We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute Joy”
Review of The Lookout

The Lookout
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in Looe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £2 - £7
Description: We have a passion for great coffee, great food and great customer service. Our menu features locally and ethically sourced food around Looe. We've been told that we provide the best coffee, most scrumptious breakfasts, lunches & cakes and we're the friendliest coffee shop in Looe. Although it sounds a little twee, people arrive as customers and leave as friends. You should come along and see for yourself. We can't wait to welcome you. - Adrian & Lucy and our amazing crew
Restaurant details
Description: We have a passion for great coffee, great food and great customer service. Our menu features locally and ethically sourced food around Looe. We've been told that we provide the best coffee, most scrumptious breakfasts, lunches & cakes and we're the friendliest coffee shop in Looe. Although it sounds a little twee, people arrive as customers and leave as friends. You should come along and see for yourself. We can't wait to welcome you. - Adrian & Lucy and our amazing crew
Reviewed 26 August 2021 via mobile

My wife and I called in to get a couple of hot drinks plus a frappe each. It was busy yet the owner Adrian made us and everyone there, feel very welcome, the coffees and frappes were delicious, service was great but what sets this apart from others is the owner Adrian, he clearly loves his vocation, and knows and practices great customer service. Highly recommend people pay him and his outstanding team a visit, you will not regret it. Cheers Adrian, we will be back very soon. 👏👏👏

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Lookout, Owner at The Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2021

It was a joy to meet you. Thank you for your lovely feedback. We’re incredibly proud of our team. Looking forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2021

We stumbled on The Lookout on the first night of our holiday and we are so pleased we did.

Adrian and his team are brilliant hosts and made us feel welcome from the moment we walked in. For this reason we returned on numerous occasions during our stay, sampling breakfast, afternoon tea (trying Adrian’s homemade scones is a must), as well as a large range of the local drinks they have to offer.

It is clear they have a real passion to support the local community in sourcing top quality ingredients, which was really nice to see.

Five star, friendly, service was always received from all of the team. Nothing was ever too much and they would always take time out to have a chat and make you feel welcome. It was therefore no surprise to see that it was always busy.

It is fair to say that finding this place really made our week and we will certainly be returning in the near future.

We honestly cannot recommend The Lookout enough.

Thanks again and see you all soon,

Kevin and Melissa Ward

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank wardich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Lookout, Owner at The Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2021

Thank you so so much. It was a real joy to see you and thank you for making our week so much fun too.
You need to return to try the other gins.

Adrian & Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2021 via mobile

A truly fantastic breakfast, sat by the side of the quay, with excellent friendly waitresses. The full Cornish let me full all day, and I take some filling. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank 579oliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Lookout, Owner at The Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2021

Thank you so much, glad it filled you up. We're very proud of our team.

Adrian & Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2021 via mobile

MAY 2021
We’ve been to Looe so many times yet we wander past many places without stopping, I’m so glad that we decided to stop at The Lookout for a hot chocolate. Not only was the hot chocolate amazing, so was the tiffin! With the sun shining and overlooking the estuary what could be better? A biscuit for the dog and friendly staff as well. It’s all about the people.

We also saw the scones (although I’m sure Adrian the owner called it a scone as in gone rather than scone as in cone). So the next day after a walk from Looe Bay caravan park to Milendreath and along the coast path to Looe we had to stop for a cream tea. The scones taste even better than they look. We had a out of tea and the kids had some fancy hot chocolates. Another chat with Adrian and a table booked for a few days time.

Be sure to visit The Lookout and take in Looe.

AUGUST 2021
We had to return and of course had another cream tea. Staff friendly and welcoming, dog biscuit for Benji and a lovely time. We then had sandwiches inside a couple of days later as it was raining (typically the sun shined while we ate), sausage for Benji today. Again great staff, great atmosphere, great location and great food.

Relaxed, laid back and a must visit - just what you want when on holiday in Cornwall.

Oh, and as Adrian says “there’s no calories in Cornwall” so fill up!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank ScottElliot10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Lookout, Owner at The Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2021

Oh my gosh what a lovely review. Thank you so much. You’re always welcome here (but you must bring Benji!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2021 via mobile

Experience spoilt by very cheap breakfast. Tiny portions of poor quality. It wouldn’t have cost that much more to provide an unforgettable experience.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank voyagermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Lookout, Owner at The Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2021

Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff but I'm so sorry you felt let down about our breakfasts.

I notice you ate with us in June yet it took you until August to write your review. Was there a reason for such a delay? What did you have that you thought was a tiny portion? We’ve never had complaints before on this matter. Equally, if you’d raised your opinion at the time we could have endeavoured to remedy any complaint you had there and then.

I also refute your comment about poor food quality; the ingredients to our breakfasts are of premium quality and locally sourced, we’ve used the same suppliers since we opened in May 2020.

If you'd like to come back then we will endeavour to give your the unforgettable experience you desired and that which has prompted the 80+ positive reviews we've had previous to yours. We'll even throw in the drinks for free.

Yours
Adrian&Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lookout also viewed

 

Been to The Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.