We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Too Good To Be True”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Looe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Before I booked I checked the Hotel on tripadvisor and thought it was too good to be true. Having just spent 4 nights ar Trelaske I now know it wasn't Too Good To Be True.

Welcome was excellent and Hazel was always doing her utmost to make you feel welcome while Ross remained unseen slaving away in the kitchen producing stunning food.

Its a good base for touring the area and I can't recommend it highly enough

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

just had three nights at this loveley hotel everthing was perfect .rooms very spacious and comfortable.food was excelant.will come back again

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alek r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This was our fourth trip to the Treleaske Hotel and once again we had really warm welcome and a fantastic experience. Our room had excellent views over the countryside, loads of space and was a real home from home. One of our main reasons for staying at the Trelaske is for the food. Ross uses the freshest and seasonal products (vegetables & salads) from their own polytunnels and fish landed that day in Looe. As with dinner, breakfast is always another enjoyable experience. I would strongly recomment this hotel for a romantic weekend break or even for a longer break as the hotel is in an excellent location for accessing most if not all that Cornwall has to offer. We will be back.

Room Tip: The rooms in the garden are great and have a lot of room. You can also park your car directly outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We chose this Hotel as it had a top rating on trip advisor, so we were expecting something top notch. It would be unfair to criticise on this basis as it charges £90 a night, so why should we expect an amazing experience. It was average value for money which should not denigrate the Hotel as the owners do very well with few resources. Its location, vista and entry route is out of their control but spoils the experience. Hazel, the owner does her utmost to make sure you have a comfortable stay and seems to do most of the running around. If she had a Hotel closer to a town or indeed more than 7 rooms with enough guests to create a greater ambiance then she would be on to a winner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We have just returned from a 3-night stay at this exceptionally clean, restful and well managed hotel situated in delightful countryside just a few minutes drive from Looe and Polperro. Our room was comfortable and spacious and the large french doors looked out on to the extensive, park-like grounds that surround the hotel. The food, both at breakfast and dinner, was a delight. The hotel places great emphasis on locally sourced ingredients (including tasty vegetables and salad leaves freshly picked from their own polytunnels) and there is a good choice of locally caught fish on the dinner menu each night, complemented by an extensive and not-too-expensive wine list. This was perhaps one of the only hotels we have stayed at that regard a good selection of fresh vegetables as an integral part of the dining experience. It was a shame that most of the guests seemed to be staying on a bed-and-breakfast arrangement and so missed out on first class dining that consistently wins a coveted AA rosette. Nothing was ever too much trouble for Hazel who, as front-of-house, calmly and cheerfully made us feel very much at home, including a welcoming pot of tea on our arrival. She was also very knowledgeable about the attractions of this part of Cornwall.

All in all, we were highly impressed by what the Trelaske had to offer us and heartily recommend the establishment to anyone interested in staying in South Cornwall.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnGilmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

My wife and I came across the Trelaske quite by chance - and what a slice of luck that was!

Very comfortable accommodation; lovely setting with large gardens (complete with rabbits and squirrels!); nicely tucked away but only a short drive from both Looe and Polperro: ticking all the boxes as far as we're concerned!

But above and beyond all of these, what makes the Trelaske a really special experience is the care and attention to your every need by the owners Hazel and Ross. Hazel takes care of everything 'front of house'; charm personified with nothing too much trouble, she makes her guests feel special, quietly and without fuss.

Ross works his particular brand of magic in the background - and in particular in the kitchen!

We had dinner at the Trelaske on every night but one during our stay. The food was tremendous, beautifully cooked and creatively presented - but (thankfully) with none of the pretensions that are met with in so many other places. Vegetables from the hotel's own garden and fish caught earlier on the same day and delivered by the hotel's 'own' fisherman from Looe - in a word, fantastic!

Hazel and Ross deserve to make the Trelaske a runaway success - and with their great approach to customer care we're sure they'll do it.

We're already planning our next break in Cornwall - and we know one place in particular where we'll be staying when that time comes....

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meos123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My wife and I had a really lovely stay here. Very relaxed, welcoming and every detail was attended to in a calm manner. Room was large, plenty of storage, well appointed bathroom and lovely view from the room. Meals were truly excellent. Any dietary need well catered for. The spread of fruit for breakfast was fantastic. The evening menu was well varied with local fresh fish, and vegetables and herbs from their garden specialities. Each meal starts with delightful home-cooked bread to go with the starter. Hazel is highly knowledgable about the area. Ross is an unbelievably good chef.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Looe
1.2 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
907 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hannafore Point Hotel
1.5 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
503 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
276 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Polperro Road, Looe PL13 2JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Looe
Price Range: £122 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant is a multi award winning 3 star and 2 AA Rosette for excellent food independent and owner run small hotel. Voted the number 1 hotel in the Looe area according to independent reviews on TripAdvisor for the last 5 years. Set in 4 acres of peaceful gardens, conveniently located between Looe and Polperro. Owner run, we pride ourselves on personal service, comfortable rooms and fantastic seasonal food in a relaxing and peaceful environment. All rooms have balconies or patio areas and baths and showers with luxurious complementary toiletries and flat screen televisions. 3 lounge areas with full bar serving real Cornish ale and extensive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trelaske Hotel And Restaurant
Trelaske Hotel Looe
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing