We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“13th Century Built, Plenty of Character & Clean!”
Review of Tidal Court B&B

Tidal Court B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Looe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tidal Court B&B
Ranked #27 of 53 Looe B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“13th Century Built, Plenty of Character & Clean!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Family of 4 needed somewhere to stay in an emergency, didn't fancy a 4 hour drive to Wales. Made a call 6:30pm in the evening, we had a great welcome from Mother and Son, show through a 13th Century fishermans Cottages, to our rooms double with fridge & bathroom with a shower and the twin room with Single beds plenty of room with a shower and toilet outside for our room only. Fantastic full breakfast and enormous variety of breakfast cereals and jams with a big pot of tea, coffee or fruit juice to wash it down. Check out at 10am. Will definitely be booking up again! Typically old fashioned B&B that's very qwerky!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
20
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shepshed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely place ! A bit out of date but it is just a plus if u looking for something traditional .all them franchise places is so boring.very welcoming atmosphere and friendly hosts! Nice and feeling breakfast .dog friendly.everything what I had to ask !

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalia500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Every time we go to Looe we always check into the Tidal Court B & B. I agree with some of the reviewers. It is as if time has stood still - so what this isn't London it's Looe but, having said that the owners are friendly, the rooms clean and breakfast is lovely and plentiful. If there is just one thing we could change it would be the mattress. The bed was hard and lumpy, it made a noise every time we moved! my husband who has a bad back had a very uncomfortable night so please, try and change the mattresses for more comfortable ones. This B & B is positioned in West Looe on it's lower quay at the back of the Fire Station. It is ideal for those who want a level base as Looe is quite hilly. When the small ferry doesn't run ie in the winter and late evening (Cost £0.50) you would need to walk around the quay and over the bridge to East Looe where there are plentiful pubs, shops and Restaurants etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnandPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

For the price this is a typical Budget B&B. £60 for B&B in Looe is not bad at all.
Very much in need of an update as time has stood still, but it is very clean.
I suffer with my back and found the bed very uncomfortable.
Breakfast was good, but there are not enough tables in the breakfast room so we sat in one of the helpers bedroom/lounge which was a little surreal with all of their shoes/bits/family photos etc in.
John who runs it is very pleasant.
Cannot say much more other than you get what you pay for and its clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TraceyandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I recently stayed at this traditional gem of a B&B while walking the South Cornwall coast. The twin room was so large it felt like a mini-apartment. Spotlessly clean and everything was in full operational order; the breakfast was also very well cooked. You honestly couldn't find better accommodation for less than £30 a night per person. Out hostess Bridget was thoroughly charming too; I am hoping to stay here again for the Looe festival this coming New Year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MRFThorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

Needed a B&B in an emergency that would also take our dog. Found this on the Internet and booked for 2 nights. Old fashioned in a good sense. Bridget is a real gem. Very welcoming and really looked after us. Wonderful breakfast. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davesalt1060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed at this b&b August 2011 and found it to be a comfortable place to stay. The room was clean and had tv and kettle also a mini fridge.
The breakfeast was to dye for it is excellent and you find after it dont need to eat untill evening as it is very filling.
I had a parking space every night while we stayed which was for 7 days.
Bridget & John are very welcoming and full of recomendations on where to go to visit.
You are just a short walk from river and ferry if you want to take easy route over to east looe, we mixed it up some nights we walked round. The are plenty places to go eat and drink at , and enough shops to look around to past the time.
We enjoyed are stay so much we have booked to go back july 2012 for two weeks, cant wait to get there

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Looe hotels
0.3 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#5 of 7 in Looe
259 reviews
2.2 mi away
Penvith Barns
Penvith Barns
#10 of 53 in Looe
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cherrywood Lodge
Cherrywood Lodge
#1 of 53 in Looe
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Little Harbour Guest House
0.2 mi away
Bridgeside Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Old Malt House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidal Court B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidal Court B&B

Property: Tidal Court B&B
Address: Tidal Court 3 Church Street, Looe PL13 2EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Hotel Class:3 star — Tidal Court B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, traditional Cornish bed & breakfast owned and run by Bridget and John Hocking. A stones throw from the river and beaches of Looe,the guest house is in great location on the level. Tidal Court is centuries old, and was previously the old fish shop of West Looe. The Jolly Sailor pub steeped in smuggling history is right opposite and used to be run by John Hocking's great great grand father. Great place to stay for walkers and cyclists and anyone who wants a relaxing break by the beautiful Cornish coast. You will be well looked after as Bridget's welcome is second to none. Wonderful breakfast, with many dietary options available. Dogs friendly but please enquire first. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tidal Court B&B Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing