We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good not unique expensive”
Review of The Fish Market

The Fish Market
Ranked #7 of 90 Restaurants in Looe
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fresh fish so a limited menu. Small taster plates with Interesting flavours and care over presentation, friendly local staff and accessible chef. But small, very small, plates meant an early evening supper with wine was approaching £100 a head. Pleased to have tried it but hey, similar offerings in Newlyn and Fowey at half the cost.

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank 848nigelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2024 via mobile

The fish plates Fred creates in this small restaurant are simply sensational. We visited 2 evenings on the trot, it was so good. His buffalo monk fish is gorgeous, the haddock fish cakes just as good.

Another glory are Fred's potatoes, a must order, which are the best I've ever tasted.

Make sure you book. It's not very big and not open every day of the week.

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank NickA1782
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2024

Best fish we’ve ever eaten! And sitting at the bar so we could watch Fred and Dan work the kitchen and chat with them was special. Fish so fresh, straight out of the English Channel in the Looe Bay. Do not miss!

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2024 via mobile

Do not miss this place if you’re within driving distance. It is amazing, and Fred the Chef outstanding, as is his team! Delicious!!!

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank dianaholbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2024

Been a few times before, But I think the chef has lost his way a bit. Sat down at 8 o’clock , Food bottle of wine et cetera paid and out the door in under 45 minutes. Not an experience, a lot of things on the menu are fried food as well, very different to what it was in 2023 and 2022.
I’m afraid a vote with my feet for next visit in June .

80s music was excellent though

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phil499485
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to The Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.