We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View”
Review of Tom Sawyer's Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Tom Sawyer's Restaurant and Bar
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Wisbech Saint Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were in a classic car and wanted somewhere we could park nearby. Not always easy in Looe!
This pub fitted the bill nicely and it had a lovely view. Three ales on tap.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FalmouthLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    24
    13
    6
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil,Wales,UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value for money!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner have just spent 2 nights here. The room was lovely, very clean and nicely decorated. The en suite has a double shower. The views out of the full length windows are lovely, overlooking the sea. Only slight criticism is you feel like you are in a goldfish bowl with people looking in but then I bet they were jealous we were staying in such a nice room!
Breakfast is usual cereals, juice, toast etc and the full English is huge!
We ate in one night and enjoyed our meal, my partner had scampi chips and salad and I had steak and chips and trimmings. It was cooked nicely and we enjoyed it... I'd call it typical pub grub! They had live music there that night and We had a good night
The room was excellent value for money at £70 for a double room b&b. would definitely stay here again
Kim and Paul

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nuttywelshgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Had a Sunday lunch here and it was lovely
My only complaint was not enough meat - but the meat i did get was really good
Lovely views - we were lucky enough to get a window seat on an amazingly beautiful day.
Was nice to have a drink outside before our meal
Good value too - 3 carvery, 3 desserts, 2 rounds of drinks £48
Will be back next year

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jayne2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't go here for fish and chips or if you are in a hurry.”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Terrible fish and chips and management dismissive of criticism. Also very long wait. You had to pay up front so no opportunity to withhold anything from the bill.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank carols33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Visited recently, lengthy delay for food and when it did arrive it was absolutely terrible. Lasagne looked and tasted like it had been microwaved to death, steaks tasted burnt and chips and veg all pre cooked. What a shame, the location is good but I would avoid this so called restaurant at all costs.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Dalton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tom Sawyer's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing