We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a tough year the hotel needs a boost.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Looe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2012

On arrival at the elegant white building is supplemented by large grounds with ample car parking, on this our second visit to the Trelaske Hotel. We received a high level of hospitality and efficiency throughout our stay from Hazel, one of the owners, she works tirelessly at the front of house. We were accommodated in room No.1 a pleasant comfortable westerly facing room with a French door leading to the patio and well tended garden, with its double bed, a settee, flat screen TV and en suite bathroom with a separate bath and shower and even luxury toilet paper! A tray of: bottled water, biscuits and hot drinks selection was refreshed regularly. The hotel being situated down a long lane preceded by two log cabin holiday cabin sites and benefits from a true countryside environmental with the sounds of birds and the site of rabbits on the lawns being the norm. Walks are available from the hotel without having to take to the main roads, a 2.5 mile walk to Looe follows the river through Kilminorth Woods, an easy down hill walk to Looe and a hard uphill climb back to the hotel. Ross the second owner is the chef and his standards are well beyond expectation, a well constructed varied menu utilizing local produce cooked to perfection. Following breakfast the menu for the evening meal is presented for selection for that evenings dinner, in order that the ingredients can be purchased fresh from local farmers and fishermen, some items on the menu are grown in the hotel's poly tunnels and the specialty breads are fresh home baked. The poorest item on the menu being the small jar Tiptree marmalade at breakfast. The work of the two owners is skilled and relentless with only limited assistance, the problems come from suffering a very hard years trade. It became a daily request for forgotten replacement shower gel. The hotel is suffering from a lack of occupation and this is reflected in the lack of spend on the hotel fabric, the carpets are very traditional (old) design and the stair carpet is beginning to wear and the decoration is also tiring. The toilet seat in room No 1 is a conventional design fitted to a square toilet bowl, the felt on the patio/bridge to the garden has a number of cracks which will lead to further deterioration, the comfortable lounge/bar has draylon chairs and it was a little cool in the evening as the heating was not on. The hotel brochures in reception are out of date, with last years prices quoted and the free local information leaflets are a bit of an untidy display.on the hall table The hotel and its owners deserve a higher level of trade as the hotel has a comfortable country house hotel feel, with good efficient hospitality and excellent food at a price below the expected level for this experience. We hope people will take up the quality on offer at a very reasonable price to reward the owners and enable re-investment in the hotels fabric.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 190GAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

From the moment we arrived on our week's stay we were made very welcome. We were in the annex and the room was comfortable with good views. It was clean and had a small balcony with a table and chairs.
The breakfasts were excellent. We dined twice in the restaurant and the food and service were superb.
Location is just outside of Looe and is nice and peaceful.
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get the upstairs in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We have just spent 2 nights at Trelaske hotel, fantastic food & peaceful surroundings. Hazel is so helpful with making your stay a relaxing one. We will be recommending this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in that area of Cornwall.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We recently spent four nights at the Trelaske and could not have wished for anything better. Do not even think of eating anywhere else, the food here was first rate and would be very hard to beat anywhere. We did not meet Ross who was labouring away in the kitchen but Hazel was always there to advise on menu choices and inform on where produce was souced from.
A hotel that we have no hesitation in recommending and one that we would cerainly return to.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterWGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We have just returned fom a three day trip to Trelaske Hotel, we have been there many times now and we always come back so relaxed. The rooms are so lovely and clean, the food is amazing and Hazel and Ross are so very helpful and attentive it makes you feel special. The hotel is set in lovely grounds and the views are amazing. Jean & Roy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Just returned for a 4 day break the service and food was excellent, Hazel was very helpful, giving us directions were we going to that day.
We could not fault the food it was presented beautiful, would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillbland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Just returned from a 3 day break and wanted to say how enjoyable our stay was at this lovely quiet and well run Cornish hotel. Hazel was very helpful and attentive throughout our stay, even giving us walking directions. The food was exemplary, as chef Ross's inventive menu was some of the best cuisine we have ever enjoyed with home made bread, home grown vegetables and herbs, and locally sourced fish and meat. The desserts were equally inventive and superb and the breakfasts were of the highest quality. We will be returning. Thank you Hazel and Ross for making my wife's birthday break so splendid - Jane and Vic C.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therocos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Looe
1.2 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
907 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hannafore Point Hotel
1.5 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
503 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
276 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Polperro Road, Looe PL13 2JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Looe
Price Range: £122 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant is a multi award winning 3 star and 2 AA Rosette for excellent food independent and owner run small hotel. Voted the number 1 hotel in the Looe area according to independent reviews on TripAdvisor for the last 5 years. Set in 4 acres of peaceful gardens, conveniently located between Looe and Polperro. Owner run, we pride ourselves on personal service, comfortable rooms and fantastic seasonal food in a relaxing and peaceful environment. All rooms have balconies or patio areas and baths and showers with luxurious complementary toiletries and flat screen televisions. 3 lounge areas with full bar serving real Cornish ale and extensive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trelaske Hotel And Restaurant
Trelaske Hotel Looe
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing