We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Woodlands Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Talland Bay Hotel(Porthallow)
US$333
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Claremont Hotel(Polperro)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Sportsmans Arms(Menheniot)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart Hotel(Menheniot)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
22
9
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
9
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleave your carpretty harbourshort walk into townlooe harbourhundred yardsfive minute walkbeautiful housestunning viewsvisit looefull english breakfastron
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My sister and I stayed at the woodlands in summer 2012. A very welcoming atmosphere from Ron and his wife. Our front river view double room, very spacious and clean- with added bonus of clean dressing gowns and towels. Breakfast was second to none, with fresh fruits and fruit juices served every morning.
Relaxing the house rules a little bit, would be very good idea for quests.
Over all, a very good place to stay when in Cornwall.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GIFTY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We spent four nights in September and found Woodlands to be an ideal place to stay - the location is excellent and so was the food - well done Kay and Ron who were very friendly and helpful. This is a good value for money B&B and we would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river views
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John_Trudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The above review surprises me.We stayed here,booked 2 front river view rooms,both very spacious, with en-suite shower rooms and sofas and wonderful stunning views,with no noise issues at all. The bed linen & towels were of very good quality.I have stayed in other 4* B&B's in Looe,this clearly is by far the best.The breakfast is to die for with nothing too much trouble.Kay & Ron are extremely friendly attentive hosts. We will definately be coming back soon. Great value for money and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The front view rooms are excellent.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank garryWestsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We came to Cornwall to visit the Eden Project. We chose Woodlands because it was close enough to Looe to be able to walk to the restaurants in the evening. It also had private parking which is essential if you are visiting Looe. Ron was very welcoming, our room was lovely and even though the weather could have been better, our room was lovely and warm and exceptionally clean with views over the river. We even had bath robes which you don't normally get in a B&B. We stayed for two nights and were even given clean towels on our second day! Breakfast on both mornings was delightful and plentiful! With a choice of cereals and fresh fruit followed by a perfectly cooked breakfast. Ron was very helpful and extremely knowledgeable about the area. All in all a lovely stay! Highly recommended. Thank you Ron.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Cassie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Nice house,parking was a bit difficult, a little shunting with the owner and other guests.
The rooms were small and the noise from the very busy road below stopped you having the window open at night for fresh air.
A short walk into Looe made it ideal for the pubs and restaurants.
Please Ron, dispose of all your white thin, small bath towels and invest in some decent ones. Breakfast was good and a tea service was provided in your room although on the first of 3 nights we stayed, the tea bags were stale and there is no fresh milk provided. Also the first breakfast we had the small packets of butter were off. After that they were fresh.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Badak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron374, Owner at Woodlands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

In response to your comments Mr Hayward we are extremely lucky to have our own on-site 'free' parking. You may not have noticed but Looe is actually a valley ( ie not flat). Our front river view en-suite rooms are a good size ( larger than most B & B's in Looe) and noise has never been an issue with other guests who frequently leave the windows open to let in the beautiful fresh Looe air.
We pride ourselves on our good quality bed linen and towels. We provide bath and hand towels - not small bath towels as you mentioned. Our tea bags and coffee sticks are kept in air-tight containers. But if you felt that an item was not to your requirements you should have brought it to my notice- I would gladly have replaced it for you. I do not recall you asking for fresh milk ( unfortunately it has to be kept in the fridge) once again if one of your butter pats ( all individually wrapped) was off; why did you not bring it to my attention I could have alerted my supplier ( All butter pats consumed by yourself during your stay were from the same batch.) At the end of the day Mr Hayward, you had not paid any deposit or signed a booking form so you were under no obligation to stay. Why did you stay for all 3 nights and not leave after the first one?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews