We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Bridge House
Ranked #9 of 54 Looe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We recently stayed at Old Bridge House for a couple of nights. We had room 10 at the top of the house which had a great view looking over to East Looe. The room itself was quite small but adequately furnished & clean as was the bathroom.

Colin & Liz were great hosts & the breakfasts were very good, especially the full English with hogs pudding! You had to tick your breakfast choice from a range of choices (of which there was many) & hand it in before a certain time otherwise you got full English the next morning!
The breakfast room enjoyed good views over to East Looe especially if you got one of the two tables in the small conservatory.

All in all we enjoyed our stay – the place itself was well situated but perhaps a little dated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antony_Toop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Absolutely no negatives......it's all excellent. Colin & Liz were perfect hosts - warm, friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. The room and en-suite were spotless and the bed was ultra comfortable. The 'honesty' bar is perfect for a nightcap overlooking the harbour and the full Cornish breakfast is a thing of beauty. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would recommend it to anyone in a heartbeat. Fantastic value for money too. A real beacon, a gem in the heart of lovely Looe. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairpair2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Thank you so much to Liz and Colin for making ours an extremely warm and welcoming stay at the Old Bridge House. Because of time commitments, we went were only able to stay on the Saturday night, but would strongly recommend a longer stay to all. Liz and Colin are enthusiastic hosts, who think of every detail - rooms even with bespoke 'tong tin' for student daughters hot straighteners! As others have commented, breakfast to die for - superb fresh fruit salad with strawberries, ugly fruit, kiwi, pineapple etc., followed by choice of pancakes, full English or smoked haddock options. All delightfully accompanied by Liz and Colin's topical conversations about local events/venues. Thank you both for an enjoyable stay - we hope that you enjoy your forthcoming break as much as we enjoyed our mini-break with you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Great service, breakfast and location - very central with lovely views over the harbour from the breakfast room and our room. Lots of nice touches and attention to detail in the room. Superb breakfast and choice of breakfast. Room a bit on the small side but everything you needed and a lovely bathroom with lovely big spacious shower. Will visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMrsOwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Spent a long late September weekend at the Bridge,, Great hosts in Colin & Liz,, thought I was a talker !! Was keen to see if breakfast lived up to the website pic's,, they sure did !! Full breakfast really set us up for the day & the Pancake special was super, if a little filling !! but I managed it !! HaHaHa.
Bedrooms were very warm & comfortable with excellent views of the harbour, & the small lounge / bar was a bonus at end of a long day out in Cornwall,, we spent a couple of merry hours sitting on the balcony with a nightcap watching the boats bobbing about in the harbour. Colin & Liz were very friendly & full of good advice about where to eat & drink in Looe & directions to places of interest in the area, great local knowledge indeed !!
All in all a very homely place to stay if ever in the area,, took Mother in law with us & she was very impressed with the warm & comfortable bedroom,, & if she was pleased ,, it must be a great place !! Cheers to you both for a lovely weekend,, Will be back again some day ,,

Dave & Shee. & Mollie,,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabohome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is the second visit for us and Colin and Liz set high standards of customer service. All the room were excellent, clean, comfortable and inviting. The breakfasts are wonderful with plenty of choice for even the most fussy of eaters. Together they create a wonderful relaxing atmosphere to enhance your stay. We loved the honesty bar where we could linger of an evening and watch the tide come in and go out. Would recommend to anyone as great value for money.
Vicky, June, Margaret & Andre

Room Tip: Go for the harbour views you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eurotraveller6010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have stayed here on quite a few occasions now and the same excellent standard has been given by Liz and Colin every time. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable, being well decorated and colour co-ordinated throughout the whole building. There is a lovely balcony overlooking the harbour where an enjoyable drink can be had. Looe is a lovely place to stay any time of the year. Liz and Colin are excellent hosts and very welcoming. When we first contacted them to enquire about a stay, Colin said he does the best breakfast in Looe and, by god, he's not wrong!!!! We will be going back again and again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colt54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Looe hotels
0.5 mi away
Hannafore Point Hotel
0.1 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
474 reviews
2.0 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments
0.5 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Watermark
The Watermark
#13 of 54 in Looe
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bridge House

Address: Old Bridge House The Quay, Looe PL13 2BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Price Range: £94 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Bridge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bridge House Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing