We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhappy Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodlands Guest House
Ranked #26 of 54 Looe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We recently booked to stay for three nights and ended up leaving promptly after just one.

Mr Lundy’s brand of cheeky bonhomie was sadly lost on us. Indeed, we were upset by some of it.

On a positive note, our room enjoyed spectacular views over the Looe River although we found the room itself to be a little ‘tired’ and dated.

The brochure we were sent recently announces that ‘We have been granted a 4 Star AA Rating’ although we understand that Woodlands is not currently recognised by the AA. Similarly (and at the time of writing this review), the webpage www.looedirectory.co.uk/woodlands.htm carries the ‘Quality In Cornwall’ logo but we also understand that Woodlands is no longer a member of that scheme either.

Finally, we would urge Mr Lundy to redraft his ‘House Rules’ into something more customer-friendly.

Yes, the breakfast was very good.

But no, we won’t be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Moonraker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

Me and my wife stayed at woodlands for 3 nights we were made very welcome by Ron and his family. Great time will be back. Tony And Alison. The breakfast was amazing and sets you up for the day. The owner is a good source of local knowledge.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We chose Woodlands because of the location - across from the river and a short walk into town. We had a room with a river view and the road below, we found traffic noise not to be an issue. In fact we slept very well with the window open at night. The breakfast was great - lots of fresh fruit and cereals to start. While parking is available for several cars, it can be tight and sometimes necessary to move cars around depending who is leaving first. Ron will gladly guide you in or simply park your car for you. Ron was very friendly and informative about local things to see and do. All in all good value for money. We would stay again. Well done Ron!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front overlooking the River have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at Woodlands, Looe in August 2012. We found the bedroom with en suite, clean, well furnished with comfortable beds The full English breakfast was excellent and in fact far too large for my wife. Ron, the owner, went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable and even drove us to a restauarant he reccommended and fetched s back when we phoned..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We selected Woodlands based purely on its location in relation to the Station and shopping area.
We were not disappointed in this regard.Woodlands is conveniently located and part of theholiday were the enjoyable walks from the restaurants and other amenities in the village.The breakfasts were amongst the best we have enjoyed at any guest house or bed and breakfast and we found them a wonderful start to each day. Ron was an excellent host and raconteur and a mine of information on the history and information of all the tourist areas within travelling distance of Looe and Liskeard.The room was comfortable overlooking the river traffic on the intervening road was light and not of concern.On our departure Ron insisted on driving us to the station with our luggage.We recommend Woodlands and hope to return sometime in the future.

Room Tip: River view was extremely lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRC711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My sister and I stayed at the woodlands in summer 2012. A very welcoming atmosphere from Ron and his wife. Our front river view double room, very spacious and clean- with added bonus of clean dressing gowns and towels. Breakfast was second to none, with fresh fruits and fruit juices served every morning.
Relaxing the house rules a little bit, would be very good idea for quests.
Over all, a very good place to stay when in Cornwall.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GIFTY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We spent four nights in September and found Woodlands to be an ideal place to stay - the location is excellent and so was the food - well done Kay and Ron who were very friendly and helpful. This is a good value for money B&B and we would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John_Trudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Looe hotels
1.7 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
261 reviews
2.7 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
907 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bucklawren Bed and Breakfast and Self-Catering Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
488 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hannafore Point Hotel
1.2 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guest House

Address: Woodlands St. Martins Road, Looe PL13 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Price Range: £93 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Woodlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Guest House Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing