We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely small bistro”

The Ancient Mariner Bistro
Ranked #4 of 81 Restaurants in Looe
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are a family run Bistro located only 100 metres from the beach and have a great pride in the quality of our Local food, from the Freshest of Fish and shellfish direct from the Harbour on our doorstep, to the amazing meats supplied from farms nearby. We try to accommodate for every taste and are happy to adjust our dishes for you. We are able to cater for parties and special occasions for up-to 20 guests, including your Wedding Breakfasts, and Birthdays.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely small bistro”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Had dinner here in August 2014. Beware that like many smaller eating establishments in Looe, it takes only cash, no cards. It's recently opened and things may get more slick over time (e.g. the menu needs a good proofread), but if you are looking for a good meal at a reasonable price in a comfortable and unpretentious setting in Looe, the Ancient Mariner is a great option. The fish and chips were well presented in a specialist dish and the food and drink are a steal. Service was friendly. Would definitely go back for a mid-week supper or casual dinner.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Intrepidtraveller202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    31
    8
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

ate here as a couple and had a great tasty hot meal. The restaurant was full and the service was very slow but it was worth the wait. The only thing we did not like, was the size of the tables, they are huge. When we first sat down my other half sat opposite me, but we felt miles apart and felt we needed to speak quite loudly to hear each other, so in the end we moved next to each other.

I would eat here again as the food was really nice, but the over large tables put me off a bit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HampshireJellybelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic, friendly, homely and dog- friendly with excellent food. Don't expect posh or slick, but if you like a warm welcome and a relaxed atmosphere, look no further.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark Lindsey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wait...but well worth it.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Visiting during the high season and without booking we found a very pretty and welcoming newly established restaurant.Pleasant staff,good food and nice informal atmosphere,so nice infact we decided to go back a couple of days later.Although this time we waited an age (90 mins) for our food .The front of house staff were very apologetic (after making them aware of the time we had waited) when the food arrived it was superb and we thoroughly enjoyed our meals.Had there not been a mix up in the kitchen as was explained I would have been giving them 5/5 review.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shouldn't be missed....”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

So accommodating, tasty food, lovely setting and will go again! If your in Looe you must go, the trip advisor rating doesn't do it justice!

Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ancient Mariner Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Ancient Mariner Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing