We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Looe
Certificate of Excellence
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Our two night stay on the 13/14 June 2014 was perfect. From Hazel's meet and greet to our farewell was all one could ask for. Our room, number 6 had delightful views towards Bodmin Moor from our balcony and views over the kitchen garden from the large side window.
With Hazel front of house and Ross in the kitchen you received the personal attention of the joint owners, they both work very hard to make your stay very enjoyable.
The food Ross prepares is excellent and the award of two rosettes is well deserved. Breakfast and Dinner are prepared with care using the finest local ingredients, the fresh caught fish a delight.
The Trelaske Hotel is a good base to visit the many attractions the area as to offer. There are many walks from the hotel which Hazel will advise you on.
Tony & Gloria

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    46
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
571
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just arrived home after another wonderful stay at 'Trelaske'.
Hazel takes a real interest in her guests and clearly enjoys making us feel 'at home'.
Breakfast and Dinner is a treat.All meats,fish,vegetables and ingredients are sourced locally.A great choice of food cleverly and expertly prepared by Ross- ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!
We had a spacious room overlooking the garden,spotlessly clean,very comfy bed and well appointed bathroom.
We had arranged our stay to coincide with our Wedding Anniversary.There is no better place to spend such a special occasion.Hazel and Ross ensured everything was perfect.
Overall a superb Hotel with a very efficient and extraordinary service.An oasis of calm in a very stressed world.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Our choice of the Trelaske was influenced by the reviews on Trip Advisor. Rarely do I agree with all the other reviewers, but in this case the praise is well deserved. Our room (5) was large and comfortable and the meals were excellent. Hazel is at pains to emphasise that all the food is locally sourced, and most of the vegetables and herbs are grown in their own garden. The most impressive part of our stay was the attention to customer care. One had only to ask once for Earl Grey tea and fresh milk in our room, and they appeared every day. Other preferences were remembered and anticipated.....most impressive .....larger and more expensive establishments could learn from the Trelaske's example. The worry is that this part of Cornwall is not affluent, and consequently Hazel and Ross struggle to be a profitable concern. They deserve to do well.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LondonKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a wonderful family break at Trelaske. Our family room was perfect with a connecting room for our five year old and patio doors onto the terrace and gardens for our puppy! Beautiful food prepared by Ross with lots of local fish from the nearby markets and vegetables from the garden. At the end of the day good hotels are largely about the people and Hazel and the team are as good as you could ever wish for (and they are dog friendly!).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denys R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We chose the Trelaske Hotel on the amazing Tripadvisor ratings, and it absolutely lived up to them right from arrival to departure. Hazel very warm in her welcome, nothing too much trouble throughout our stay - treated us as friends not just as guests. Room and whole hotel immaculate.
We enjoyed Ross's cooking very much, for presentation, choice and taste. As a fish lover, I particularly liked the choice of fish landed at Looe Harbour and bought at the fish market there. (The fish market is well worth a visit).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lester Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We went to Trelaske from the 16-19th of May, a surprise trip for my wife. I wanted somewhere quiet, romantic, surrounded by nature and not too far from the sea. Trelaske met all our expectations.
Like many reviews on this little gem, I will mention Hazel. She gives the place the charm that it is becoming so well known for. Her great qualities as a hostess has been very appreciated. She makes an effort to find out what the guests are looking for in their stay and makes very well advised recommendations on activities and places to see.
Hazel also has a very good knowledge of the fantastic food served at the hotel and is able to very accurately guide the diners through the menu.
We enjoyed the walk through the woods down to Looe. The return will require a bit of effort, but very enjoyable nevertheless.
Our room was fantastic, our bed was so comfy and the place is so quiet and relaxing.
I will make a point of saying that the communication with Hazel before our arrival was superb. She replied to all my emails very promptly.
We have made the decision to return to Trelaske again, hopefully very soon.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vishal97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Having had meals at the hotel in previous years, it was time to stay over. We were greeted as family, shown to our room, clean and tidy. Meals were well presented, excellently prepared and delicious. Good choice of local produce and good range of wines. Enjoyed the whole experience.

Room Tip: If you like the sea and walking this is the place for you, very centralised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Looe
1.2 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
800 reviews
24.0 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
455 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Pencubitt House
Pencubitt House
#1 of 5 in Liskeard
385 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Polperro Road, Looe PL13 2JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Looe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant is a multi award winning 3 star and 2 AA Rosette for excellent food independent and owner run small hotel. Voted the number 1 hotel in the Looe area according to independent reviews on TripAdvisor for the last 5 years. Set in 4 acres of peaceful gardens, conveniently located between Looe and Polperro. Owner run, we pride ourselves on personal service, comfortable rooms and fantastic seasonal food in a relaxing and peaceful environment. All rooms have balconies or patio areas and baths and showers with luxurious complementary toiletries and flat screen televisions. 3 lounge areas with full bar serving real Cornish ale and extensive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trelaske Hotel And Restaurant
Trelaske Hotel Looe
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing