All rooms have flat screen tv's but these are not big enough for the size of the room so we were not able to watch it. Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked.The biggest problem for us was the lack of car parking although this is not just for this hotel but for most hotels in looe.We had to park in a public pay and display car park about 5minutes away.Would we stay again...probably not.

Room Tip: Over looking the harbour we overlooked a building site next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Looe hotels
0.2 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
505 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hannafore Point Hotel
0.1 mi away
Little Mainstone Guest House
0.2 mi away
Trehaven Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgeside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgeside Guest House

Address: Bridgeside Fore Street | East looe. Cornwall, Looe PL13 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Price Range: £53 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridgeside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run 8 bedroomed Victorian house situated in the heart of East Looe, occupying one of the best positions in town with fantastic views across the harbour and the famous bridge which links East and West Looe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Bridgeside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgeside Guest House Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing