We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Looe
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Our friends were renewing their vows in nearby Polperro and they'd booked a meal and a disco afterwards for everyone at the Treslaske Hotel so we booked two rooms for the Friday and Saturday night. We stayed in the Garden Rooms which are decorated lovely and well equipped for our stay. The views from the balcony were great but even better in the Summer I would imagine! As we arrived late, 11.30 on Friday night, we didn't meet Hazel until Saturday morning (she had left the doors unlocked and the lights on in the rooms for us) and as expected from when we talked on the phone was just as helpful and friendly in person. The breakfast was lovely with so much choice and nothing was too much trouble for her. We all then came back for a sit down meal, again great food and service, and later there was a disco. We have never been as far South as this in Cornwall but it's a beautiful area to stay and we would definitely come back and stay at the Treslake Hotel. Thanks again Hazel, Ross and Staff for a lovely and relaxed time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    47
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
64
590
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed for a week in September when the weather was mixed so we were unable to sit outside on our little patio and the view north to Bodmin Moor appeared and disappeared. Our room was very well furnished and comfortable and so was the lounge.

We ate in every evening and looked forward to our dinner as much at the end as the beginning of the week.. Ross gives interesting touches to his vegetable accompaniments and we have enjoyed at home what we think is his take on red cabbage and blackberry juice. Fish was invariably fresh and the breakfast bacon some of the best we've experienced.
Hazel and Ross are a very hard working couple who give excellent value for money.

The large dining room and relatively few dinner guests, well spread out, provided limited opportunity for interaction with our fellow guests - which could, of course, be what many desire.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarkinkudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is a small, pleasant, 3-star hotel - excellent value for money, very conveniently situated between Polperro and Looe and very quiet. The rooms in the house are not enormous but perfectly adequate, with nice bathrooms and spotlessly clean. The rooms have a view, although much obscured by trees. I believe the annex rooms are bigger and possibly have a better view, but we wanted wifi and the annex rooms do not have that. Hazel is a lovely welcoming woman and goes out of her way to make your stay a pleasant one. But what really makes this place special is the food, cooked by the elusive Ross (we only got a glimpse of him). Can that man cook!!!! Lovely fresh ingredients, cooked and served to perfection. The restaurant deserves to be full every evening and locals ought to beat a path to the door. On the evenings we ate there, there were not many other guests but of course it was mid October and the beginning of the week.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the house if you want Wifi or for the annex if you want more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somersettraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We ended our 'late break' in Cornwall with three nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it.The service and cuisine are absolutely superb. Hazel was very welcoming and showed us around when we arrived. We were allocated a table which was a nice touch as we could walk straight in to breakfast and sit at our table without standing like a lemon not quite knowing what to do in the morning. Our room was lovely with an excellent view. There was plenty of wardrobe and drawer space for us ladies! The bathroom was excellent with a lovely shower and bath . The room was tastefully decorated and all was immaculate. Breakfast was superb with a lovely choice of fruits and berries - we particularly liked the apricots marinated in lime juice and vanilla! The cooked breakfast with local ingredients was delicious too.
And the dinners!! Ross produced the most delicious meals, with fresh fish on the menu every day with fresh vegetables from the garden and we also looked forward to hearing Hazel's description of the ingredients. Hazel too was very helpful and knowledgeable about places to visit and nothing was too much trouble. All in all a lovely lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be good - first floor have outside balconies with good views lower rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broadlybentspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We ended our holiday in Cornwall and the Scillies at this hotel. it was great to have two rooms adjoining and Hazel was very welcoming. The food was delicious and all well described. The Hotel cannot cater for passing trade and there were only a few other guests especially at dinner. We were at the Hotel in early August.
Our one criticism was to charge full whack for our daughter's meals (aged 7) and on that basis I would not recommend the Hotel for families who wish to eat evening meals on the premises. With the benefit of hindsight I should have asked beforehand, but this has not happened to us previously;y. I did not complain as we had been well treated and I had not raised the issue on booking. The menu did not really cater for young children but they kindly adapted to simple chicken breast and ice cream...and fruit juice (over £30)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farnboroughcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton, Devon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

As we have visited this hotel about seven times before, we knew we could expect the same unfaltering level of excellence experienced on the very first visit.

Have just run out of superlative adjectives to describe every aspect of this hotel regarding quality of room, service and food.
Constantly recommending it to friends, then immediately regretting it as people return again and again like us ...and we want to be able to book up!!
Would like to keep it our secret, but that wouldn't be fair!

Room Tip: All lovely but particularly like the garden rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We spent 4 days at the Trelaske Hotel and Restaurant and only wish we'd stayed longer.The hotel is set in lovely peaceful grounds and the room we stayed in had a great view. The room was good size, well furnished and spotlessly clean with a huge bathroom with the best shower you could wish for after a day out walking. However what impressed us most was the warm welcome and personal service from Hazel and Ross - nothing was too much trouble. The food was just superb with locally sourced produce together with home grown vegetables and Looe fresh fish daily - Ross produced 5 star quality food. Hazel is a genius when it comes to information for walks, activities and attractions in the area and all given with a smile, no matter what time of day. Well done to you both. We would recommend your hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: In my view all rooms would be good but room 3 that we stayed in was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Looe
1.2 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
847 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#5 of 7 in Looe
259 reviews
6.2 mi away
Pencubitt House
Pencubitt House
#1 of 5 in Liskeard
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
471 reviews
1.5 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
447 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Polperro Road, Looe PL13 2JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Looe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant is a multi award winning 3 star and 2 AA Rosette for excellent food independent and owner run small hotel. Voted the number 1 hotel in the Looe area according to independent reviews on TripAdvisor for the last 5 years. Set in 4 acres of peaceful gardens, conveniently located between Looe and Polperro. Owner run, we pride ourselves on personal service, comfortable rooms and fantastic seasonal food in a relaxing and peaceful environment. All rooms have balconies or patio areas and baths and showers with luxurious complementary toiletries and flat screen televisions. 3 lounge areas with full bar serving real Cornish ale and extensive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trelaske Hotel And Restaurant
Trelaske Hotel Looe
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing