We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Tony P
London, United Kingdom
Not 4 star
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Oct 2020via mobile
Stayed at this hotel in a suite end of Sept 2020
I would not rate this hotel as a 4 star. The room was clean and tidy but very dated and a bit tired. The shower was totally inadequate and at one point stopped working. There was no heating and when questioned was told this was being sorted but it never was. Food-Evening meal of fish & chips was like a meal from the freezer. Breakfast - average.
Positive- The bed was comfortable and friendly staff.
We will not be returning.
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£88
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.0 miles from The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£144
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
0.3 miles from The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£122
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £122
  • Skyscanner.com
    £121
  • ZenHotels.com
    £122
0.2 miles from The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast with a view
Booking.com
£90
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments
Free Wifi
Booking.com
£190
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.5 miles from The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£140
  • Agoda.com
    £140
  • Lol.travel
  • eDreams
    £140
2.1 miles from The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£153
  • Agoda.com
0.2 miles from The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments
Lol.travel
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.0 miles from The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lol.travel
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.2 miles from The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lol.travel
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
2.0 miles from The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Looe
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
59
54
31
9
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
59
54
31
9
25
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2020

Check in was v easy. Clean and spacious room with a view over the river.
Hotel was fully booked but social distancing was adhered to.
Service at breakfast was very good, a great selection.
The location is perfect for a base to explore .

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank palaceboy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 August 2020

We stayed at Rivercroft for four nights. It is on the 'main' road through Looe and does not have its own parking. However, we always managed to park in the car park opposite or on the street.
It is up the side of the hill, so be prepared for a bit of a climb each time you return!
The rooms are cosy but perfectly adequate. We had two rooms which was interesting. We gave my mum the room on the first floor to save her having to go up even more stairs to the room we had on the top floor.
Both rooms were fairly compact but my mum's was noticeably bigger. My husband and I did get in each other's way on several occasions! Not so when we had coffee in Mum's room. Her room also had a wonderful sash window and window seat. Ours had a large window but only the two small windows at the top opened. We did visit on the hot humid weekend mid-august but we struggled to keep our room cool. It was uncomfortably hot at times. Whereas my mum was able to keep her room cooler more easily.
Everything was clean. The towels were lovely! Rooms were not serviced due to Covid. However, additional tea, coffee, sugar and milk were always available outside the restaurant - as well as toilet rolls!! I assume if you needed your bin emptying or were staying particularly long, arrangements could have been made. It was possible to renew towels by leaving them outside your door. New towels where then waiting for you on the door handle when you returned! Beds were comfortable. Landlady and husband were friendly and helpful. Over looking the river was lovely.
Breakfast was lovely. Not sure how different it was to pre-Covid times but it worked well. A limited continental to help yourself to and hot options up to a full English available. Tables were well-spaced and tea and coffee in plentiful supply.
The restaurant was not open for evening meals for the entirety of our stay. No idea why. Didn't cause us a problem but it would have been nice to have known this before we arrived...just in case.
The biggest issue was not the hotel's fault - noise overnight. I paid for river view rooms. If we were to return I think I would consider forfeiting that view and having a room at the back. Every night, except the Sunday, we were disturbed by noisy 'revellers'. Saturday night was particularly bad with noise continuing until 3.30-4am! We're no party poopers but smashing glass, yelling, screaming, congregating in the car park and playing loud music, and then tearing up and down the road in cars is unnecessary and inexcusable. At one point there was an almighty screeching of tyres and I braced myself for the crash or thud or scream. Fortunately, it never came and, when I looked out, it appeared to be idiots just mucking about. This is clearly an issue Looe needs to address but it would make me think before re-booking this, or any other hotel on this street, in the future.
It's a shame, because if it were not for that, we would definitely consider returning.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HelenJC73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2019

Perfect for our needs. Over looking the estuary. Lots of pubs,café and places to eat.
Comfortable beds and great breakfast. Landlady friendly and a font of knowledge on local attractions. Will return in the summer.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank missmatildahiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Passenger20192732559, Owner at The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2019

So Glad you enjoyed your weekend and look forward to meeting you all again. Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2019

went to Looe to do some walking on the coast so booked in for three nights, unfortunately burst appendix two weeks before, so holiday turned into recouparation. however had a brilliant time and was well looked after by the staff and the excellent food.

Room tip: obviously harbour and river view rooms will be dearer but if you have not stayed in looe before it will be more than worth it
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mrZedWoottonBassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2019

Stayed here for four nights during Looe Live music festival. I can't fault this hotel. My friends and I were made to feel at home and nothing was too much bother for the lovely couple running it. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfasts were amazing. I would highly recommend the poached eggs. The bar is friendly and has a great happy hour which both guests and locals enjoy. I will definitely be making a return visit.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews